We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central location but needs some updating considering the price.”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice central location but needs some updating considering the price.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is quite good; close to the bus stop and water bus station. Breakfast was very nice and substantial. Lobby is a formal Victorian style. Rooms are very small. Our bathroom was recently upgraded and nicely done. I thought the price fairly steep considering room size and condition. Daytime staff not friendly.(Probably should exit the service industry.) Evening staff was great. Largest complaint was the horribly stained and filthy carpet. Very bad. Also, the bed was worn out but clean and sufficient for a night. Air conditioning was not working and it was a muggy/warm night. Lamp shade was badly stained. Also, beware of a 'local tax' they spring on you when you check in. Payable at checkout, cash only. With a few simple upgrades and lower price, this could be a really nice hotel. Next time I will try a different option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeckman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ibeckman2,

Thank you staying in our hotel and thank you for a great compliment of our formal Victorian style lobby. Our hotel has been open for more than 100 years, and we have different types of rooms, from new economy rate rooms for the special needs of a modern and quick clientele, to spacious superior and deluxe rooms for clients who sojourn longer in Venice and prefer to stay more comfortable. From your description we assume you had a reservation for an economy rate room. We are glad you have appreciated the newly upgraded bathroom. The economy rooms are small sized (16 sqm approx.) and possess all the amenities like standard rooms, but from your picturesque description they look like a scene from some Hollywood movie. Our hotel has been known for cleanliness and pedantry, we are sorry you have not enjoyed fully. The city tax has been very new in our city, but it is necessary to uphold the economy of this magnificent old city, and that all the clients have to settle upon departure in cash. We are glad you want to come back again to visit our hotel, and we hope to host you again soon in a superior accomodiation.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    149
    77
    32
    22
See reviews for
93
139
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

For Lido di Jesolo, this is a good hotel, modern and with accommodating staff. The minuses: Rooms are still quite small even for a family room, which by the way has two rooms, but no door between (something not clear from the advertisement). TV does not have any English programming if this is needed by guests. The positive points to remember: The breakfast was really lovely, one of the best as a frequent traveler that I have had in a long time, and my son thoroughly enjoyed it before a long day in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdeCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

well located hotel, just close to the water taxi point, and the rooms are quite good,and the breakfast is quite good, overall a good hotel, and i liked lido more than venice,very quite and beautiful.will always suggest the hotel and the place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Basic hotel but that's all we needed as a base for exploring Venice. Not far from Venice and St Marks by waterbus (the rolling venice card is well worth the money and saves you a lot on transport). Hotel was authentic and spotlessly clean.

All the staff including the room cleaners were friendly and assisted with any queries we had. Bathroom was small but was still much better than the shared bathrooms that a lot of hotels in Venice had.

Plenty of restaurants and cafes on the street and a 10-15 minute walk to the beach. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmills93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,Ohio USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights on the Lido at the Hotel Helvetia in Venice. It is located on Lido's main street and is easy to locate from the Waterbus 51 and 52 stop. This was our first hotel at the beginning of our stay in Italy when we appreciated such a good night's rest. The hotel was clean, quiet and served a decent breakfast. This area is about 15 minutes away from St. Mark's Square and is a great place to relax in as it is just a short walk to the Adriatic Sea and the beach. There are many very affordable restaurants, a grocery store and other shops nearby. It is a great place to stay if you want to get away from crowds of people. The friendly desk staff booked Vivaldi concerts for us and gave us directions to good restaurants and sites. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room off of the street just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polandwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Helvetia on the Lido, in Venice. The hotel is old and the lobby is dark and drab with outdated furnishing. Our room and bathroom was very small with the double bed was pushed up against the wall so one person has to crawl in from the bottom or over the other person. It was a warm day and our room was quite hot. When we asked at the front desk we were told that the AC was not working. So, we had a choice of leaving the window open overnight and hearing the noisy street or closing out the window and not sleeping because of the heat. Unfortunately we were booked in for 2 nights and won't get a refund if we cancel or change our reservation.
Also, there's a sign posted asking you not to bring food into your room. Really?
They charge $6 an hour or $12 per day for internet access, including use of the computer in the lobby. I believe this is called price gouging. Ridiculous.
If you check out 15 minutes after the posted time, they charge you extra! It felt to us like this hotel was out to get money from the tourist any way possible, instead of trying to be accomodating to fit people's needs.

On the good side,
The room had a nice big window.
Everything was very clean.
The location on the Lido is excellent - right across the street from the vaporetto.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nani54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is friendly, clean and comfortable, with a good breakfast choice. It is very close to the vaporetto stops on Lido and Venice, St Marks is only some ten minutes away. There are plenty of nice restaurants and cafes nearby. Lido is also one of the shortest journies from Marco Polo airport on the Alilaguna shuttle ferry. Overall this hotel and the Lido area have everything a tourist needs and lets you get away from the Venice crowds and prices!

Room Tip: The only drawback during our stay was that the air-conditioning in the hotel was not switched on due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leo186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#16 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#25 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
Hotel Cristallo -- Lido
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing