We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket list item”

Dolphin Discovery Anguilla
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The dolphinarium is located in Blowing Point beach, 50 meters from migration. There are two ways to reach the destination: From St. Maarten taking the boat in Marigot from the French side will take 20 minutes by Ferry or from the airport in the Dutch side will take 45 minutes by Ferry. Once the boat has stopped at Blowing Point, you will have to get to our offices by your own. From there we will take you by taxi (included) to the dolphinarium that is 500 meters from the Office.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

We booked this experience to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and to celebrate 2 birthdays that occurred during our vacation. In short, we were checking off bucket list items.

Once we got off the ferry (a whole other thing to write about), were took the 1 minute walk to the Dolphin Discovery Office and were pleasantly greeted. They shuttled us to their private beach which was just a few hundred yards from the ferry port. There we walked the beach and had the opportunity to buy drinks and snacks until our scheduled experience time.

The staff was very welcoming and engaging as they explained what was going to occur, and how to interact with the dolphins. With that, we were divide into 2 groups and lead to the pens where we were introduced to the trainer. Our trainer (sorry, forgot his name) was very nice and used humor throughout the experience. He educated us on all things dolphin and really interacted well with our 9 year old. Everyone learned things we didn't already know about dolphins and walked away with a great experience and a new appreciation for these great mammals.

The photo pitch at the end was expected and is designed to get you to purchase the entire package ($159). I think you're naive if you think you're going to go and take your own pictures as some travelers have suggested. If you're truly going for the experience, then the pictures are secondary. If you want, you can pay $40 per picture or get none. We bought the photo package, didn't feel pressured and felt good about the entire experience.

We had a greta time, glad we did it and will always remember the experience. Make sure you bring CASH as nothing outside of the office is designed for using cards. This goes for the drinks at the beach, food and yes, the ferry.

Thank TheJunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Dear traveler,

We would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time to share how was your experience at Dolphin Discovery Anguilla.
We are pleased to know that swimming with dolphins and interact with them has been an amazing experience.
Our team is always ready to help you and make it a lifetime experience, we deeply thank you for this opportunity.
Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cruise ship"
in 23 reviews
"swimming with dolphins"
in 20 reviews
"royal caribbean"
in 21 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 19 reviews
"bucket list"
in 17 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 15 reviews
"an excursion"
in 13 reviews
"life jackets"
in 6 reviews
"taking pictures"
in 7 reviews
"amazing animals"
in 7 reviews
"st maarten"
in 15 reviews
"photo package"
in 6 reviews
"water taxi"
in 6 reviews
"fun experience"
in 7 reviews
"entire group"
in 5 reviews
"royal experience"
in 5 reviews
"chain link fence"
in 4 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 428 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2017

Keep an eye on their site to catch sales(got one for 1/2 off). Did the Adventure with my teen daughters and we absolutely loved it. I think if you are wanting more than 1-2 photos the picture package is worth it. For 3 people we got 3 printed pictures and 184 pictures on a CD for $159. Each photo costs $40. I would recommend the adventure package was you get more time with the dolphins. When you get off the ferry it is a 5 sec walk to the checkin area then they got us a shuttle down to the beach.

Thank Dana Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Dear traveler,

We really appreciate you have taken the time to share your experience with us, it has been great to realize that you and your family enjoyed the dolphins activity and your day was plenty of memorable moments.
At Dolphin Discovery we thank you again for your review and hope to see you soon in any of our locations.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

Extremely professional! Our family 1st time swimming with dolphins. Loving trainers and loving dolphins. We loved Penelope. Thank you for helping making our family memories.

Thank Beatacollazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Dear traveler,

We would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time to share how was your experience at Dolphin Discovery Anguilla.
We are pleased to know that swimming with dolphins and interact with them has been an amazing experience.
Our team is always ready to help you and make it a lifetime experience, we deeply thank you for this opportunity.
Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

We booked our trip through Royal Caribbean and we were so excited to go swim with these amazing animals and learn about them. The staff from Dolphin Discovery was so disorganized we waited on the hot pier for over an hour while they got organized. The boat ride to Anguilla was wonderful, the best part of the trip actually. Then we got on a bus for the short trip to the cove. My husband asked a question about the dolphins and he was told all of our questions would be answered when we were in the enclosure. Once in the enclosure we stood on an uncomfortable metal grate barefooted. We had a waterproof camera and I took a few pictures. One of the employees saw my camera and demanded I give it to her. I said no I would put it in my husbands zippered pocket if it wasn't allowed. They stood over us on the pier and continued to demand my camera, which I continued to refuse to surrender. It was very uncomfortable. They said the camera could harm the dolphins. Now understand, we both had on sunglasses, baseball caps and I had on 11 bangle bracelets, but they were worried about a camera, hmmmmmmm. This was purely a money making racket about them taking photos that were priced well over $150. Oh and we never got any questions about the dolphins answered. No educational component at all. Just the dolphins name and age. It was fun to swim for 10 seconds with a dolphin, but not worth the money or the threats. Royal Caribbean did refund our money thankfully. I would guess that most of the positive reviews are done by employees of the company, just a guess.

3  Thank DianeA1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear visitor,

We appreciate your visit to Dolphin Discovery Anguilla and especially for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
We deeply regret that you felt our services were not as you expected, your comments are well received, taken into account and will be shared with the correspondent area, listening to our guests always helps us to improve our quality and take corrective measures where necessary.
On regards of the photo service we are sorry that you felt uncomfortable during the program, nevertheless it worth to mention that our photo prices are based on the local market and as safety measures electrical devices are not allowed around the pools.
On behalf of our team we really hope to have the opportunity to serve you soon and improve your experience.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

This place is all about taking your money by trying to sell you pictures that cost hundreds of dollars! The way the dolphins are trained is all centered around pictures and trying to get you to spends hundreds of dollars! You are not allowed to take your own cameras and the staff relentlessly pitches you to buy their expensive picture packages. This place does not provide value for your money! You are better off taking the admission fee and buying something that will last you a lot longer than a few minutes!

3  Thank Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear user,

We appreciate your visit to Dolphin Discovery Anguilla and especially for having the time to tell us about your experience.
We deeply regret to hear about the disappointment with the photo prices and the activity, be assured all our client's comments are well received, taken into account and shared with the correspondent área, nevertheless it worth to mention that our photo prices are based on the local market and as a safety measure electrical devices are not allowed by the pool areas.
On behalf of our team we really hope to have the pleasure to assist you again in the near future and improve your experience.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Anguilla also viewed

Shoal Bay Village, Anguilla
Anguilla, Caribbean
 
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Anguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing