We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Driftwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed in July 2011. It was obvious the hotel was just coming to the end of a major refurbishment project. We stayed with 2 children in newly refurbished room with 2 large queen beds and a full sized sofabed. The room was enormous with a full kitchen and a large bathroom area. It was the last room upstairs over the driveway into the small courtyard. For the price level it was the best hotel room I've been in.

The hotel did a good breakfast, complete with omelette bar, the only complaint being it was very crowded with limited seating area for breakfast.

The pool was very nice with some nice shady areas to sit out in.

The hotel location is great, right by the snake river right opposite the falls by a riverside park. You can walk to several restaurants from the hotel and it's not far into downtown Idaho Falls itself.

If I'm in the area again I will stay here

Room Tip: Go for the upsatirs rooms in the small courtyard, not the ones above the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    268
    75
    23
    21
See reviews for
296
383
49
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at this property. I have mixed feelings. The bathroom appeared to be recently remodeled. The beds were comfortable, the chairs were okay. Overall, the room was clean. This was all as I expected, no complaints.
However, the check in process was a little odd. No words were wasted. I was asked to sign and check a box to acknowledge a non smoking policy that was nowhere to be seen on the screen. As a non smoker,it was not a big deal, but it was weird to sign an agreement that you weren't given an opportunity to read. Then I was handed keys, directed to my room. No mention was given to the hotel amenities or breakfast.
Maybe that was a sign. I did figure out that breakfast was from 6-9am. Each day there was one harried looking girl working the omelet bar and apparently in charge of restocking the other breakfast items at the same time. She was very busy just taking care of the omelet bar. There were lots of empty containers that should have held the other breakfast items. The whole breakfast room felt neglected and sparse.
On one of the days housekeeping randomly forgot to empty my obviously overflowing trash can.
At check out I was not offered a copy of my receipt. Perhaps they are taking paperless to the next level?
I don't think I would stay here again. Yes, the rate was low, but I'd rather pay an extra $10 and take my chances at any of the other comparably priced hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinlakegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our room was very nice and overlooked the river. They have a nice exercise room and a beautiful jaccuzzi. The breakfast was ok...but the omelets leave a lot to be desired.BE AWARE they charge a $25.00 "phone" fee that they don't yell you about and isn't listed on their website. It will be credited back to your card after 48 hours I was told...is this legal?

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19travelgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My mother in law passed away last week and we needed several rooms to accommodate family for the funeral. Brianna at the front desk was very helpful, offering a special rate no matter how many rooms we needed. She even called us back while we were in route to Idaho Falls to make sure we were taken care of. When we arrived, she put us in a corner suite with a full kitchen for no additional cost and made sure that all our rooms were close to each other. This made it convenient for us all to converge in one place without being cramped. She really went above and beyond to make us as comfortable as possible, showing compassion for our reason being there.

The view of the river and LDS temple are beautiful from this location.

The rooms were all spotless, newly remodeled and quite roomy. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job cleaning the rooms each day. They not only restocked the towels but provided a fresh bar of soap each day.

My son and son in law used the work out room and said it was awesome.

The omelets don't compare to what you'd get at a breakfast restaurant but they are a nice touch for a hotel in this price range. There were lots of other options for breakfast besides the omelets. They did have trouble keeping things stocked and seemed to run out of some items before the 9:00 hour. It seemed that the girl running the omelet bar was in charge of restocking as well, which is a lot of work for one person. I wish they would have extended hours for breakfast on the weekends.

The towels were good quality. The wall mount heater/cooler units were very quiet and ran on working thermostats. The rooms are quiet and the room darkening curtains do their job.

We will definitely make this our "go to" hotel for Idaho Falls.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaticqueen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. Stayed in one of the suites, it was very nicely done. The beds were great and the room was very clean. Very good value for the room we were in. Checked in late without any issues. Staff was friendly, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Have stayed three times at this hotel since September 2011 and wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is an older hotel that has been nicely renovated. Located on the Snake River across from Falls Park and close to many restaurants (most within walking distance) and shopping, it is an ideal location. The Idaho Falls Temple is just across the river and is beautifully illuminated at night. All of the poeple who work at the hotel are friendly and very helpful and truly want to please the guests. Breakfast is complimentary and includes an omelet station. This is an excellent choice if you are visiting Idaho Falls.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel34110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is an older motel that has undergone a recent and very successful renovation. It is in a beautiful location on the Snake River, across from the LDS temple. Breakfast (included in the cost of the room) was very good, with an omelet bar and waffles, etc. All rooms are non-smoking. Internet was fast and reliable. Rooms had a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKD_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idaho Falls hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 24 in Idaho Falls
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
#5 of 24 in Idaho Falls
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Idaho Falls/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Driftwood Inn

Property: Best Western Driftwood Inn
Address: 575 River Pkwy, Idaho Falls, ID 83402-3313 (Formerly Best Western Plus Driftwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Idaho Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Idaho Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Idaho Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Idaho Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Driftwood Inn. Our hotel is located on the Snake River and Falls. We offer an expansive hot breakfast with a chef making fresh eggs your way. We offer an outdoor heated pool with views of the river. You can use one of our complimentary bicycles to take a scenic ride. After a fun filled day our deluxe hot tub is the perfect way to relax. Our staff looks forward to making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Driftwood Hotel Idaho Falls
Best Western Idaho Falls
Idaho Falls Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing