We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and Comfortable- ideally located for visiting Venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Panorama
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cosy and Comfortable- ideally located for visiting Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We arrived at Hotel Panorama on 08/04/2014 for a two night stay after a straight forward boat journey from the Airport on Allilaguna transport service (Ticket office on your left upon entering arrivals (15 Euro PP I think?) leave the building and turn left and follow the signs to the docks where you can get a boat to Lido). Once off the boat simply make your way left along the other boat stops until you a see a small ramp, cross the road and the hotel is literally across the road on the left. Check in was straight forward and we was told by the gentlemen on reception that they needed to make a copy of our passports and when we had settled in we could return to reception to collect them and he would provide us with tourist information. We returned shortly after and the gentlemen gave us our passports back and the tourist information as promised. He was very helpful and gave us information clearly that we needed to know ASAP as we only had three full days in Venice. He was more than happy to answer additional questions we had.

The first impressions of our room was that it was small but very clean. I feel the room was adequate for what we required; a comfy place to rest our head after a long day exploring Venice. On a side note, I am a fairly laid back traveller, I am not one of those people who believe because they have paid a bit of money for something they have a god given right to perfection and choose to spend their whole holiday making complaints! However, a couple of observations I made about the room are as follows:

-It's a double room but two single beds pushed together- a slight pet hate of mine

-The bathroom: in the bathroom there was a shower and a toilet but no bath. Both me and my partner are of slim build but we both commented that 'larger' guests may find the shower tricky. It's hard to explain but they have two sliding doors that open and the gap it leaves you to get in and out wasn't very wide. Like I said we are of slim build but even I found it 'tight' to say the least.

Overall we liked the room and definitely didn't have any major complaints, it provided a good base to explore Venice. A slightly odd thing that the Hotel did was after leaving the Hotel to go out you had to give back your room key. It's not really much of an issue as it means you wont lose it but I did question the security of how easy it was to obtain the room key on your return. For example it was our first day we had only just arrived at the hotel, gave our room key to reception and went out. On returning we asked a different receptionist for our room key (he hadn't seen us before) and he handed it straight over. Surely that means (in extreme circumstances) that anybody off the street could get hold of a room key? I don't know maybe I am missing something and there is a system in place? However, I would at this stage like to make it perfectly clear that whilst on Lido you never feel unsafe or feel that anybody would set out to do this kind of thing but at the time it did make me wonder whether this was such a good idea on the part of the Hotel.

A big plus of this Hotel is how friendly and willing staff are to try and help you out at any given moment. The service they give is the main reason why I have given the Hotel Panorama a 5/5 score. However, we did encounter one problem when we tried to book a tour of the Doge's Palace through the Hotel's recommended tour company. The lady on reception kindly rung the tour company and booked it for us for 13:15 that day. Once she hung the phone up she told us the time of the tour and began explaining where our tour guide would meet us. As this was the second day we had already visited a lot of the main attractions of Venice and we definitely knew where the Palace was and our way around in general. She proceeded to draw an arrow on the picture of the leaflet indicating that our guide would meet us at that point (just outside the palace). At this point you feel it couldn't be any clearer, tour of the Doge Palace and meeting point outside the Doge Palace- easy right? So without a second thought the leaflet goes straight into my back pocket and off we go to meet the tour guide. To cut a long story short we arrive to the 'meeting point' on time and nobody shows up. We go back to the hotel (as didn't have phones) and explain what has happened. They are already aware of the situation as the tour company has called them wondering where we are?! We explain where we was waiting and that we were on time and nobody showed up. The same lady goes on to explain that we were in the wrong and we will lose the money we had paid to cover for a no show (we paid half upfront and other half was to be paid to tour guide). She gets the same leaflet out and points to something that says T1, turns the leaflet over to a map and points to T1 again, and explains T1 is the meeting place which turns out to be somewhere just off ST Marks square. It does make you wonder why she didn't just give these instructions in the first place? Fair enough we could have read through the leaflet more thoroughly but when you have it explained to you by the hotel you trust their judgement. I think in total we lost about 30 Euros but I didn't want to spend what little time I had left kicking up fuss and complaining. However, I think it's something the hotel should be more concious of; we are tourists who come to a place to visit with very little or no knowledge at all of the area. I think the hotel should be concious that any information they give will be taken literally by tourists and they should leave nothing to chance if deciding to not mention certain information.

Overall, I think the Hotel provides an almost perfect base to visit Venice. It only takes 20 minutes to get from Lido to Venice with frequent boat transportation that runs until late at night. However, I think the points I have mentioned are definitely worth noting and the Hotel needs to be careful as guests with less patience then myself will make their views known.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James666_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    267
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
135
432
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nicely situated near the Lido vaporetta stage for access to all area's and lagoon islands. Used the 3 day transport pass to get around and were grateful for the quite location of the Lido after the days site seeing. Lovely hotel, plentiful continental breakfast and knowledgeable reception staff.
Rooms are fine for a short break and plenty of choice of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KefalosBlues2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights here last week. We loved the location, ideal for access to Venice and the surrounding islands as it's near the vaparetto (water bus) station. The Lido itself is less busy and cheaper than Venice and we loved escaping here after a busy day's sightseeing! Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Complimentary continental breakfast gave us a great start to each day. Room was a good size and clean but a little tired.
If we were to return to Venice we would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The Keeps D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

When we arrived we felt we were given a poor room on a first come, first served basis. We were last but one in the queue upon our arrival. Ours was the disabled room, room 11 on the ground floor at the back of the hotel overlooking a rear pathway so we would not be able to have the window open. After speaking to the staff who were very helpful we were given room 206 for one night only. Our second and third nights were room 301 on the third floor. Although very large, the jacuzzi bath did not work and there was not a proper shower. It was very hot in there. On the plus side, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast very good. Very handy for the water taxi to Venice. Not a four star hotel as stated. More like a two star. Poor standard of rooms let the hotel down. Having three rooms over a weekend spoiled our Venice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room on booking. Standard '4 star' rooms not worth the money paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Whenever we go to Venice, the Panorama is where we like to stay, it is a clean, warm and friendly
Hotel, there is breakfast to be had every morning with a good choice of food to eat and friendly staff are always on hand should you need any help, the real Star of the show for us is Euginio who is on the front desk, a Fabulous man with all the information you will ever need to make your stay a great experience, as far as we are concerned Euginio gives the Panorama the edge over the rest, coupled with the location which is right beside the Vaperetto links for Venice,our room was at the front overlooking the Lagoon and we loved it, true at night there is a little noise, but we didn't have a problem with that, and lets face it, after a good night out I sleep like a top.

Well done the staff at the Panorama, we will be back !!! Charles & Carol Suffolk Uk

Room Tip: If you are bother by noise get a room at the side or back of the Hotel or at the top maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Good
Helpful front desk
Decent breakfast

Bad
Construction outside
Loud trucks/boats outside room (woke us up)
Cold water (not able to take a hot shower/bath)
No laundry room
Broken sink counters (Tilted forward sliding your stuff into the sink)
Poor entrance/doors with luggage (Large steps, small entryway)
Blinking smoking detector on ceiling (Irritating in dark room)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I took my wife and 15 month old baby to Venice this weekend and we stayed at the Hotel Panorama on Lido through a package from BA.The hotel is perfectly located for visiting Venice each day as it is situated opposite the water bus stop so just 150 metres to walk from the bus to the hotel. The hotel itself is run by a very friendly team of staff who did everything to make our stay comfortable, checking our return flight times so that they could help us choose the right time for the water bus back to the airport. The room was big and comfortable with a modern (shower only) ensuite and they provided a large play cot for our baby. Continental breakfast was excellent and provided on a self-serve buffet basis. There is a main road 50 metres away linking the bus port to the beach on the other side of the island (it's only 750 metres wide) and there are many good restaurants along it together with an excellent supermarket which was handy for baby supplies. I am about to review the Roxy restaurant separately but we found it excellent with fantastic atmosphere and great for couples or families.

Top tip, get an Alilaguna return boat pass at the airport (27 euros pp and lasts a month) to get you to Lido and back; get an ACTV water bus pass at the airport (or on Lido) to give you unlimited access to all of the waterbuses on Venice so that you can go pretty much anywhere (ours was 35 euros pp for 72 hours). The water bus system is excellent and the No 1 runs every 10 mins from Lido to Venice and will take you along the Great Canal from St Marks Square to the train station at the top. Just make sure to scan your pass on the machines at each bus stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Property: Hotel Panorama
Address: Plaza Santa Maria Elisabetta 1 | Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Venice
Hotel Panorama Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing