We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Little Cocoa Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Cocoa Cottage
Verandah Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Little Cocoa Cottage
Verandah
Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Cottage side view
View from the bedroom
La Sagesse Beach
Phillip with his boat
Meet the family!
Phillip sharing his corn with Sheba the sheep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint David's, Saint David Parish, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dadad1
harleston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I absolutely endorse all the very many positive comments made about Little Cocoa.and its owners on this site.
It's a magic place and you will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shad W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded cottage off the beaten track”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Away up in the hills of St David's, you need a car unless you are OK walking about 4kms from the nearest bus route. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need for self catering. Shelley is on hand to advise about what's available locally and it's well worth having a guided tour round the organic coco farm with Dusty. The nearest beach, La Sargasse, is lovely, with a restaurant and sun beds to hire. You can take a walk down there with Shelley and her lovely Rottweiler, Rosa. There is plenty to do on the island, but you need a car to get to the attractions in the north such as Antoine Rum Distillery and the Belton P!Antation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricC56
Poland , NY USA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience. A great choice to stay here.”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I initially reviewed this property immediately after returning home from our vacation. Somehow the review disappeared , so this is a less-detailed re-do.
During our 2 week visit to Grenada & Carriacou , this was our favorite place to stay. The owners are great people, who give you as much privacy as you want, but are always there to help when needed. The surroundings are gorgeous. The house is lovely , well-maintained, and has everything you need (with the possible exception of a decent charcoal grill). Beautiful plants & flowers, geckos, goats, and a donkey named Amiga. I hope we can return someday !

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thank you Eric for your glowing review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
da50
innerkip, on
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I was so looking forward to our stay here. I had asked before I booked it as to the problem of no air conditioning and had also,asked about mossies. Shelly had assured me that they got a nice breeze from the ocean and had plenty of fans and that the flies were not a problem. Then as she was showing us around when we arrived she mentioned that this is a working cocoa plantation and that we should expect flies as they pollinate the cocoa.
We were a bit apprehensive when we arrived and were told that we shouldn't use one of the fans in the kitchen/living area as it would kick off the fuse When Shelly turned on the ceiling fan in the bedroom the blades hardly turned! Also when Shelly was greeting us there were 2 dogs with her that she warned us would probably love to 'visit' us while we were there. I love dogs but unfortunately I am very allergic and would have appreciated being told that the dogs would be able to 'visit' whenever they liked, as would their cat.
Don't get me wrong, the photos absolutely are exactly what you will find. This is a beautiful cottage equipped with everything you could possibly want. The location is amazing and you can't beat sitting on the porch listening to the frogs at night and watching the geckos chasing the flies. However we had booked to stay 5 nights and could only stay 2 because of the noseeums - we were both absolutely covered in bites and because of my allergies. If you do not suffer from allergies, do not mind the heat with basically no fans and are not bothered by midgies, then this is a great cottage in an amazing location.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
We are so sorry that you were disappointed. It is a pity that during our lengthy correspondence prior to your trip you did not mention the fact that you suffered from allergies. I would have kept the dogs and cat away from you if I had known that was the case.
I am sorry that the fans were not working at optimum speed (I was not aware of this at the time of your stay), and I have since had them serviced and they are all functioning as they should. We don’t see having no air conditioning as a problem, but obviously if you are someone who prefers air conditioning then this property is not the right choice for you.

The tiny flies that pollinate our cocoa are nosee’ums and they are a fact of life in Grenada – you get them at the beach, as well as in the mountains. Some people do have a bad reaction to them and others are not affected. (There are good insect repellents available which minimise the effect of the bites in most cases.)
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Carriacou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish D
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our best vacation ever”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We could not have been happier with our stay at Little Cocoa. The cottage is beautiful and tidy, and we loved the indoor/outdoor living--eating breakfast on the veranda, swaying in the hammock, and sleeping with the doors open to catch the breeze and the frog lullaby.

Shelley and Phillip have created a paradise that's secluded and quiet, yet close enough to everything. Grand Anse is not far for banking and groceries, and the beach at La Sagesse is only about 10-minutes down the hill. And if you need any advice, directions, or suggestions on what to do, Shelley is a font of knowledge.

Little Cocoa is truly a gem, an experience not to be missed, and we will definitely be going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the huge veranda.
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrightyPe...
peak district
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“superb accommodation on the friendliest island in the Caribbean”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2015

I can't add anything to the reviews - it is an exceptional holiday cottage. We were in Grenada in April 2015 for the West Indies/England cricket and travelled into St Georges by car - it only took a few minutes and the roads are fine.
I loved the red green and yellow paint everywhere on roadsides, bus shelters, bridges etc! Grenadians love their country and it show in their friendliness and helpfulness to tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the verandah and garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith.chi...
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Thank you so much for our wonderful stay at Little Cocoa”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Dear Shelley and Philip
Thankyou so much for our wonderful stay at little Cocoa. We can’t start to say how much we enjoyed everything. As you know we hired a small car and have pretty well driven around the island exploring every nook and cranny although there are still lots more to see which will have to wait till another visit (hopefully next year). Little Cocoa was everything we wanted and more, so quite, clean, tidy and the cottage was just wonderful in every aspect, we really couldn’t have asked for more (thankyou for the lovely rocket, never tasted any so good).We are off to St Lucia later today were there in 87 so it will be interesting to see how it has changed..
Thankyou again
Keith and Mary Chilvers (Chobham Surrey)
20th Feb . 27th Feb 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing