We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Out of towners”

The SnakeBite Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 224 Restaurants in Idaho Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The SnakeBite Restaurant
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for Out of towners”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me by a local that I am in town doing business with. Overall, the food and atmosphere was good. The problem that my table has was with the service. Our waiter got us our drinks fairly quickly, but we did not see him again for at least 10 minutes, and it appeared to us that he was servicing the tables where he knew the patrons before he served us. Once we got our food, there were no complaints from the table. Where we had our problem once again was with our waiter when it came to bill time. None of us had seen the small note on the front window when we came in as it was shielded by people leaving the restaurant that this was a cash only establishment. When we pulled out our plastic to pay, our waiter belittled us and rudely stated that if we had paid attention when we walked in that the restaurant only accepted cash or check, he told us that there was an ATM in the back and without saying another word turned around and walked away from our table. The tone of our waiters voice and attitude towards us and his lack of effort to make sure we were satisfied is enough for me to not come back here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    131
    34
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Don't go here if you are from out of town”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall the food and atmosphere was good. The problem my table had was with the service. It felt like out waiter helped out the tables where he knew people faster than ours. Finally at the end of the meal we out of towners who did not see the tiny sign on the front door saying cash only, were belittled by the waiter when we pulled out plastic. Food was great, service was poor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aldoglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First of all. The snakebite caters to the finest. Great food, always fantastic wine and beer recommendations. Service is top notch. Give these folks a break. They do their best to keep everything local, support the natives, the staff keeps it legit!! They don't take plastic, BIG DEAL!!?! The food and service more than makes up for it. Daily specials, fresh made, service with a smile. The place is always PACKED!! That shows for something.. It's always disappointing how people will gripe about the negative and never highlight the positive. Good things come with patience. Sit back, enjoy your beer and wine, order the special, be completely delighted with the ambiance. I only wish more people would compliment the positive and get off the ignorance. Snakebite is A plus in my book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodielover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice local spot”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice little place to grab some lunch. I had the pesto pasta, which was good. The pasta was cooked perfectly. Although I would have preferred a creamy sauce, it was still good. The salad served with it is probably what earns this place its ranking! It was yummy with the cranberries and house dressing. Don't miss it! The beer was good and the server was knowledgable enough to help us pick the right one. Our only disappointment was not being able to use our bank cards here, but I totally understand the owner's point of view. I would eat here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kh21804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“One of the best in Idaho Falls”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

First off, this place is not a chain. It's a cook who takes pride in ingredients, creative combinations and presentation. Lamb... Bam! Salads are out if this world. Local brews. Bread with some kind of pesto, chicken garden salad, the list goes on... Suffice it to say the food is amazing. Atmosphere is good, kinda small, kinda open, but at Christmas time, with their lights glowing, gas fireplace going - you can't find better atmosphere anywhere. Waiters, waitresses always amazing, running their tails off. Amber always makes you feel special. Just a great place on planet earth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The SnakeBite Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The SnakeBite Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing