We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay when visiting Venice”
Review of Atlanta Augustus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlanta Augustus
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Città di Castello, Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay when visiting Venice”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was perfect for us in a very quiet location. Everything in the hotel is spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We much preferred staying on The Lido away from the terrible crowds of Venice. It just takes 25 minutes to reach the centre of Venice from the hotel. We enjoyed the Boulevard and there are nice restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheiladevries54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    140
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
61
141
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Found the whole Venice break breathtaking ! Nice local Ryanir flight arrived nice and early, booked a 72 hours waterbus pass for 45 euro's including audio tour - around an hours transfer from Roma Square to Lido on route 1 every 20 minutes down grand canal - fantasic views and what an introduction to Venice.
Hotel less than 5 minutes from Lido waterbus stop -easy to find - plenty of local bars, snackbars and restaurants selling reasonable price food - expect to pay 5 eauros for a large beer, 3-4 euros for wine or prosecco, 10-15 euros for a fixed price meal and 5-7 euros for a snack.
good supermarket around 200 yards from the Hotel for picnics etc which we took into Venice a couple of times and sat enjoying the views.
Hotel is good 3 star standard, our room was sufficiently spacious with good bathroom and nice bed. Fridge and haridryer - we had everything we needed. If your going to Venice to watch English TV you will be dissapointed in the Atlanta Augustus but if you want a nice hotel with character and tradition you will be more than satisfied.
Breakfast was continental and plentiful - self service cafe style - we managed fine and enjoyed the coffee, oragne and pastries.
Would be very happy to return to the Atlanta Augusta - liked that it was quiret and liked that it was away from the crowds and higher prices of the tourist traps. Would consider stay on main island next time subject to price etc - but equally happy to return to this hotel.
Staff all very helpful - as were all the Italians we met everywhere.
Sat and enjoyed beer and wine near to St Marks Square - 5 euro prosecco and 7 euro beer still not as outrageous as I expected - all have menus with published prices so you shopuld know exactly what you are paying for.
All in all excellent stay and nice hotel - recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here from 15th-17th May for a city break. The hotel is a five minute walk from the water bus stop on the Lido. It is quiet and provides a great break from the hustle and bustle of Venice tourist spots. The room we had 504 was on the ground floor so no real views but the bed was comfortable and the shower excellent. The towels and bedding were changed daily. The breakfast is a standard continental one with coffee, tea, fruit juice, croissants, cereal etc.The number 1 waterbus goes every 10 minutes to St. Marks Square and up the grand canal to the Rialto bridge etc. We didn't have a safety deposit box in the room which was a disappointment but the reception staff were happy to help and store our passports etc. at the front desk. If you don't want to pay for expensive lunches an option is to use the Billa supermarket on the main street on the Lido which you pass on the way to the hotel. You can get bottles of water for 29 cents and lovely fresh rolls and salads.

Room Tip: Try and get a room above the ground floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyPell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We rented the “penthouse” for 3 nights at this hotel. When we entered the room, it was hot and stuffy. The A/C was not working properly and did not improve the conditions. On entering, we noticed that the mirrors were quite dirty, and had not been properly cleaned for some time. The TV was a joke: a 12 inch laptop monitor was the screen and it was located on a desk to one side of the bed. There were no english channels, although the information provided by the hotel claimed otherwise. The bath/shower was quite high to enter and proved slippery as there was no mat. After the first night, we were left with no soap, shampoo, etc. Luckily, we had brought some. The room has had some painting done, but is in need of an upgrade. A patio does not make a penthouse, we expected more, much more. If you are considering this hotel, avoid the penthouse as it offers little value for the extra money. If you are dealing directly with the hotel, as we did, they certainly push the penthouse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

we stayed at this lovely hotel from 15th april for 4 nights, it was actually our honeymoon,
the staff were lovely, friendly, helpful and attentive,
the hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet..
the breakfast room was well equipt with everything you need, (continental)
the staff were very helpful giving us maps and advice on waterbus routes and prices,
we had a lovely stay and would visit again in the future
thank you
Sarah & David George... bournemouth, UK,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My favorite hotel on Lido was booked, so I tried the Atlanta Augustus. Much to my surprise I have found another "Gem" for a hotel on the Lido Island. This hotel is very budget friendly and exceptionally clean and well maintained. Nothing fancy but very comfortable. The staff is very personable and friendly. A short walk from the Vaporetto this hotel offers great comfort and hospitality. My room was quite large in comparison to other hotel rooms and had a lovely terrace. Breakfast offerings were adequate but very limited. Amenities...well they were adequate but I suggest you bring your own shower gel and or shampoo. I would definitely book this hotel again and look forward for my next trip to Venice.

Room Tip: Room 308 has a very large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel while in Venice. A small walk to the water bus stop was certainly fine as was the location in a quiet location. The rooms were small but clean and the bathroom was acceptable and clean as well. Nothing is new in this hotel, so do not expect anything fancy but if you eclectic than you are in the right place. The breakfast was good. Wifi had to be paid for and was slow. Front desk staff were not very friendly but were efficient. A good place for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Augustus

Property: Atlanta Augustus
Address: Via Lepanto 15, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlanta Augustus 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlanta Augustus is a historical Art Nouveau villa built in the early-twentieth century. It has thirty rooms as well as seven among Family Suites and Junior Suites, all fully renovated in recent years. The hotel is located in the residential quarter of Venice Lido, the island facing St. Mark’s square, which is reached in 10 minutes, day and night, by public waterbus (lines 1, 2, and 5.1) with departures every 5 minutes. The hotel is easily reached by car on ferry-boat (departures every 50 minutes from Tronchetto-Piazzale Roma, cost of return ticket 25/40 Euros). All rooms are furnished with care and attention and have air-con, mini-bar, T.V. sat, telephone, Wi-Fi Internet access; some of the rooms, including the Junior Suites, are provided with Jacuzzi bathtub. All this for you to enjoy the most pleasant and unforgettable of sojourns in Venice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlanta Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Augustus Hotel Venice
Atlanta Augustus Malcesine
Atlanta Augustus Hotel Malcesine
Atlanta Augustus Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing