We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very GOOD suprise. Excelent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Guimaraes, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very GOOD suprise. Excelent value for money”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

After booking the hotel I thought that the conditions would be the best, regarding the price, but when I got there I was amazed by the quality. It has an Excelent restaurant with very friendly staff, notto mention the 2 pools, fitness room, conference room, tennis courts,....... VERY GOOD INDEAD

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AfonsoMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    125
    69
    24
    18
See reviews for
70
138
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Wev stayed 3 days on a tour of France / Italy - this is more of a sporting hotel - very good facilities if thats what you want. Quiet rooms. Lethargic expensive internet - just 1 English channel again - news - pool was being emptied for the" end of the season" - it was 29C while we were there !
Breakfast adequate if uninspired - great coffee - but no skimmed milk again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We chose this hotel as it had a pool, was close to the Lido beaches and close to the city.

It was very easy to get from the hotel to Venice proper, as both the buses to the port (10 minutes away) and the Vaparetto (water buses) from the port were very frequent. The orange Venice cards were a valuable purchase as they allow unlimited travel on the buses and the Vaporetto. At no point did staying on the Lido feel like a hindrance for visiting the main sights.

The staff were very friendly and seemed happy to speak English. The room was well kept, although a little sterile. We had a nice balcony with loungers and chairs. The pool was great, apart from the first time we went to it to find it was covered in dead insects. Two days later it was fine.

The cafe by the pool serves pretty good food at standard prices. The breakfast was OK, but not great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The worst hotel choice of our 2 1/2 week vacation....

The rooms were very basic, the staff had an "I don't care/I don't want to do my job" attitude and the beds were VERY uncomfortable.
Every time we approached the staff about a problem, they made little or no effort to fix the problem. They even shrugged their shoulders and gave us the "what do you want me to do about it" look!!!

Our first issue occurred upon check-in. I requested a "cot (roll-away bed)" in my 2 person room. At first they denied that I made the request. Then they found the request. Then they decided to make up a lie that went something like this "Oh - a cot is a baby bed and we don't have a roll-away bed to give you". We then asked for a 3 person room and they said they had none. My friend that was traveling with me reserved the second night - we asked them if that room was available. They said no. After about 30 minutes they finally "found" a 3 person room that we could stay in for the night. It was the very same room that my friend reserved for the next night!

We went and grabbed some food and drinks that night and arrived back at the hotel around 1am. When we attempted to get in the front door, it was locked! We walked around the building and all of the doors were locked. No hotel key card entry at any of the doors. We had to pound on the door to get somebody to let us in.
Apparently the front desk clerks sleep on the common area couches at night and the only method of entry is to pound on the door. Seriously???

Then we get to our room only to discover that we get to sleep on the world's most uncomfortable beds! All springs.... I swear I slept better on one of the trains on our trip!

I told the front desk clerk in the morning that the beds were very uncomfortable. She shrugged her shoulders and gave me the "what do you want me to do about it" look. She didn't even apologize! This happened several times throughout our stay...

Our 12" TV didn't work in our room. We didn't really care so we never told the staff.

The continental breakfast was decent.
The facilities pool, gym, tennis courts, etc. were nice.

Don't be fooled by the advertisements... the beach is not easily accessible from the hotel. They used to have access (long walk through the property and the adjacent property, but that access is gone. Now you have to walk a mile or so down the road.

On the second night we returned late again....
We had to bang on the door for at least 15 minutes to wake the front desk clerk this time. This guy also had a horrible attitude. You could tell he was not happy about being woken up. Sorry buddy, it's your job!!

The hotel has wireless internet that can be purchased in 30 minute increments. We asked to purchase some internet and this employee told us the internet was not working. My friend had purchased internet earlier and still had remaining credit. He logged on and was able to use the internet. More lies...

We got up to our room only to discover that all of our key cards were not working... Back to the front desk. Back to a grumpy employee.
He ran the key cards through the machine and we went back up to the room. They still didn't work. After several attempts and lots of grumbling from the clerk we were finally back in our room.

I wanted to take a shower, but we couldn't find any towels in our bathroom.
Back to the front desk. Back to a grumpy employee....
At first he wasn't even going to do anything to help me (again I got the "what do you want me to do about it" attitude)! After several cuss words and numerous grumbles, he stomped away to go get us some towels.

Finally a shower and back in my bed for the worst nights sleep ever!
I was bitten my mosquitoes all night long...
In the morning we discovered why - the balcony door has a faulty latch and the door was left cracked open.

This whole time we kept a positive attitude and were very nice to the staff even though our stay was less than enjoyable. I wish I could say the same about the staff at Ca' del Moro...

Do yourself a favor and spend some more money on a quality hotel..... Remember the age old saying.... "you get what you pay for".

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lido di Venezia hotels

Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Positives: Nice rooms, clean, spacious, comfortable bed. Nice bathroom. Located on Lido Island, out of the city of Venice, yet easily accessible. Very accessible to Lido Beach, where many local Italians bathe. Accessible to the village of Lido with restaurants and shops. Beautiful tennis courts, nice swimming pool. Very nice weight room, with free weights, machines, and cardio machines. Decent breakfast, Good price.

Negatives: The weight room was not open on Sunday. We arrived late (after midnight), and the hotel was hard to find in the dark. They really need a sign on the side of the road with directions from the bus stop. The night time receptionist was a bit grumpy and not helpful at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYer_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I wanted to re-visit Venice 23 years after our honeymoon there but we also wanted a pool and beach facilities so this hotel was ideal as we brought our 19 year old daughter and 16 year old son with us on this occasion. The bus service was excellent into Sta Maria Elisabetha. The hotel was very good with facilities that suited our young people - tennis, fitness club, pool. The 2 rooms we occupied were very good, only complaint was that our mini bar fridge did not work but it wasn't a big issue as we did not mention it to the management. The rooms were cleaned regularly to a good standard. The staff were very friendly and I would recommend this hotel to my friends and also stay again - finances permitting as the Venice area is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelawilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We booked this hotel online and were pleased with the room and the service, the only problem was that it was a little far from the Lido water bus stop. The hotel was fairly easy to get to by bus, although if you are taking the bus for the first time, you should ask the bus driver for the hotel, it's a bit hard to see from the road if you don't know what you're looking for. The pool was lovely, the rooms were clean, and an ant problem that developed on the second day was cleared up immediately when the staff was notified! The staff at the reception were friendly and helpful, and very accommodating. The shuttle bus would have been convenient, if it didn't stop so early. The breakfast was terrible, but it's to be expected of any breakfast in Italy. The bar/restaurant (Comfort Club) out by the pool was nice, but the portion of lasagna was tiny! Be careful when ordering. All in all, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishLovesHabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Orio
Hotel Villa Orio
#28 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
104 reviews
2.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
362 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#16 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
139 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
285 reviews
3.4 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del Moro Foresteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Moro Foresteria

Property: Ca' del Moro Foresteria
Address: Via Malamocco Lido 83, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Moro Foresteria 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca'del Moro's Guest Quarters comprises lots of state-of-the-art sports facilities in a wide green area; here you can relax thanks to sun beds and benches around all around the garden and the swimming pool, usually opened from May to September. There are 8 Tennis Courts (2 of which indoors), 4 small football fields, a swimming pool with bar and a modern gym. Additionally, the Lido island offers a wide range of sports activities and nature excursions just a few minutes by boat from Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca' del Moro Foresteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Del Moro Foresteria Hotel Venice
Ca Del Moro Venice
Ca' Del Moro Foresteria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing