We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old School B and B
Ranked #1 of 1 Cross B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Landed in Cross after driving 260 miles--tired and weary. Tea and Coffee in our gorgeous room but Ian offered us a fresh home brewed pot accompanied by the best ever chocolate and beetroot cake--yes beetroot from his own garden and 80% cocoa used for the chocolate--best ever tasted--all served in the downstairs living area with its vaulted ceiling. Really great restoration project of this old school house. Both Ian and Teresa are wonderful hosts and breakfast was a real treat--try his home made pancakes with preserves

Room Tip: Visit the Long Dock Restaurant in the next village for lunch or dinner and sample the mussels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LB5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

this B&B is one of the nicest we've ever stayed in! The hosts were so nice & accommodating. The rooms, food etc - everything was just great. The place is spotless, they have kept the old fashioned feeling to the place while still having everything modern & fresh. I couldn't recommend this place more! Only problem is I want to stay again but they are fully booked!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A bit of a cheeky review as we didn't 'actually' stay at The Old School .....however, last August my Mother and me stopped off on the off chance that we could have a peak into what was her old school some 50 years ago and were met with the warmest welcome from Ian and Theresa. They kindly showed us around and allowed my mum to let the memories come flooding back!
The rooms look amazing and I don't think I would need to stay to say how great they would be for a great nights sleep!
I cannot wait to visit in the future and actually stay this time!
Thanks Ian and Theresa - what a great job you've done!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank kazzadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting Loop Head Peninsula but wished it could have been longer. Beautiful B&B in a gorgeous building in a spectacular part of Ireland. Ian and Teresa
were great as both hosts and suggesting things to do in the area.
The breakfast was amazing; fresh with great choices above the standard 'full Irish'. The B&B is close to Carrigaholt which is a gorgeous village and there is a friendly pub within walking distance. A must stay if you are visiting west Clare.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This B&B is an old school house and just lovely!
The owners rebuild it some few years ago and made it a very cosy place to stay.
And this couple does not only have a heart for their school but also for their guests.
We had a nice talk in the morning after our delicious breakfast, thank you for that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuscan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in early May. I must say it is by far the best B & B I've ever been at. Teresa and Ian are superb hosts, the Old School is lovely, the location superb and everyone is so friendly and amiable. A must place to stay at if you are in that region.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were in Ireland in April and spent one night at the Old School B and B. We were even late hour warmly welcomed :-) Theresa and Ian were excellent hosts and tour guides. We love this Place! Also the Food was excellent!It was nice to see what can be made ​​of an "Old School". The B & B and the environment is really worth seeing. I really like to stay here again!
Many Thanks for everything!!
I hope we see again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old School B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School B and B

Address: | Loop Head, Cross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Cross
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cross
Price Range: $65 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true Irish welcome awaits you at the tastefully refurbished victorian national school. Free WiFi available. All rooms en suite. Experience the character of the original classroom as you relax in our lounge or experience our award winning home made breads at the breakfast table. The Loop Head experience offers history, culture and folklore and a guarenteed adventure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing