We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent exhibits”
Review of Museum of Idaho

Museum of Idaho
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Idaho Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Idaho is the intermountain west's premier museum in providing nationally and internationally acclaimed exhibits to the surrounding areas. Showcasing both traveling and permanent exhibits, we are dedicated to preserving and educating the public in the sciences, the humanities, and the natural and cultural history. MUSEUM IS CLOSED FROM MAY 30 -JUNE 23 June 23 - Nov 25, 2017 SPACE: A JOURNEY TO OUR FUTURE A highly interactive exhibition that ignites the desire for space exploration and discovery, sparking imaginations and inspiring new generations of explorers to dream of the possibilities that lie ahead. August 18-21, 2017 ECLIPSE SPEAKER SERIES check out our website for a list of astronomical events surrounding Eclipse 2017. December 6, 2017 10TH ANNUAL TREE LIGHTING CEREMONY Dec. 7 - December 31, 2017 OLDE FASHIONED CHRISTMAS AND WINTER FESTIVALS FREE to the public! The Museum of Idaho, the city of Idaho Falls, and the Interfaith Council are proud to announce the 10th annual Olde Fashioned Christmas and Winter Festivals presented by Chesbro Music Co. We feature a new addition each year along with your traditional favorites including nativity scenes from around the world, a collection of Santa Claus figurines, gingerbread houses, beautifully decorated trees, and also a celebration of other winter festivals. Check our website for a list of featured live music throughout the exhibition. *Dates subject to change. Please call the Museum of Idaho or check our website to verify*
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Carousels was interesting. The Idaho history room has always been my favorite. I only go when my husband gets tickets from work.

1  Thank mwahl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

The museum has pretty good displays all the time. They don't change often--about twice a year or so--but they are very well done for a fairly small museum. Usually pretty fun for kids, too.

Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Guitar exhibit was extensive with a few fun things to do but docents try to be guides when you may want to do things at your own pace. Other than the main exhibit there was little to see and lots of up and down walking to do. Admission is fairly reasonable and old storefront section is well done.

1  Thank Marshall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Museum was doing a Guitar Exhibit, which was interesting if you are into that sort of thing. We had also seen that there was supposed to be a carousel horse exhibit, but I guess we mis-read the info. We paid $25 for our family of 6 to go through the museum, and I would have rather spent that on doing something a little more fun.The only thing was they did have some "hands-on" stuff for the kids to try so not a total loss- just thought it was a little over-priced.

2  Thank breezeyrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went through the museum and were really impressed with entire building. Good job Idaho Falls. I have been back several times now for different venues. I missed King Tut:( bummer for me.

Thank anneats123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Idaho also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Idaho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing