We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“villa Casanova, Venice”
Review of Villa Casanova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Casanova
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“villa Casanova, Venice”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

clean and neat rooms and very good breakfast. Alessandro is a very nice person ready to help at all times. He even arranged to pack a couple of personal stuff forgotten while we checked out and send them to our address! Thanks Alessandro, we had a wonderful time and will definitely book with you next time around.

Room Tip: any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murali8121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    75
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
100
245
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked ourselves a 3-night stay at Villa Casanova on the island of Lido, for two couples.
Lido is an hour or so boat ride from Marco Polo airport and the return tickets cost €27 each.
We went with another couple (age range from 47-60!). It was friends of friends who had actually recommended this hotel to us and it turned out to be excellent advice.
You're far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle (and expense!) of staying in one of the city hotels (unless that's what you want of course!), but only a 20min ride on a vaporetti from Lido to San Marco. We bought ourselves 72hr travel passes (€35 each) and these were well worth it (€7 pp per trip otherwise).
Our host was Alessandro and I can't rate him highly enough as a hotelier. He has the knack of pitching himself just right, i.e. friendly but efficient, knowledgeable but not pushy, etc.. Great chap.
I asked Alessandro if he could recommend a particular Gondola route, which he did and it was spot on (depart just below Rialto). Some of the best advice for the trip came from the Gondolier, who said that the best way to explore Venice is to simply "walk lost". Couldn't put it better myself.
We went to all the obvious sites and it's all subjective so I'll not cover that here, other than to say that we went up the Campanile of San Giorgio di Maggiore instead of the one in St Mark's Sq, as you supposedly get a better perspective of Venice; we were very lucky with the weather and the view was indeed spectacular. Recommended. (€6 each).
It was our first visit to Italy and we were taken by the friendly nature of the people we encountered.
All in all a great trip, the foundation of which was our base at Villa Casanova - so a big thanks again to Alessandro. The only reason I knocked a mark off for the room was that we didn't have any tea or coffee making facilities, but for all I know that may be standard for Venice. Anyway it's a minor issue.
Could go on and on about all sorts of things, but my advice would be - JUST GO!
(By the way - take plenty of money - Venice is Expensive! Particularly for eating out during the evening....).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flametop2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the first moment we arrived in Villa Casanova everything was just excellent. Lido is perfect place if you want to run away from crowded Venice. Alessandro, Flor and Elena who are working in Villa Casanova are all so friendly and helpful. Breakfast is outstanding, so tasty and all the products are fresh. They will make coffee or cappuccino just for you. Villa is situated in very nice place, in the evening you can just rest outside in garden our if you are active you can take some of bicycles (it is for free) and go around Lido. My decision to stay in Villa Casanova was the best I did and I definitely will go back again. We felt like home in Villa Casanova.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madara_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Have just stayed at Villa Casanova for the third time. Stayed in Room 7 on the first floor. The villa is charming but what makes this place special is Alessandro and his staff. Alessandro is very kind and helpful and is a wonderful host. The rooms are clean and functional, the hot water in the bathroom is plentiful and piping hot, there is a small fridge and some english channels on the tv. The Villa is a short walk from the Ferry stop and is in a quiet residential street. The breakfast is delicious & includes rolls, pastries, cold meats, cereals, yoghurt, eggs and fresh fruit every morning as well as the best coffee in Venice made to order and brought to your table. A big thank you to Alessandro, Flor and all the staff for making our visit perfect. In our experience Alessandro and his staff go out of their way to be helpful and make you feel at home. Would never stay anywhere else in Venice. Great value, great breakfast, great owner & staff and a really nice B&B. The Lido is a nice place to stay, you get the best of both worlds, near enough to Venice but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Venice itself, get Vaporetto 1 to St Marco and get the best view of the City as you sail towards it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank park3937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights over Easter weekend.
Our room was number 12 on the top floor. It was well laid out and very clean. The en suite was a good size and the shower was really powerful.
The breakfast was nice with traditional Italian breakfast (meats and cheeses), croissants and cereal. There was juice, milk and water and then a large selection of hot drinks.
The owners/staff were lovely and would do anything they could to help.
The location was ideal, we were a little nervous about being on Lido and not Venice, but it literally took 5/10 minutes to get into St Mark's Square (which is quicker than it would other parts of Venice!). You will not find a better quality hotel especially for the price on actual Venice, you would pay more for less quality!
Would recommend to anyone, and if we go back to Venice (which we hopefully will be in a couple of years) we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Its basically a house at Lido di Venezia, an island in Venice if you want to get away from paying exorbitant prices to stay at San Marco, and enjoy the quietness elsewhere. A short 7mins walk from the main boat station.

The room is very clean and so is the toilet. We get fresh towels everyday. Breakfast is simple and nice and the owner makes coffee for you!

Its also lovely to be able to get some biscuits and tea at the kitchen when you return from your sightseeing.

No lift so we had to carry the luggage up the stairs but its ok if it is only a level up.

Wifi was workable but weak in our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casanova

Property: Villa Casanova
Address: Via Partecipazio Orso 9, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Casanova 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Casanova Hotel Venice
Villa Casanova Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing