We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit; will be back.”
Review of Motel West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel West
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Powell, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2nd Visit; will be back.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

See my earlier review, it's still a great value, good people. We've done the continental breakfast both visits and there's enough variety for us, plus this time there was some fantastic homemade bread. The wifi is weak (we propped the door open and could get enough of a signal to check email), and this visit we didn't use the pool. This motel isn't luxurious but we haven't really had anything to gripe about. We'll stop here again and save the hassle of price-shopping and ...reading a lot of reviews. Maybe next time we'll try the restaurant too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFromWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    114
    50
    11
    7
See reviews for
73
107
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fast forward to 2013 and we're no longer visiting family in Las Vegas; now we're making stops on the I-15 corridor in Idaho. Idaho Falls is a frequent destination and it's increasingly more difficult to find a simple, clean, affordable, non-smoking-smelling family stay. For realz, Idaho Falls; fix this. (Spoiler alert: don't expect much from an Idaho Labor Day weekend.)

This stop: Motel West in Idaho Falls. Our family is just at the awkward size where we can't stay in a two-queen room so we were pleasantly surprised to find a "three queen" room at the MW. Translation: "Three queen" = two adjoining rooms. Doable. Kids get Disney in one room, History Channel in the other. Convenient fridge (a little chilly on the top shelf; froze our vegetables) and restrooms. AC unit is a little loud but tolerable.

I'm not sure what "really great 3 star motel" Lyn2035 checked into, because her review certainly doesn't describe Motel West (fresh baked cookies? really?), but this is an affordable stay. If you're sensitive to cigarette smoke like I am (had a massive headache that evening), you absolutely must avoid the central building at the least, maybe try a stay up the street at most.

Room Tip: "Non-smoking" is a misnomer; if there's "smoking" anywhere, it's "s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stringd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped here as it was a convenient place on the road between Salt Lake City and yellowstone. We had a big room with 2 huge beds, there was a shower room, TV. There was also a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. There was also free wi-fi access. We thought that Motel West offered good value for money.The front desk was really pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spontaneously booked three rooms early Friday evening, a break in a long road trip. While we prefer non-smoking rooms, only smoking rooms were available. However, the rooms were large, clean and did not smell smoky. The beds were comfortable, and there was lots of counter space for luggage. For an extra $3 we were able to have a hot, tasty and nutritious breakfast at the diner next door. The rooms were quiet, even though the motel was quite full. There were also mini-fridges in each room - cold enough to freeze my Pepsi. The front desk clerk was really pleasant and helpful, and having fresh baked cookies for guests as they checked in was a welcoming touch!

Room Tip: The clerk was great about letting us check out the rooms before booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped here as it was a convenient place on the road between Salt Lake City and Glacier National Park. It was our honeymoon, so they had been really kind and upgraded us to a suite at no extra cost. We had a big room with a huge bed, there was a shower room, a sofa, fire place, TV and DVD player, dining table and a whirlpool bathtub with extra sink in the room. There was also a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. I found the room quite noisy – it is on a main road, and there was a noise which I think was coming from the whirlpool bath, but I couldn’t find a switch anywhere in the room to turn the power off to it. That said, I still managed to sleep, and the bed was very comfortable. There are a lot of fast food places around the motel – McDonalds, Arbys, Subway, Burger King, Jack in the Box and a Mexican place - all just outside the door. The breakfast was self-service – there was tea/coffee/hot chocolate. There was toast, bagels, cereals, cookies and pastries. Very tasty and more than adequate to fill you up for the day ahead. There was also free wi-fi access. We thought that Motel West offered good value for money, even before the upgrade of the room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rooms are a nice size, and fairly quiet since they are cinder block. The great part is the Hometown Cafe next door. For just $3 a person, you can get a choice of 5 different hot breakfasts, drinks included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice room at a good price. Indoor swimming pool was nice. It was worth paying three dollars more for the upgraded breakfast at the restaurant next door. The free breakfast option was a cold breakfast. My only complaint was the WiFi. The signal only worked near the lobby for me. I would give this motel four stars if the WiFi wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrant h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idaho Falls hotels
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 24 in Idaho Falls
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 24 in Idaho Falls
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
0.6 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Idaho Falls
Super 8 Idaho Falls
#17 of 24 in Idaho Falls
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel West

Property: Motel West
Address: 1540 W. Broadway, Idaho Falls, ID
Location: United States > Idaho > Idaho Falls
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing