We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Venice”
Review of Le Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See Venice”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

There is a famous saying "See Venice and die." Meaning, of course, that after such a peak experience, there’s nothing left to do but die, and die happily….. I think I may know what they may die of and that is in fact boredom of an evening. Don’t get me wrong, this beautiful water world is something of a spectacular site, but after spending hundreds of euro throughout the day, returning to small (dated) accommodation to watch BBC world news and bed by 8:30 is not one of the highlights. One just has to laugh it off as a wonderful experience that you are likely not to repeat.
The hotel was traditional Venetian style, which to most would appear a marbled 80s velour theme, but was clean and comfortable if you got the right room. Other guests have stated the rooms are ‘small’ however I don’t think anyone could comprehend the severity of the ‘matchbox room’ we were first issued with… let’s just say, I was thinking of changing my name to Thumbelina! If you were over 5 foot, more than a size zero you would find the standard room claustrophobic. I was keen to make a go of things but after 15 minutes, I sent my somewhat distressed beloved to request a room change. In his absence, I toyed with the possibility that I would in fact have to stay 3 nights in this room.. I explored the bathroom and almost died at the fact I would not fit one cheek into it (I am not that big either). Just when I thought I would throw myself out the window, my partner returned to say that we had been given an alternative room thanks to Simon (thank God for him at least) we were moved to a superior room (don’t get excited folks) that was much more liveable for the time we would end up spending there.
Following a busy day and room switching fun, we thought we would grab a bite in the local area. We found a restaurant not far from where we were staying and had pizza and beer before strolling back via the supermarket (opposite hotel) so we could stock the mini bar with goodies. Approximately 8:30pm we were off to bed.
Morning came and we strolled into the breakfast room… It was a fair breakfast room, with one poor soul rushing around like roadrunner trying to keep cups and saucers regularly refreshed. There were tea, coffee, juices, eggs, bacon, toast, cereal and fruit, so you can fill up on the food here (especially as most staff has no problem with you pocketing the croissants that we saw being poached from the table!)
After breakfast, we set out to St. Marco to explore. We were not disappointed. The no.14 water bus was direct from the Lido to St Marco and it was a fun, exciting way to see the sites. Please go exploring around St. Marco, the small alleyways and beautiful boutiques are just so beautiful and there are many things to see…. I would suggest a small café between St Marco and Rialto which was cheaper than the square, but was still perfect in the sunshine and for people watching.
If you want a drink in a pub/ bar of an evening, Venice is not for you. The whole place seems to shut down from 8pm so it’s best to get up early, eat, drink, explore and pass out like the Italians do here.. Honestly, there is nowhere to go for a drink before bed.. not even the hotel that looks like the Marie Céleste after dark.
I think the best thing about the hotel was its staff, sense of humour and the fact they did aim to please. We got directions to the beach which I have to say was one of the highlights of the holiday… it was about 15 degrees in pure sunshine and we discovered a lovely little beach front café playing Paul Weller that was just perfect! Honestly we could have stayed all day! Fantastic views too and beautiful shells scattered on the shore… romantic and relaxing ahhhh
Thank you Le Boulevard Hotel, you have a prime location and your hotel could be so fabulous, but you just need to take some advice from the tourists and perhaps think about opening your own late night bar – you would make a fortune!
PS UK Tour Operators: The visitor tax thing, you need to tell your customers to expect this, we found out by trip advisor. Its 3.20 euro per person for the first 5 days of your stay payable only in cash at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Lucky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    333
    192
    56
    43
See reviews for
134
460
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel very centrally located. Situated on the main street of the Lido, supermarket just across the road opens till 23:00 hours. Resturants, pizzeria and Gelateria vey close by. Waterbus and bus Staions just two minutes walk away.Hotel staff very helpfull. Breakfast good as well. Hotel and rooms very clean. What else....Enjoy...
Coming from Malta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely hotel and really good service . Cleaned everyday it was lovely. Friendly staff and helpful. Right near the vaporetto station and breakfast is good. Good price and its worth Saving the money on the hotel by staying on lido. Lovely ice cream shop lovely guy inside. Just down the road. Beach is about 15 min walk to end of the street. Snowing when we were there!

Room Tip: Ask for a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Le Boulevard in mid-February in time to catch the very end of the Carnival and a couple of days beyond. The hotel was a great choice. With a short walk to the very frequent vaporetto services to St Marks Square it was a convenient choice and we made good use of our the 72 hour ACTV travel cards backwards and forwards and around the Grand Canal and bought these on arrival at the main station in Venice.

The hotel was warm, clean, friendly and our room was excellent for the three of us (two adults, one seven year old) and we made good use of it as a base. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of food and we felt set up for the day as a result of it. The hotel was excellent value (we booked through lastminute.com) and as a result an additional payment for wi-fi (€10 for four hours split over two days) seemed very reasonable.

The help and service provided by Simone, Roberto and Luca on the front desk added to an all around great stay - they were friendly, spoke excellent English (in the face of our stuttering and implausible attempts at even basic Italian) and were very helpful in allowing us to leave our bags before we checked in and after we'd checked out.

Altogether a very good part of our holiday. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room on the front was warm and sunny in an afternoon and had lots of space in the bedroom and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we had a very cheap last minute offer during the Carnevale.
quietly located at Lido, ten minutes boat to piazza San Marco, boats also ran all night every 20mins during our stay.
the hotel also has a parking lot so we took a ferry to Lido: awesome experience in Venice by car !
room small but comfortable (larger one costed just few more bucks), breakfast fantastic.
our corridor being prepared for re-painting didn't look great. 4 stars just a bit overrated.
personnel very kind and helpful, many shops and restaurants around the hotel.
check their offers, they vary day by day, may find a real bargain.
we def enjoyed staying at Le Boulevard and will be happy to come back.

Room Tip: check the room size, they advertise it. small rooms cost a bit less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dascreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

...Especially when you get a discount price on their website or with other web agencies ! Because 4 stars seems to be a bit overrated and so would be regular prices.
Second time here. Very well located on the Lido, 2 mn from the waterbus station and never involved with acqua alta in winter ! It’s another atmosphere than in S. Marco, you feel the breeze of the Adriatic sea and enjoy nice and quiet walks along the beach or in the residential avenues.
Don’t miss the amazing view in the morning at the waterbus station overlooking the lagoon, the ancient Venice and the sunlit Alps beyond ! From here Old Venice is easy to reach in less than 15 mn.
About the hotel itself : right welcome, nice quiet rooms but small, you feel like in NYC ! bathroom is clean and small too, breakfast is just average but you don’t feel hungry afterwards.
Off season the terrace on the avenue seems desolated and isn’t well-kept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fabien_voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Unable to review this hotel as upon arrival, after taking copies of our passports and a credit card we were told there was a problem with the boiler and would instead be put up at a sister hotel in Venice called The Marconi. We had to make our own way and at our own expense to this hotel and despite being told it was, was not of the same standard.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mareee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lido di Venezia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Boulevard Hotel

Property: Le Boulevard Hotel
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 41 | Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Le Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Boulevard
Le Boulevard Venice
Le Boulevard Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing