We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Again.”
Review of Motel West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel West
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Again.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Started with asking the receptionist if they honored any discounts (i.e., AAA, military, senior citizen, etc.) and the curt answer was "no". When we walked into the room the first thing we noticed was the "cover up smell" within the room.. Not sure what they were using to try an make the room smell better but whatever they had used was not pleasant.
The faucet for the shower needed to be adjusted because it was extremely difficult to turn on or off and the heater unit was extremely loud..
Needed a plastic fork to eat a microwave meal and asked the receptionist if it was possible to get one and again the same curt type response "no".

We will not return to this hotel and CAN NOT recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel in Idaho falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    105
    47
    11
    7
See reviews for
64
102
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This property is not very fancy, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I arrived late and they were pleasant and welcoming! The breakfast consisted of two or three kinds of cold cereal and some fresh cinnamon rolls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After escaping a terrible storm in Pocatello, with the city a foot underwater, my plans of camping went nowhere, and I ended up in Idaho Falls.
Driving on Broadway,I found Motel West. The lady at the reception was extremly nice and helpful, the rooms clean and well stocked, TV, wi-fi, everything a traveler needs was there.
For an extra 3 Dollars, I had a freshly cooked (limited menue) breakfast at an independent Restaurant in the building of the office. You can't ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swisschef216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

You can tell the owner cares about his property...
Great surprise glad we skipped motel 6. Clean room good breakfast. Flat screen tv. And holy Mack granite as well all on the cheap...terrific deal.
Fresh baked white and dark chocolate cookies.Every morning

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonChalets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, UT
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way north to Glacier. The front desk staff were very friendly. For the money, this is a good choice. The rooms, and most importantly, the bed and bath linens were clean and fresh smelling. The room I had was fine; the air conditioner worked - kind of - if you like a really cold room, you won't find it here, but then, most of the motels I've stayed in don't have A/C units that get really cold. It gets the temp to were its comfortable/bearable. (Keep in mind, though, that I was there during a particularly hot July, with temps in or near triple digits. I'm sure the A/C would do better under more normal ambient conditions.)
I look for motels that charge a fair price for a decent room that offers cleanliness, quiet and security. I don't need or want to pay for a lot of fancy, unneeded "extras". This motel does a good job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dstante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

i ended up here for a night when everything else in town was full. Had to take a smoking as the non's were sold out. Overall it is about what I would expect in this price range ($50). I didn't stay for the breakfast. The pool/hot tub were ok. For an older property it is in decent repair. I would stay there again even if it was not my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

See my earlier review, it's still a great value, good people. We've done the continental breakfast both visits and there's enough variety for us, plus this time there was some fantastic homemade bread. The wifi is weak (we propped the door open and could get enough of a signal to check email), and this visit we didn't use the pool. This motel isn't luxurious but we haven't really had anything to gripe about. We'll stop here again and save the hassle of price-shopping and ...reading a lot of reviews. Maybe next time we'll try the restaurant too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFromWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idaho Falls hotels
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 24 in Idaho Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 24 in Idaho Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Idaho Falls/Airport
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel West

Property: Motel West
Address: 1540 W. Broadway, Idaho Falls, ID
Location: United States > Idaho > Idaho Falls
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing