We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, but great value and enjoyable stay!”
Review of Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byron Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed October 21, 2012

First impression: the hotel itself is dated but the room was nicely maintained/renovated.

The room: we were on the top floor (5th) and had lovely views over Lido. Large and clean. The bathroom had been renovated, and the room as well. The bed was comfortable. Some things we found amusing but harmless (mismatched hangers, slightly faded decorative pillows) that might irk the truly OCD.

Service: the gentlemen at reception spoke near-perfect English and were very helpful (weather, directions to the beaches, Film Festival, etc.). The late-night shift was a bit wishy-washy (didn't give us a wake-up call, was not very alert/professional) but we had a very early 5 a.m. checkout so we gave him a little leeway. Especially since the daytime staff is so professional.

Breakfast: Warm croissants (Italian style--they're sweet and brioche-like), fresh seasonal fruit (peaches, plums, etc.), dense Italian breadrolls, yogurt (3 flavors), cured meats, cheese, and cookies. They have a juice machine (white grapefruit!) and a hot drink machine (coffee, hot chocolate)...about as good as it gets when it comes to continental breakfast!

Location: 15 minute walk (shorter if you hustle, like we did) to vaporetto stop to Venice, nice restaurants and bakeries nearby, really close to the beach, and SO relaxed and quiet compared to daytime Venice. Billa Supermarket halfway to the vaporetto for affordable food and drinks.

Overall, great value, enjoyable stay. We have recommended Byron to our friends and relatives as a great alternative to main Island hotels. :)

Room Tip: I don't know if they take requests, but try to get a room on the upper floors for a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cattosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

I liked the hotel location with it being 15 minutes walk from vaporetto stops, Lido restaurants, public beach and casino conference centre. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly, rooms are large and clean. The facilities were basic and breakfast was included in the price.

Although wifi had to be paid for separately (3 euros/hour or 7 euros for 24 hours) it was reasonably fast with good signal strength from the bedroom.

The room I had did not have air conditioning so taking something to fend off the voracious local Venice mosquitoes is wise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The rooms here were okay, not the best but not the worst. The staff was just horrible though. We had booked through Expedia and on the site it said there was free wifi. My husband went to ask for the password and he was told it wasn't free and that it was 3 euros an hour. He grabbed the itinerary and and showed the desk clerk who repeatedly told him he was wrong and Expedia was wrong because he deals with them himself. One staff member shooed my husband off and walked away. The desk clerk called Expedia and told them they were wrong and that we would pay for it. He then shooed my husband off and told him it was his problem. Ridiculous and so rude. When we left the room to explore they refused to explain why we had to leave our room key with them, my husband tossed it on the desk and the desk clerk started yelling at him saying he was rude and shouldn't act like that. And then started yelling in Italian. We also asked for a wake up call both days we were there and we never received one.
The desk clerk was beyond rude and we tried to get out if hotel but it was too expensive. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The rock solid bed and pillows were not helpful either. The free breakfast was awful as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cking830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed 10 nights (a family of four) in early August 12. We were pleasantly surprised by the room as we ended up with two rooms, one room with a double bed & second with twin beds, interconnecting doors. It was very hot & there is no air conditioning, however two fans were very quickly despatched to our room (without asking) and on the third day a portable air conditioning unit was set up. Very impressed by this. We were also impressed that there was a fridge in the room (albeit small) but great for chilling the wine, water & beer. One plus point is that there is a lovely courtyard and each evening you can sit in it with your own drinks purchased very cheaply from the local supermarket. Take a couple of glasses (as we did) as plastic cups in bedrooms. Great location, friendly staff & helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walkers123186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a standard hotel staff were polite and breakfast was ok. the hotel is in need of some modernisation but the price is reasonable compared to toehr places to stay in vecnice.
We got the water bus to the Lido which was very easy to use and cheap if you bought the 48 or 72 hour pass which allows unlimited use of water buses

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dundeepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is average, a bit outdated but it's working on its improvement. Breakfast was average. Long beach is only a hundred meters away from the hotel and for those who want to be very soon at the sea it's great. The staff was polite and willing to help whenever we needed it. The hotel is located in the peaceful environment and that was very important to me because I had a good sleep and rest after exhausting walks through the Venice. The staff is the best!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellovelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Only stayed for one night. We had a quad room which was actually two interconnecting rooms. Perfect for the two of us and the kids. Hotel staff welcoming and friendly. Breakfast buffet fresh and included fresh warm croissants. Only gripe was rather lumpy beds and a really bad smell in the bathroom. Ready for a spruce up or refit soon I think. Also be warned there is no air con - which I knew would be the case at this price, but still made for a hot night !

Good location about 50m from the beach and a 10 min walk to the main water bus stops.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derby_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#24 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
939 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
#25 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hotel

Address: Via Marcantonio Bragadin Lido 30, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $90 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Venice
Byron Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing