We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomadation but really nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Driftwood Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed there on the way to Waterton. Small basic room, few amenities, clean and neat. Breakfast room must have been enlarged as it is roomy and nicely appointed.
Julie at the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly.
The breakfast ladies were awesome! They did made to order omelettes and were so friendly and vivacious. Just what u want getting up to travel. Therest of the breakfast was the normal selfserve hotel eggs, sausage, waffles, toast etc.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stopped here for July 4th celebrations which was excellent as the firework display was just a short distance from our room. The room was excellent clean and roomy. The staff were friendly although the breakfast was a little poor as the breakfast area was small and there was a shortage of seating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I always regret writing anything negative about a place, but here goes. My husband and I stayed in this hotel two years ago and loved it. This visit? Not so much. The door to our room was warped and we had to shoulder it open (although reported, it wasn't fixed during our three-night stay). Very basic toiletries (one small bottle of shampoo and two small bits of soap). We had to ask for cups for the room. Before we left, a leak sprang up between the outer sink, and the bathroom. What was even more embarrassing is that we had waxed lyrical about this hotel to our three Irish guests about how nice this hotel was. In one of our friends' room, the outer sink was cracked and leaking onto the shelves beneath (where housekeeping had put the clean fresh towel). Again they had to ask for cups for their coffee. And also, in the third room we had booked. Although we tried to be reasonable about all of this, the front desk were entirely unhelpful, blaming housekeeping for not stocking the rooms appropriately (although this didn't change during our stay). They did offer to move our rooms, but as all three rooms had problems, there didn't seem to be much point. I did ask to speak to the manager, but was told she was unavailable (I suspect that the person who left reception as I was checking out and explaining my overall woes to the front desk clerk was she).

The rooms were dark and grubby looking, and the pillows were lumpy and hard to sleep on.

We will never stay here again. So sad, as the hotel is placed in such a lovely location, beside the Snake River.

Room Tip: Best advice? Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairead333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our room was clean and nice. Beds need help but all in all really nice. Love being able to walk to the river and experience the beauty the falls have to offer. The new spas was the highlight of our trip where motels were concerned. It was transformed from a "hot tub" to a spa. It was also nice to have a real continental breakfast complete with a fresh made omelet to order and sausage and variety of fruit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine May Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our room was clean, but our A/C needed free on. Lock to front door was loose as they used the wrong screw, bathroom window lock broken and the gate to the pool lock didn't work with our room key. The desk clerk was no help in resolving any of our complaints either. Her response to our A/C was, "it should work. I don't have any control over it." The outside temperature was 96 degrees.

Last year when we stayed here the problem with the pool gate lock was the same and we complained about it and nothing has been done to resolve the problem. I doubt if we'll stay there next year except it is convenient to the falls and local restaurants.

The place is run down except the new spa and exercise room which is new and has nice A/C.

Room Tip: The place needs maintenance badly and better desk clerks. The plus side the women that made the omel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemgirl612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stays at the Driftwood Inn. Two nights in July and one in August. The location was perfect and the views on the river side outstanding. Nice big suite with two rooms and a full kitchen. The kitchen unfortunately had few if any dishes/silverware/pans but as my sister lives a few miles away we simply borrowed the basics from her.

The staff was outstanding, my daughter lost her Medic Alert Bracelet on our first visit there. On our check-in a week later the clerk immediately produced the missing bracelet which they'd found and were in the middle of trying to return via Medic Alert. It was a wonderful surpass!

Room Tip: No elevator, but the great view is worth walking up the stairs! You can see the river above the fal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The waterfall is wide and interesting and the motel is in front of it. The motel is old and the room was motel 6ish. Old worn carpet. The is all right off of the HWY15. Very urban. The stay was meant to be a quick stop so not much was expected. The location is very convenient. The breakfast was very nice with its own omelet station. The staff were especially nice and helpful. However, it is a simple motel stay. The furnishings and bathroom were very basic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idaho Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 24 in Idaho Falls
772 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Idaho Falls/Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
#7 of 24 in Idaho Falls
914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 24 in Idaho Falls
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Driftwood Inn

Address: 575 River Pkwy, Idaho Falls, ID 83402-3313 (Formerly Best Western Plus Driftwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Idaho Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Idaho Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Idaho Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Idaho Falls
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Driftwood Inn. Our hotel is located on the Snake River and Falls. We offer an expansive hot breakfast with a chef making fresh eggs your way. We offer an outdoor heated pool with views of the river. You can use one of our complimentary bicycles to take a scenic ride. After a fun filled day our deluxe hot tub is the perfect way to relax. Our staff looks forward to making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Driftwood Hotel Idaho Falls
Best Western Idaho Falls
Idaho Falls Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing