We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun holiday outing for the kids”

Thunder Mountain Line
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: EXECUTIVE CLASS FARE Riding in our Luxury Parlor Car allows our guests to enjoy an unforgettable experience on the rails. This car will feature lounge style booths including a private bar and access to a private open air car. Additional services include complimentary drink and snacks during the trip. (Adults 21+) FIRST CLASS FARE Ride in First Class style in comfortable padded booths while taking in the scenic journey. This car features a private bar, private car attendant and access to a private open air car. (Adults 13+) STANDARD CLASS FARE Standard class tickets have open access seating in our air conditioned table car, bar car, coach car, open air car and covered open air car. Lunches are available pre-ordered and we have snacks and drinks available for purchase on the trip itself.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun holiday outing for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We rode on the Santa Express and the staff was very kind and helpful. Seeing Santa was a big hit and Mrs. Claus was pleasant and funny. We rode in first class and there were cookies provided and you also have the options of ordering other foods and drinks including adult beverages. The trip was 1.5 hours including a 30 min stop at Santa's village where the kids can sit with Santa and take all the pics you want. It was a fun time and our family truly enjoyed it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Relive73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    41
    9
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Live Mystery Dinner Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Great relaxing trip along the river, with a really good dinner and a "who dunit" live theater. The service was excellent and the staff were ther for what ever we needed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wild West Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a adult group birthday party on board the train and while the trip wasn't perfect it came together as one of the best events were have ever had. We had some air conditioner problems but the gentleman who took care of our car did everything he could to fix the problem as quickly as he could. Everyone did everything they could to make us comfortable. The trip far exceeded the expectations I had after reading other reviews. This is something I would definitely do again and would recommend to anyone who who wants to do something refreshing and different.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank goldilocks42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wild West Train Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

WONDERFUL!! The skit was well done. Fun for all ages. They would repeat the lines for the other half of the open car passengers. (We could not hear the story due to the wind and train noise since we were in the open, covered car.) When it became to warm, we could go inside an air-conditioned car. The actors spent time with all children including them in the action...junior sheriffs, play money to help the "in distress" heroine, "boos"/"hurrahs" for the action of the skit, and explanations for the plot.
I RECOMMEND this for families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Train Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Thunder Mountain Line provides a leisurely ride in vintage railcars or open cars of seats with a cover over your head, facing the river as you make your way for about an hour to the end of the line. Our ride included a Chuck Wagon feast of hamburgers and/or hot dogs, salad beverages and chips. It was topped off with ice cream hand scooped and served in a bowel. After the meal there were a couple of things to do, like pan for gold and visit the gift shop. The ride back down was equally pleasant as we watched kayakers and jet ski riders shoot the rapids and get appropriately drenched. We arrived at the station about an hour after we left the food and beverages. The employees were pleasant and knowledgeable, answering many questions from the guests. A very fun way to enjoy a day in the heat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Mountain Line also viewed

 

Been to Thunder Mountain Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing