We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny bathrooms, otherwise very nice”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is well located and just a few meters away from the water bus station and some hundred meters from the beach. It is in a calm and peaceful area of venice (Lido Island).

Rooms were perfectly clean and staff was extraordinary friendly. However, if you are taller than an average italian you'll find yourself quite uncomfortable trying to squeeze in and sit straight on the toilet... an alternative is the bathroom close to the lobby.

Be advised that if you stay more than one day in venice you'll want to take a multi-day water bus pass which already pays off by getting to Lido (where the hotel is located) and going back. Water taxis are much more expensive and not extremely faster.

You can get a water bus that directly brings you to the airport (rate from lido: 15€) or you can take the bus (rate 5€) leaving and going to p.roma. If you have a water taxi multi-trip ticket its is cheaper (10€) to go by bus - you however will lose around 15-20mins.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have bigger bathrooms - you might want to ask for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 375 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

Receptionist slammed the phone down on me and refused to provide any information about the hotel...I decided to book this hotel. Before going ahead with the booking, I called the hotel directly to find out about transport links between the airport and the hotel. The hotel receptionist was extremely rude and advised me that he was not an information desk and he was unwilling to provide me with any information not only about the transport but also about the hotel itself, referring me to their website instead. Before I managed to respond, his last words were "goodbye" before he hung up on me. Just shows you how much they care about their potential guests. I will definitely not be paying them to treat me that way. Pathetic!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
10  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear JB,
Our reception informed us that you have called several times the same day asking them questions at which they could not give you the answers: about the neighbouring hotels, mentinoning their names and bad service you had last time in them, inducing out staff to comment on something they do not know and ethicly they would never attempt to do. That is why they kindly and professionaly advised you, should you need information about our hotel to check our website, wishing you a good day.
Best regards
Helvetia Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Perfect location, only a few hundred yards from the water bus station and visible from the station so you can save a fortune in taxi fares.
The hotel is clean and comfortable. Although the furnishings are mainly old this gives the hotel character.
The staff were all helpful and gave advice re; places to see, directions etc
This is a good budget choice. However, we skipped breakfast as it was over priced even for Venice
Would definately stay again

Room Tip: Get a day pass for the water bus rather than paying for each individual journey. This will save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cazSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Helvetia for just one night before boarding a cruise ship. It was an easy Valporetto (boat taxi) ride from the Marco Polo airport. The water taxi stop on Lido Island is just a 2-3 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel was so easy to get to. It sure beats dragging your luggage through the small streets and over the bridges in Venice! The hotel is located right on the main strip where all the restaurants and bars are located. Lido island is beautiful and peaceful. It is a nice alternative to overcrowded Venice. A quick 10 minute boat ride puts you in the heart of Venice.

The room was clean and the bathroom was large compared to other places that we stayed. The best part of our stay was the hospitality. All the staff members were friendly and helpful. We had a luggage bag full of gifts (including wine and olive oil) that we could not take on the cruise with us. When we found out that the luggage storage at the train station would not hold the bag for a week while we were away, the hotel staff graciously told us that we could leave it in the front office and pick it up when we returned from our cruise. When we returned, the bag was waiting for us. They went over and above to help us out and I really appreciated that.

I plan on returning to Venice someday and will definitely stay at Hotel Helvetia again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights but didnt realize how difficult and expensive it would be to get to the main island of Venice. A 1 way ticket to Lido (where the hotel is) on the ferry is €6.50. You only have 1 way back to the main island and that's on the ferry, so your looking at €13 round trip. A 24 hour ticket is €18, which gives you unlimited travel for 24 hours. If we had of know that we never would have stayed on the Lido.

Hotel was old and their attempt at retro or whatever style they had in mind was just drab. They seem to be saving electricity during the day as the hallways are dark and dreary.

Breakfast was basic, just cereal and bread rolls, no toaster. If you wanted scrambled eggs it cost €4, a boiled egg was €2 and a small yoghurt was €2. Coffee tea and juice was included.

Reception staff were not very friendly. Oh and you will be charged €2.50 per night for city tax on top of your room rate, that can only be paid in cash.

Overall I found this hotel to be dark and depressing.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1761995traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Quaint hotel in central Lido, really close to vaporetto terminal. Rooms were clean and comfortable! The area is also nice, with lots of restaurants around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Helvetia on Lido Island in Venice, Italy.

Staff was wonderful! Very clean, great breakfast service. No problem to leave our bags for a few hours after we checked out.

Felt safe and secure at this location.

Extremely easy access to the vaporetto stop and nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $112 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing