We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER again”
Review of Jakers

Jakers
Ranked #2 of 227 Restaurants in Idaho Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Fajitas were mystery meat. Poor quality food for high price. Better meal at Denny's.

We eat at Jaker's in Twin all the time. Their halibut is outstanding. It is dry and horrible in Idaho Falls. They either need a new chef or a better fish supplier.

YUK!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank George4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti J, General Manager at Jakers, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for having come into Jaker’ Idaho Falls and thank you for having frequented our location in Twin Falls. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to our Idaho Falls location. We pride ourselves on the quality of food we serve and making our patrons’ experiences memorable.

Since this review we have made positive changes in our kitchen and the way our food is served. We feel that we have come a long way in the quality of our food and how food is served. We hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Idaho Falls.

Sincerely,

Jaker’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 674 of 714 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2008

Very disappointing after many attempts to give the benefit of the doubt.. If you order anything fried such as Calamari or fish, you will be reminded of salty oil soaked rags. If you are fortunate enough to order an acceptable simple salad or grilled entrée you will most likely enjoy a garden variety dish that is average. The dishes versus costs are disproportionate in value compared to other establishments Nationwide. If you dine at a table, you will be seated in chairs that have mushroom like pods for cushions which are overstuffed and place the patron in an awkward position for dinning. Additionally, one is most likely to be seated amongst a party or business group that will hijack your afternoon dinning experience reminisant of a cheap cafeteria. Despite all this, the serving staff performance was good. This establishment needs to correct its food preparation deficiencies and reconsider it's protocol for patrons.

1  Thank EateryCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti J, General Manager at Jakers, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for having come into Jaker’s and for leaving this review. We are pleased to hear that you found our serving staff to be good.

We are disappointed, however, to hear that your experience with the food and overall experience were anything short of excellent. We attempt to serve the finest quality food to our customers every time they come into Jaker’s. We would like to apologize that your food was not prepared to your liking or standards.

Since this review, we have made some positive changes to out kitchen staff and to the method in which we serve our food. We hope you will come into Jaker’s again to see these changes for yourself.

Sincerely,

Jaker’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
idaho falls, idaho
132
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Good food, a little pricey.

Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Reviewed May 22, 2008

One of the best places in Idaho Falls to eat

1  Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I've been to Jaker's a couple times (not b/c it was worth repeating but b/c we had a gift certificate the second time around). When we moved from Chicago, Jaker's had been recommended to us, but both dining experiences were underwhelming, to say the least. The first time around, I ordered almond-crusted halibut: the fish itself was moist, but it was just a generic greasy breading with minimal seasoning or sauce—truly not much better than fish at my college cafeteria. My husband ordered a chicken chutney quesadilla—pretty flavorless, dull-Denny's quality. The service has always been good there, but the food simply doesn't warrant the price. The second (and last!) time around, we were disappointed with the very mediocre food. My lobster bisque was nothing short of awful—flavorless goop (tasted like boiled milk, flour, and salt); my husband's clam chowder was no better than a canned version (which I'm sure it came out of!). Our sirloin steak was (surprise!) actually very good, grilled trout was acceptable but nothing special, but the sides they were paired with were pretty lackluster: overcooked veggies and mashed potatoes with artificial-tasting gravy (no doubt from a package). The apple crisp dessert was generous but overly sweet cafeteria style. The freshly fried scones in honey butter are one redeeming feature of Jaker's, but certainly not enough to compensate for all-around poor fare. If you want fine dining in Idaho Falls, stick to Collage or Rutabaga's; if you want great steak or bbq, visit Bubba's (cheap, tasty bbq with a great lunch buffet) or Stockman's in Rigby. I'm really puzzled at how Jakers manages to attract a decent clientele, aside from the fact that many are older loyal clients who are just looking for a basic meat and potatoes meal in a quiet environment or are folks who grew up here and don't know any better.

3  Thank LeanneIdahoFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti J, General Manager at Jakers, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for coming into Jaker’s and for leaving this review. We are extremely sorry to hear that your experience with us was anything short of extraordinary. We pride ourselves on serving our guests only the finest quality meals and only the best food.

Your experience was obviously not up to our standards. Since leaving this review, we have made some positive changes in terms of our food and how it’s served to our customers. We hope you will give Jaker’s another try in the near future so we can show you these changes first hand.

Sincerely,

Jaker’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakers also viewed

 

Been to Jakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing