We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
Nearby Hotels
$426
$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria(Lido di Venezia)(Great Value!)
$149
$133
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence(Lido di Venezia)(Great Value!)
$146
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Pannonia(Lido di Venezia)(Great Value!)
$164
$140
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Rigel(Lido di Venezia)(Great Value!)
$126
$105
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlanta Augustus(Lido di Venezia)(Great Value!)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quattro Fontane Hotel(Lido di Venezia)
$220
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viktoria Palace Hotel(Lido di Venezia)
$327
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ca' del Moro Foresteria(Lido di Venezia)
$70
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
107
119
28
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
119
28
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetequipped bathroomcroissantsgelatoshort walk to the beachquiet hotelvaporetto stationtreviso airportrestaurants and barspublic beachthree starfive minute walkcafeteriaslidovenicesupermarketisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 272 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Hotel is charming with unpretentious but very comfortable rooms with a very nice view. The included breakfast is good with a selection of hams and salamis and cereal and good pastry.
The place is on the Lido, so you will get to enjoy the best of both worlds: the dynamic life of Venice and the tranquility of the Lido... and don't worry about commuting, in fact that might be your best experience in Venice. Take the front seats of the Vaporetto number 1 (Venetians don't like them anyway) and enjoy the most impressive view you'll ever had of any city..... In Paris you would pay a lot of money for a "Bateau Mouche" to be able to see the views from the river.... in Venice that's included in the prince of the public transportation!!
The Hotel is great, the staff polite and very helpful and the price is a bargain... you'll fill like if you're staying in a much more expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandalfy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I've stayed at many hotels where the picture on the website were either photo shopped or 20 years old, but the Cristallo is just as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures. Its easy to find straight off the water taxi, and is an easy walk even with luggage. It is very convenient to places to eat, shop and the beach, and accessible by water taxi to everywhere else.

The rooms are small, but serviceable, and the beds were comfortable. We did get some street noise on the weekend (we were on the front street) but it was much better after we closed the shutters. With the shutters closed and the ac on, the noise was well masked.

We stayed in a triple, and as another reviewer remarked, the third bed is a fold down and not very easy to manage. it was fine for my niece, but I think it would be uncomfortable for an adult. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank piperpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Cristallo 29 June - 6 July 2008 in Room 23 which fronted the main street of Gran Viale S. M. Elisabetta. This 2 star hotel offers value for the money, 100 Euro/night, and is well located.

Let me get the negative out of the way first. A/C in Europe is more a state of mind than temperature. Usually A/C means opening the window or listening to the associated A/C fan grind and creak without providing cool air. The A/C at Hotel Cristal was in the latter category. The A/C made grinding and gear shifting noises; one night I turned it off just so I would not be woken by its periodic outbursts. I mention the A/C as during our stay we hit a spate of very hot weather with highs in the 30's Centigrade (90's Fahrenheit) and fairly humid. Even the Italians thought it was hot. The ceiling fan was a Godsend and made it possible to sleep well under a fan generated light breeze.

Our room was clean, and of a nice size by European standards. The bathroom was a bit tiny, and made even smaller by the inclusion of a bidet. Does anyone use those bidets? There was a corner shower with one of the two sliding doors missing?

The included breakfast is fine. No hot items, other than usually warm hard boiled eggs, no fruit, and no sliced cheeses. There was some small wrapped soft cheese and VERY thinly sliced meats of ham and salami. Yogurt, cereal, bread and croissants provide most of the breakfast fare. What is it with Italian bread rolls at breakfast? It is the most tasteless bread I have ever experienced. I thought it a bit odd that the breakfast did not start until 8 AM. I was attending a conference that started at 8:30 AM, so the breakfast start time was a minor inconvenience.

The hotel has a small lift, which is important especially if your room is on the second (our Room 23) or third floor.

There is WiFi but is not free and it is not available in the room. I used the WiFi in the small lobby and nearby breakfast room. Fortunately, T*Mobile was a partner with the available pay for use service, so it only cost me $0.18/minute.

As others have stated, the best part of Hotel Cristallo is its location. A short 5 minute walk from the vaporetto stop, the Lido buses stop in front of the hotel, and several nice restaurants are only steps away. There is also a Billa grocery store nearby that has a large variety of items, including prepared food for meals on the go or in your room; the Billa checkout is always crowded. If you only want drinks, try one of the several small nearby shops that sell drinks and snacks.

Typical of most European rooms, especially at the Two Star level, there is no in-room coffee nor mini-bar. You can obtain a small bowl of ice from the reception desk.

The staff at Hotel Cristallo is superb. Very friendly and multi-lingual. The housekeeping staff appeared to all be Vietnamese, but all seemed to speak English fluently.

Summary, Hotel Cristallo is probably the best 2 star hotel you will find on Lido. Don't go with 4 star expectations, and you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LostLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel was wonderful. The hotel is on Lido, which is away from the crowds of Venice... but it is still quick and easy to get to the main places in Venice using the boat/bus. The hotel staff was wonderful and the room was big and bright. Breakfast was served in the morning. We stayed for three nights and paid about 90 euros per night. I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank actsci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We had previously enjoyed a short break on Lido and decided to return at short notice but were unable to book the same hotel. After reading all the reviews and comments on various hotels we chose the Hotel Cristallo due to its position for all the amneties and close proximity to the ferry terminal for our three day stay and found it to be an excellent choice. We had a spacious and clean room (No 23) with a newly refurbished bathroom on the front of the hotel and although overlooking the main street was really quiet. As mentioned in the other reviews all the staff were really friendly and the facilities were excellent for this grade of hotel making our stay thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews