We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Atlanta Augustus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlanta Augustus
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel was located at the last stop of the bus line, which was very far but located in a nice "town" like place. NO wifi in the rooms, only available in the lobby for 10 Euros, which was a big downfall. Rooms were okay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 291 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here for eight nights from 30th of March. As written in other reviews on this site, the hotel is not up to date inside, the renovation I assume means that it has been decorated at some point. We were in room 102. This room was in the north-east corner on the first floor and had a view from the balcony of a few houses and streets. The room had a large bed which was quite comfortable. The room and bathroom were both clean and well presented. The negatives start here. The room had two big windows that opened easily with shutters outside. While these are nice, the curtains inside the room do not shut. The hotel also has no in-room internet access which should be a given in any three star hotel. Between the wall where the head of the bed is and the store cupboard outside run water pipes. These are incredibly loud when anybody in rooms above us uses these pipes. Also, either above our bathroom or outside the building there is what sounds like a water tank which is constantly making noise. The walls are paper thin so you can hear practically everything going on in rooms around you. There are also no tea/coffee facilities in the room so the only option on drinks is buying from a nearby supermarket or using the mini bar. The breakfast is terribly dull with no hot food facility. I had breakfast three times over eight days. The hotel only serves food at breakfast as well so no restuarant for the rest of the day. The hotel, whilst close to the main street and vaparetto station was very over priced. We were greeted with, " Since you are staying here for a long time, we will give you one of our best rooms." This sadly didn't happen. We asked to change rooms on the first night but were told that there were no other rooms available to switch to. I would definitely not recommend this hotel unless you can get it during the low season and don't have a room number that ends in anything from two to five as the problems we experienced probably apply to all rooms in the north-east corner of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Excellent access to Venice via the Vaporetto which is within easy walking distance.
If you buy Venice Card you can get 72h ticket for water buses (you will need it anyway).
Breakfast was a little bit too light but for me enough to be full.
There was only choice of tea or coffee no herbal teas. Each table had two jam filled overcooked croissants, two rolls and some bread. The only other thing on offer was two sweet cakes and cold eggs. Nothing special but enough.
My standard room was reasonably priced, pretty big but very basic, almost sub standard.
The big disappointment however was a very bad smell in the room.
Also you have to know you need to purchase the hotel WiFi for €10.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Best price of its class, clean and comfortable rooms, amiable service, very close to the water bus station. Abysmal breakfast without meat or cheese of any kind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MihneaRadulescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very charming hotel ! Although it looks pretty old and rustic from outside, its totally renovated and upto date on the inside. Staff are nice and helpful.
Reasons for 4 stars: -
a) No internet facility. In this day and age lack of internet in the room is a spoiler.
b) No tea/coffee kettle in the room. This small addition can make such a huge difference in the quality of the stay.
c) Finally, the breakfast is extremely boring. There is not even a bread toaster for some hot food. The choice of the spread is plain boring.

I guess it will cost less than 500 Euros to set the above things right and the make the stay excellent.

Another thing to bear in mind is that the hotel is in Lido and not main Venice Island. It costs 13Euros for a return trip to Venice. Something to bear in mind for someone on a budget. For tow people 26Euros return is quite a steep price to pay. Although its no fault of the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shilpi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Comfortable, spotlessly clean room in a characterful former villa. Welcoming, helpful reception team. Extensive, tasty breakfast choice. Quiet location in a lived-in Italian town, but only 15 mins from the beauties of Venice. Plenty of good value, quality restaurants close by. I particularly recommend the Trattoria Africa and the Restaurant Gran Viale.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomtomsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were visiting Venice but were recommended to stay on The Lido by someone who lives in Venice. He was absolutely right. The hotel was a five minute walk to the water transport and then just a 15 minute water bus journey to S. Mark's Square. We did all the tourist things we were supposed to do but could return to the tranquility of The Lido. I really did not like being in the centre of Venice with all those crowds of people and so was so glad to go back to The Lido.

The hotel was much better than we had hoped. It was a very high standard 3 star hotel. We had a good sized very pleasant room on the 2nd floor. The decoration of the room was a bit strange with every colour you can think of in it. Such a shame because natural colours would have been so much better. It had a really good bathroom and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The breakfast area was basic but we had a very good continental breakfast. The weather wasn't warm enough but next time we go we will hopefully be able to sit in the garden to have breakfast.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is brilliantly situated just five minutes walk to the water transport, 10 minutes walk to the beach and the boulevard with its lovely shops, coffee bars etc. is on the doorstep.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a small terrace overlooking a quiet street and canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patty650125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
361 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
#26 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Augustus

Address: Via Lepanto 15, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $105 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlanta Augustus 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlanta Augustus is a historical Art Nouveau villa built in the early-twentieth century. It has thirty rooms as well as seven among Family Suites and Junior Suites, all fully renovated in recent years. The hotel is located in the residential quarter of Venice Lido, the island facing St. Mark’s square, which is reached in 10 minutes, day and night, by public waterbus (lines 1, 2, and 5.1) with departures every 5 minutes. The hotel is easily reached by car on ferry-boat (departures every 50 minutes from Tronchetto-Piazzale Roma, cost of return ticket 25/40 Euros). All rooms are furnished with care and attention and have air-con, mini-bar, T.V. sat, telephone, Wi-Fi Internet access; some of the rooms, including the Junior Suites, are provided with Jacuzzi bathtub. All this for you to enjoy the most pleasant and unforgettable of sojourns in Venice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlanta Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Augustus Hotel Venice
Atlanta Augustus Malcesine
Atlanta Augustus Hotel Malcesine
Atlanta Augustus Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing