We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel,very friendly and helpful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel,very friendly and helpful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights before our cruise in may 2013 and1night on our way back, we don't have anything but great memories of our stay and of lido itself, the staff where friendly very helpful and if we ever go to venice again will stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    82
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
35
64
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just had a four day stay at this hotel with no problems everything, including all costs were carefully explained to us when we arrived. The people on reception were all very helpful and pleasant. Beautiful hotel with lovely grounds. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, we also had a big terrace which on sunny days was a real bonus.
We paid extra for the breakfast, which was a great selection for the money. Help yourself to as much cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, ham, cheese, cakes, toast etc. etc. well worth 8 euros.
It was 10 minutes walk down alongside the canal to the boat stops.
Thoroughly recommend the Lido which is a beautiful island and from which boats go every few minutes over to Venice. It's much quieter and cheaper than Venice and has lovely beaches, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had no problems at all, everything was as it should be. Large bedroom, nicely furnished, large comfortable bed; large fully tiled bathroom, good blast of hot water in the shower, clean towels every day. Common areas are attractive art deco style with a terrazzo staircase, ornate lift and a fabulous ceiling in the lounge area. Reception staff were polite and efficient. Breakfast is extra and optional at 8 euros per person. It is a very good continental buffet (help yourself to whatever you want). Considering one cup of tea alone costs 3 euros in the local cafes it is also very good value. The hotel is 15 minutes leisurely walk from the waterbus terminal along Via Lepanta by the side of a canal in a smart residential area. There is a bus if you do not like walking, free with the ACTV pass. Be sure to buy one of these for the duration of your stay (see venice connected website). The waterbus takes 15 minutes to Piazzo S.Marco (No 1, every 10 minutes). Venice is a very expensive city to visit and this hotel provides a high standard of accommodation for a reasonable price not possible in the city itself. Do your research, especially regarding the location and if this suits you, you can't go wrong.
The Alliguna waterbus from the airport now costs 15 euros per person one way. A good alternative is to catch the No 5 bus from the airport to Piazzo Roma (every 15 minutes right outside the door) which costs 4 euros if bought in advance with your ACTV pass (otherwise 6). Then catch the No 6 or 5.1 waterbus from Piazzo Roma to Lido (25 minutes) or the No 1 to begin your holiday with a cruise through the Grande Canal (1 hour). I hope this was useful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Prepaid in advance through booking website without breakfast included. Upon check-in, staff demanded 8euro more per person per day for what she claimed was a mandatory breakfast.

I rang the booking agency, and they confirmed the breakfast was optional. Then the hotel backed down, but without apology. But arguing with staff is not what you want, as your start to a romantic weekend in Venice.

Additionally, there was no shower curtain, and the bathroom became needlessly messy as a result.

The "free" internet is only free for 15 minutes, and becomes very expensive threafter (2EUR for another 15 mins, 3EUR for 30 mins etc.). And it was not available in the rooms, seemingly only in the lobby.

On the plus side, the interior is nicely decorated, and the room was larger than expected.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elefantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca R, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sir,
i am very surprised to see your complaint about breakfast ,becouse you speak with me and i try too explain that the site HRS in every bookings put toghether room and breakfast . If you want i can send to you the bookings that we have .I told you that you can have or have not buffet breakfast and you are not obliged to pay 8,00 € ,i think there was a little misunderstanding.
We have wi-fi in all rooms of our hotel ,and if you cannot get the connection in your room ,why you don't advise us? The bathroom have a bath tub and don't need a curtain i suppose ,but we take your note and we are going to put one ,and we thank you for this advice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is definitely good value as Venice is very, very expensive. As others have said, It's located in Lido which is a separate island away from all the tourist traffic. Our room was a good size and seemed to be clean. I'd heard mozzies can get quite bad here, but did not experience this. It was also good to find a lift here to help with moving luggage. Our experiences with a female staff member here were good. She was friendly and very helpful in explaining how to get to the main island and which boat we should catch.

Now the bad. The male staff member who looked to be in charge seemed to have a split personality! At times he was helpful, but on two occasions however, he was exceptionally rude to us. We had just walked out the door when we thought we better ask which boat we needed to catch as it was our first day. He was standing outside and was clearly engaged in a light-hearted chat with another guy. We figured we would ask him since he was right there, so we stood nearby, and we waited and waited and waited. He had definitely seen us waiting and made it quite obvious he was ignoring us and going to continue his conversation. Not putting up with that, we went inside and asked the female staff member.

But it doesn't end there. The day we were leaving, we were told we only needed to walk 3mins to catch the boat which would take us to the airport. After walking for more than 5mins, we still could not find where we needed to go. We called the hotel, spoke to the male member of staff and asked if he could tell us once again how to find the pier where the airport boat comes in. He then proceeded to pretend he couldn't help us because he's English was no good, even though he's English had been perfectly fine up until then! We then asked to speak to the lady who worked there to which he replied, "There is no lady who works here." Oh really? Who had we'd been dealing with all those other times?? So we hung up, had to walk ALL the way to the main pier, dragging our huge bags with us (we would have got a taxi if we'd known!!), then there was a huge queue for tickets - all this made us nearly miss our plane!

To sum it up, this place is reasonable value as long as you don't mind rude staff who treat you badly for no apparent reason. You can't treat paying customer like that and expect to get away with it, which is why I'm writing this review to warn others. We will never be staying here again, nor will I be recommending it to anyone based on our treatment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank St3phieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca R, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Daer Sirs,
we are very sorry for what happened to you during your holiday in our hotel.
First of all he is not the manager ,and is new receptionist ,taken for few days becouse one of the older was ill.We are very sorry again ,and if one time you decide to come agian to our hotel you can speak with me and you get a discount on your stay .
Best ReEgards
The management
Gianluca Regazzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at La Meridiana in late October/early November for 3 nights. The Hotel was clean and tidy and the room was spacious. The staff were most welcoming and very helpful.
For us, the hotel was in an ideal location, away from the hustle and bustle of Venice but close enough to go to and fro using the superb waterbus links. The hotel is situated in a residential area about a ten minute walk from the Lido waterbus stop although you can take the bus (for two stops) if you want. We always walked as it was a nice stroll along the canal beside Via Lepanto.
The hotel doesn't serve evening meals although there are several good restaurants within ten minutes walk. We ate at a Trattoria in Via Filippo Grimani which was very good. If the weather is bad (as it was for us on one evening) the hotel can order takeaway pizza to be delivered for you. The continental breakfast was OK but nothing special. We opted out of room + breakfast
and ate breakfast on one day. We preferred to take coffee and pastry in the town by the Lido.
There is a small bar and also a lounge/TV room.
Our room was clean with a very large double bed. There was a fridge, safe, mini bar and multi-channel TV.
Our only disatisfaction with the hotel was that the shower in our room had very low water pressure (not much more than a trickle) but this was one small thing in an otherwise very pleasant stay.
We experienced the Alta Marea (high tides) in Venice during our stay. We had to purchase wellies while there as we couldn't get around otherwise but well worth the 15 euros as it all added to the fun and experience.
We used the waterbuses all the time as they ran frequently and late (all night). We purchased a 7 day ACTV travelcard for 50 euros. Well worth the money when you consider a one way trip is 7 euros. We travelled to Murano (glass island) and Burano (lace island) besides using it to get to and from Lido and all around Venice.
In summary, we loved our stay at La Meridiana and would certainly go back there again.

Room Tip: Our corner room was on the second floor and was quiet with windows to two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Venice in the end of September. And staying at La Meridiana after the whole day in Venice was indeed very relaxing and refreshing. Quiet area, very clean and tidy hotel with spacious rooms, with quite a "homely", "b&b" atmosphere and welcoming staff. If u r a sensitive sleeper - take your earpluggs as you might hear the sound of running water. I read some grunges about breakfast. There was no problem at all, with a variety of cereals, youghurts, fruit, hams, cheese, scrambled eggs etc etc. So unless you are used to champagne and caviar and strawberries for breakfast, you woun't stay hungry at La Meridiana. About getting there: we followed the instructions from TripAdvisor and took the Alilaguna Blue Line. But! If you are arriving in Marco Polo before five o-clock p.m. try to catch the Red line (goes fr the same spot at the Airport). The last Red Line boat leaves Marco Polo at about 6 o'clock, it only makes one or two stops on the way, and the best part - it delivers you almost "door-to door", about 3-5 minutes walk to/from the hotel. Whereas with the Blue Line you will have 20 min to half an hour (depending on your age and luggage) walk. The hotel has the times for the Red line. Otherwise, as we were there off-season, the whole stay both in Lido and at the hotel and in Venice was very very relaxing. One thing we found a bit unnecessary: the 48 hrs pass on vaporettos. No doubt, very useful if you plan to jump on - jump off a lot, or plan to go to Murano or other islands. But as it turns out, you only do it twice a day, from and to Lido. The price of a regular ticket is 7 euro, so if u are a bit short of money - walk :-)) Also, the toilets, there was no point buying a toilet card as there is an awful lot of nice coffee and wine bars where you can sit down for a bit and even use the facilities. Alltogether, great value for money. Will certainly consider staying there again. Lido and the hotel cures you from the claustrophobic feeling you might get in the tiny streets of the beautiful Venice :-). Go to Venice but stay on Lido, with its variety of restaurants and bars and pizzerias and nice walks. And don't forget the city tax you'll have to pay upon leaving the hotel (ca 4.50 euros/day). Little price to help save Venice from sinking. So spare some money for the last day, don't spend it all on souvenirs and Spritz :-)

Room Tip: Big balconies on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letterpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petit Palais
Hotel Petit Palais
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Lepanto 45, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Meridiana is situated in the worldly centre of the Venice Lido . You can reach St. Mark's square, Venice centre, in 20 minutes by boat.Also Hotel La Meridiana is 100 mt from the beach and only 500 mt from Venice congress palace and Film Festival Palace. Many sports are available on Lido island.You can book your holiday in this cheap Venice Hotel ; the Hotel La Meridiana is open all year long.Also you can rent bicycles to go around Venice Lido and visit the famous Golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo La Meridiana Venice
Albergo La Meridiana Hotel Venice
Hotel La Meridiana Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing