We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and informative”
Review of Thunder Mountain Line - CLOSED

Thunder Mountain Line
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: EXECUTIVE CLASS FARE Riding in our Luxury Parlor Car allows our guests to enjoy an unforgettable experience on the rails. This car will feature lounge style booths including a private bar and access to a private open air car. Additional services include complimentary drink and snacks during the trip. (Adults 21+) FIRST CLASS FARE Ride in First Class style in comfortable padded booths while taking in the scenic journey. This car features a private bar, private car attendant and access to a private open air car. (Adults 13+) STANDARD CLASS FARE Standard class tickets have open access seating in our air conditioned table car, bar car, coach car, open air car and covered open air car. Lunches are available pre-ordered and we have snacks and drinks available for purchase on the trip itself.
Palmdale, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and informative”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a wonderful afternoon spent riding the train along the Payette River. We rode in the Executive car which included drinks, snacks and separate outdoor viewing car. The ride with our porter Flash Gordon was exciting with his stories of the train and history of the surrounding area. Flash was the only employee in period dress as a train porter. Flash assisted with panning for gold at Banks and was there for all of our needs. The car is nicely furnished but lacked the character of the first class car.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ktedid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    41
    9
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Relaxing & enjoyable”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We chose the Executive car and it was very comfortable, clean & modern and did not allow children. Restroom was exceptionally clean and updated. Separate outdoor viewing car. Service was good. We were given hors d'oeuvres and champagne when we arrived. Finger food & beer, wine & drinks were available for sale. Service was attentive. The scenery was good & the ride was nice. The time spent at Banks was too long. They need to have a real store and things to do beside panning for gold. Very relaxing & enjoyable trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank FreedomBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun holiday outing for the kids”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We rode on the Santa Express and the staff was very kind and helpful. Seeing Santa was a big hit and Mrs. Claus was pleasant and funny. We rode in first class and there were cookies provided and you also have the options of ordering other foods and drinks including adult beverages. The trip was 1.5 hours including a 30 min stop at Santa's village where the kids can sit with Santa and take all the pics you want. It was a fun time and our family truly enjoyed it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Relive73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Live Mystery Dinner Theater”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Great relaxing trip along the river, with a really good dinner and a "who dunit" live theater. The service was excellent and the staff were ther for what ever we needed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wild West Dinner”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a adult group birthday party on board the train and while the trip wasn't perfect it came together as one of the best events were have ever had. We had some air conditioner problems but the gentleman who took care of our car did everything he could to fix the problem as quickly as he could. Everyone did everything they could to make us comfortable. The trip far exceeded the expectations I had after reading other reviews. This is something I would definitely do again and would recommend to anyone who who wants to do something refreshing and different.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank goldilocks42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Mountain Line also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing