We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my 4th visit”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“my 4th visit”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I love going to stay at the Hotel Helvetia, Venice Lido, as it feels like home from home. The staff are so welcoming to see us back, and we look forward to our next visit. We went to investigate the beach club, where you can pay to go for the day, and although it was closed for the season, we were able to look around, and will definitely have a day there next year. You can get the bus to it from near the Hotel, and if you have a travel card, can use that on the bus. Another nice trip using your travel card, is to Chioggia, which is bus/ferry/vaparetto ride, and where shopping is a lot cheaper than Venice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline777Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    154
    82
    32
    22
See reviews for
94
146
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valley cottage, ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The most disturbing part of the hotel Helvetia is that on my confirmation print out it CLEARLY state that breakfast was included in the rate. However, it became obvious to me that is just false advertisement. The woman that checked us in, along with another fellow refused to uphold its promise. She was rude and condescending using terms like "you people" which made me wonder what exactly is she trying to say. Coincidentally, there was another group of tourist checking in at the same time as my husband and I and they were having the same problem where their confirmation says breakfast was included. It was disturbing to experience this during the check-in process. Even having and showing the printed copy they refused to acknowledge it. It seemed as if they have this issue all the time but since they offer a good rate they expect you to deal with it because you have no other choice. We eventually just had no other choice but to give up. Other than that our stay was pleasant. This hotel is in a really good location. Close to public transportation, the beach, and plenty of shops. The price was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacalover225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Unfortunately if a client books a Room Only basis, breakfast is not included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was just at this hotel with my husband is great location we arrive at the airport like around 7:30pm and by the time the vaperetto left the airport is was like 8:00pm we found the hotel right away great location el lido is great they have great restaurant with reasonable prices the staff at the hotel are great in particular a lady with long blonde hair (can't remember her name) she speaks fluent English and would be able to help you I recommend this hotel 100 percent

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlaosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I have to be careful with this review as when I got back from holiday I wrote a letter of complaint to the hotel and I was threatened with their lawyers if I wrote my opinion on Trip Advisor. But I have decided to take that risk.

We too had the misunderstanding about breakfast at check in. When we booked the hotel there were no reviews on trip advisor that mentioned this. We assumed that when it said "All rates include Breakfast and VAT" on our confirmation email, we would get breakfast. This was not true and naturally we argued our case, as it was clearly stated, only to be treated like we were cheap people trying to get freebies from them. I can say without a doubt I have never been spoken to in such a rude, patronising manor, the whole thing has upset me quite a bit. There was another couple, from America, checking in at the same time, who had exactly the same problem who also argued with the lady. When we asked if we were the first people to ever make this mistake in thinking breakfast was included in this rate she said we were. However, other reviews on trip advisor show me this is not true.

We would have booked the room with or without breakfast as it was a very good price for the location but the way the misunderstanding was dealt with was unacceptable. I asked to speak to the manager and was told he was on holiday. I have now found out from email correspondance with them he was there all along and "watched your theatrical scene from the reception, and did not intervene since he understood that you and your friends were creating the bad performance in front of other clients only to obtain the favours." So he is a manager who refuses to speak to guests with a complaint who are paying in stay in his hotel?

After this episode we felt shunned by all the staff in the hotel, as if they wanted us out as soon as possible, and we felt very helpless about our rights. We didnt want freebies just an appology for the misunderstanding and an explanation. We had saved up for a while for this short trip to celebrate my mums 60th birthday, we just wished we had saved a bit extra and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Unfortunately if a client books a Room Only arragement, breakfast is not included in the rate. We already stated that a couple of times here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lido di Venezia hotels

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Helvetia, and found the staff really friendly and helpful. On our last morning we had to leave in a hurry for our flight and the staff made us up a little breakfast bag for us to take with us, which was very kind of them.
Bedroom was fine, the bathroom was small, but adequate. Air con was welcome!
Hotel itself has an old feel, something about it feels a little 70s-ish, which I kind of liked, it fits with the Lido 70's film feeling, if you're into that.
Great location, 1 min from the waterbus, right on the street with bars & restaurants.
I'll return, for sure.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a spacious room if booking directly with the hotel. If you don't like the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpma_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We decided to try a hotel on the Lido this year instead of choosing our regular hotel on the Riva degli Schiavoni in the Castello region of Venice as it was fully booked. Hotel Helvetia was around 20 Euros a night cheaper with no compromise on quality, comfort or friendliness. The location was ideal being on the Lido which is simple to access and within a stone's throw of the valperetto stop taking you directly to St Marks Square, Piazza Roma or Burano. It was also local to a supermarket, numerous bars & restaurants, the hotel's own access to a private beach and also to the public beach which has a bar, cafe and ample seating allowing you to either sunbathe, swim or just sit and enjoy a drink and watch the world go by after a long tiring day in Venice itself. If you have a valperetto ticket you can also take a ride by bus to the part of The Lido where the film festival is held. The continental breakfast offered by the hotel is more than adequate to set you up for the day and you can enjoy a reasonably priced glasss of wine in the hotel garden in the evening (but beware of the mossies!!!) A thoroughly good, clean hotel with friendly staff in an ideal location.

Room Tip: Front view is good but maybe a little noisy. Rear of the hotel is quieter but without the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaJ1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I most certainly would not recommend this hotel. There is a distinct lack of customer relations. Myself and two friends,all mature ladies, stayed at this hotel at the beginning of September. One morning we found ourselves looked IN our room and had to ring for assistance to be released. After hours spent searching the room for the key to no avail, the only conclusion we could draw was that the key had been left on the outside the night before and persons unknown had taken it. We were duely presented with a bill for 150 euro's, which we had no other option but to pay. The management said if the key came to light they would reimburse us. I have since e-mailed the hotel stating that on advice given on our return, they had no right to charge such an exorbitant amount as we could find no mention of a charge being made for a missing key. Quite frankly the reply I have received beggers believe, I did say I had e-mailed Venice Tourism and would be writing a review on tripadvisor, where incidently I found this hotel, their response, tough and you can tell who you like. Does this sound like damage limitation? It has completely spoilt our Venice experience, In future I will take more notice of any criticism posted on tripadvisor, there certainly was plenty for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladycaptain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelvetiahotelVenezia, Manager at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We are very sorry, but in case of damage or key loss the price is Eur 150-. The client paid duly her bill at check out and received regular fiscal invoice.
Best regards
Helvetia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#27 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Gran Viale 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty hotel just a canal-hop from Venice, the Helvetia Hotel offers a break from the norm. Set down a leafy boulevard in the heart of Venice Lido, the Helvetia is a world away from your run-of-the-mill city hotel. Inside, it brims with Venetian flair and sophistication, while outside there’s a lovely flower-filled garden where you can enjoy al fresco breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Venice
Hotel Helvetia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing