We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried to demand more money for 'mandatory' breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tried to demand more money for 'mandatory' breakfast”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Prepaid in advance through booking website without breakfast included. Upon check-in, staff demanded 8euro more per person per day for what she claimed was a mandatory breakfast.

I rang the booking agency, and they confirmed the breakfast was optional. Then the hotel backed down, but without apology. But arguing with staff is not what you want, as your start to a romantic weekend in Venice.

Additionally, there was no shower curtain, and the bathroom became needlessly messy as a result.

The "free" internet is only free for 15 minutes, and becomes very expensive threafter (2EUR for another 15 mins, 3EUR for 30 mins etc.). And it was not available in the rooms, seemingly only in the lobby.

On the plus side, the interior is nicely decorated, and the room was larger than expected.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elefantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca R, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sir,
i am very surprised to see your complaint about breakfast ,becouse you speak with me and i try too explain that the site HRS in every bookings put toghether room and breakfast . If you want i can send to you the bookings that we have .I told you that you can have or have not buffet breakfast and you are not obliged to pay 8,00 € ,i think there was a little misunderstanding.
We have wi-fi in all rooms of our hotel ,and if you cannot get the connection in your room ,why you don't advise us? The bathroom have a bath tub and don't need a curtain i suppose ,but we take your note and we are going to put one ,and we thank you for this advice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    82
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
35
64
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is definitely good value as Venice is very, very expensive. As others have said, It's located in Lido which is a separate island away from all the tourist traffic. Our room was a good size and seemed to be clean. I'd heard mozzies can get quite bad here, but did not experience this. It was also good to find a lift here to help with moving luggage. Our experiences with a female staff member here were good. She was friendly and very helpful in explaining how to get to the main island and which boat we should catch.

Now the bad. The male staff member who looked to be in charge seemed to have a split personality! At times he was helpful, but on two occasions however, he was exceptionally rude to us. We had just walked out the door when we thought we better ask which boat we needed to catch as it was our first day. He was standing outside and was clearly engaged in a light-hearted chat with another guy. We figured we would ask him since he was right there, so we stood nearby, and we waited and waited and waited. He had definitely seen us waiting and made it quite obvious he was ignoring us and going to continue his conversation. Not putting up with that, we went inside and asked the female staff member.

But it doesn't end there. The day we were leaving, we were told we only needed to walk 3mins to catch the boat which would take us to the airport. After walking for more than 5mins, we still could not find where we needed to go. We called the hotel, spoke to the male member of staff and asked if he could tell us once again how to find the pier where the airport boat comes in. He then proceeded to pretend he couldn't help us because he's English was no good, even though he's English had been perfectly fine up until then! We then asked to speak to the lady who worked there to which he replied, "There is no lady who works here." Oh really? Who had we'd been dealing with all those other times?? So we hung up, had to walk ALL the way to the main pier, dragging our huge bags with us (we would have got a taxi if we'd known!!), then there was a huge queue for tickets - all this made us nearly miss our plane!

To sum it up, this place is reasonable value as long as you don't mind rude staff who treat you badly for no apparent reason. You can't treat paying customer like that and expect to get away with it, which is why I'm writing this review to warn others. We will never be staying here again, nor will I be recommending it to anyone based on our treatment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank St3phieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca R, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Daer Sirs,
we are very sorry for what happened to you during your holiday in our hotel.
First of all he is not the manager ,and is new receptionist ,taken for few days becouse one of the older was ill.We are very sorry again ,and if one time you decide to come agian to our hotel you can speak with me and you get a discount on your stay .
Best ReEgards
The management
Gianluca Regazzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at La Meridiana in late October/early November for 3 nights. The Hotel was clean and tidy and the room was spacious. The staff were most welcoming and very helpful.
For us, the hotel was in an ideal location, away from the hustle and bustle of Venice but close enough to go to and fro using the superb waterbus links. The hotel is situated in a residential area about a ten minute walk from the Lido waterbus stop although you can take the bus (for two stops) if you want. We always walked as it was a nice stroll along the canal beside Via Lepanto.
The hotel doesn't serve evening meals although there are several good restaurants within ten minutes walk. We ate at a Trattoria in Via Filippo Grimani which was very good. If the weather is bad (as it was for us on one evening) the hotel can order takeaway pizza to be delivered for you. The continental breakfast was OK but nothing special. We opted out of room + breakfast
and ate breakfast on one day. We preferred to take coffee and pastry in the town by the Lido.
There is a small bar and also a lounge/TV room.
Our room was clean with a very large double bed. There was a fridge, safe, mini bar and multi-channel TV.
Our only disatisfaction with the hotel was that the shower in our room had very low water pressure (not much more than a trickle) but this was one small thing in an otherwise very pleasant stay.
We experienced the Alta Marea (high tides) in Venice during our stay. We had to purchase wellies while there as we couldn't get around otherwise but well worth the 15 euros as it all added to the fun and experience.
We used the waterbuses all the time as they ran frequently and late (all night). We purchased a 7 day ACTV travelcard for 50 euros. Well worth the money when you consider a one way trip is 7 euros. We travelled to Murano (glass island) and Burano (lace island) besides using it to get to and from Lido and all around Venice.
In summary, we loved our stay at La Meridiana and would certainly go back there again.

Room Tip: Our corner room was on the second floor and was quiet with windows to two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Venice in the end of September. And staying at La Meridiana after the whole day in Venice was indeed very relaxing and refreshing. Quiet area, very clean and tidy hotel with spacious rooms, with quite a "homely", "b&b" atmosphere and welcoming staff. If u r a sensitive sleeper - take your earpluggs as you might hear the sound of running water. I read some grunges about breakfast. There was no problem at all, with a variety of cereals, youghurts, fruit, hams, cheese, scrambled eggs etc etc. So unless you are used to champagne and caviar and strawberries for breakfast, you woun't stay hungry at La Meridiana. About getting there: we followed the instructions from TripAdvisor and took the Alilaguna Blue Line. But! If you are arriving in Marco Polo before five o-clock p.m. try to catch the Red line (goes fr the same spot at the Airport). The last Red Line boat leaves Marco Polo at about 6 o'clock, it only makes one or two stops on the way, and the best part - it delivers you almost "door-to door", about 3-5 minutes walk to/from the hotel. Whereas with the Blue Line you will have 20 min to half an hour (depending on your age and luggage) walk. The hotel has the times for the Red line. Otherwise, as we were there off-season, the whole stay both in Lido and at the hotel and in Venice was very very relaxing. One thing we found a bit unnecessary: the 48 hrs pass on vaporettos. No doubt, very useful if you plan to jump on - jump off a lot, or plan to go to Murano or other islands. But as it turns out, you only do it twice a day, from and to Lido. The price of a regular ticket is 7 euro, so if u are a bit short of money - walk :-)) Also, the toilets, there was no point buying a toilet card as there is an awful lot of nice coffee and wine bars where you can sit down for a bit and even use the facilities. Alltogether, great value for money. Will certainly consider staying there again. Lido and the hotel cures you from the claustrophobic feeling you might get in the tiny streets of the beautiful Venice :-). Go to Venice but stay on Lido, with its variety of restaurants and bars and pizzerias and nice walks. And don't forget the city tax you'll have to pay upon leaving the hotel (ca 4.50 euros/day). Little price to help save Venice from sinking. So spare some money for the last day, don't spend it all on souvenirs and Spritz :-)

Room Tip: Big balconies on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letterpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived in Venice Airport and as per directions given on Trip Advisor we took the Aguillana Blue Line to Lido with the directions being spot on. The journey was lovely and we arrived at Lido within 30 mins. We asked for directions to the Hotel once we got off the boat but didn't realise at this point that it would take around 20 mins to walk ( not good when you are pulling suitcases in searing heat !!) in hindsight I would have taken a taxi. The reception at check in was pleasant and the rooms were basic but big and clean. If you take a sharp left as you come out of the Hotel you will find the beach at the top of the road which was excellent(make sure you go on the public one and not the private one where you may get told to move !) To get back into the heart of Lido it is around 20 mins walk which can be a quite long after a day sight seeing in St.Marks Square although this may not bother other people. We purchased a 36 hour ticket for the Vaparetto and this allowed us to go anywhere on the Grand Canal which was great value with excellent places to visit.

The only down side of our stay was the mess we ended up in with the mossy bites ! They are really bad at the Hotel so a must is some insect repellant and some mossy bands round your ankles and wrists. Apart from that this was a pleasant stay and Venice is simply stunning !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Paul0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregazz1, Proprietario at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are very happy for your nice words ,and we hope you come back again in our house next year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have recently returned from a short break to Venice, where we had opted to stay on the island of Lido at the Albergho La Meridiana. We hadn’t had the best of journeys (a delay and nearly missed connection resulting in a 1 mile run through security and departures) and then BA managed to leave our luggage at Gatwick, so we were tired and frustrated by the time we arrived.
We had opted to get the Alilaguna Waterbus from Venice Airport to Lido and it certainly made for a pleasant, convenient and hassle free way of arriving – passing by the beautiful sights of Venice on its’ way. We actually got the Blue boat (Linea Blu) to Lido town and walked to the hotel (about 15-20 minutes leisurely stroll), but found out later that if you get the Red route (Linea Rossa) it terminates about 3 minutes away from the hotel – maybe the Hotel should tell its’ guests about this service on their website?! Anyway, having no suitcase with us, the walk was no hardship – in fact it helped us get our bearings and we earmarked a nice little restaurant on the way, to where we decided to return for dinner once we had freshened up (with the very limited toiletries given to us by the BA desk at the airport!). The cost of the Alilaguna is €25 return if bought online in advance and ticket collection at the airport was easy. Turn left as you come out of the terminal building and follow the covered walkway for about 5 minutes, where you will then find the ticket office to collect your tickets and the boats.
On arrival at the Hotel, the gentleman at the desk was very pleasant and welcoming and quickly directed us to our room. This was on the top floor (third and there is a lift) and was full of character with old beams on the ceiling and interestingly shaped windows. You could just about see the sea if you looked to the side out of the window! It was quite a good size and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was well fitted out and everything worked as it should. There was always plenty of hot water, whatever time of day we needed it. The in-room safe didn’t work and they were awaiting someone coming out to fix it, but reception offered to keep anything valuable in the main hotel safe for us, which was acceptable. The whole hotel was full of character as it was built around the 1930’s and in the main, well maintained and spotlessly clean.
We weren’t expecting much for breakfast the next morning given the other reports on here, but it was excellent (and included in the price of the stay). Each day there was fresh bread, croissants, cake, fruit, yogurt, cold meats, cheese, juices, cereals, scrambled egg and sausages and hot drinks. You can either eat in the restaurant or out in the garden at the front of the hotel. We also asked for a coffee one evening after we returned from a day out and again, the staff were very helpful. There are no facilities in the rooms for making drinks, but there is a small fridge for keeping cold drinks in if you need it.
The lady who covers reception during the day is also very helpful. She made phone calls for us to chase up the delivery of our delayed luggage and kept us updated.
You need to make sure that you take insect repellent with you! We hadn’t thought it would be a problem so early in the summer, but we got eaten - especially while sat in the restaurants under the lights!!!
Internet access – this is shown as being free on the Hotel website. In fact, only the first 15 minutes is free – something that I think they need to update.
The main Lido beach is only about a 2-3 minute walk from the Hotel. It wasn’t much to write home about while we were there, but it was before the start of the main season and there were diggers etc there, trying to clean it up before the main influx of visitors, so maybe we didn’t get the best impression of it. Along the whole length of Lido though, is a tree lined road running alongside the beach, where you can have a pleasant walk. There are a few café bars along this route, two of which are minutes away from the hotel. The one to the left as you come down the road from the Hotel towards the beach, was modern, but always seemed to be playing loud techo music. On the other hand, the one about 50m to the right was very pleasant with comfy seating and ridiculously cheap coffee, drinks and snacks by Venice standards!
Getting about – Staying on Lido was definitely the best decision we had made! The Hotels are half the price of those on Venice Island and it only takes 10-20 minutes by Vaporetto / waterbus (depending on which number you get) across to St Marks’ Square. It was a most enjoyable and exciting journey as the sights are amazing as you are sailing across and it was marvellous to escape the crowds by going back to Lido after a tiring day. We had bought a three day pass for the ACTV waterbuses (again in advance and online) and collected the tickets from a machine at the Lido Vaporetti stop. It saved us a fortune! You are able to do quite a lot of sightseeing from the waterbuses – for example the no 1 from Lido not only goes across to St Marks’, but carries on along the whole length of the Grand Canal. Print yourself a map of all the different waterbus routes before you go so that you can plan what you want to see. Another idea for a fantastic day out is to get a vaporetto to Punta Sabbioni direct from Lido Town (I think it was the no.14 but I’m not certain). From here you can either get a bus to the resort of Lido di Jesolo or change onto another vaporetto (I think the no.12) and travel back to Venice island stopping off at Burano Island with its’ unbelievably leaning bell tower and beautifully coloured houses and canals. It is famous for lace making and then also stop off at Murano, which is well known for glass making – both beautiful little islands and well worth the stops.
Venice itself, is of course beautiful! Try to find out which days have the least number of cruise ships moored at the cruise terminals when you are planning your trip as this makes a massive difference to the number of people in town! Eating and drinking is extortionately expensive in the main tourist areas, but you only have to go down some of the little side canals and alleys and it is a fraction of the price.
In summary, I can’t really think of any negatives for staying at La Meridiana other than the minor issues that I have already mentioned. For a 3* Hotel, I would rate it as excellent. Be aware though that when you check out, you will have a ‘city tax’ to pay which is part of the Italian Government’s austerity measures. This is currently set at €2.20 per person per night, so can add up. We hadn’t been told about this before we went. If you have a problem walking the 15-20 minutes each time you go out, then maybe it isn’t the right Hotel for you, but we found it a pleasant walk along the little canals and would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank jocd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

i booked this very pretty looking hotel on the lido part of venice, for myself and partner on our first trip to venice,.the hotel turned out to be great, it looked very nice from the outside, with its beautiful garden. the rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff were friendly, polite and helpful at all times. we slept soundly each night and went down to a nice breakfast each morning. the hotel is situated in a delightful part of the lido, that is about 15 to 20 minute walk from the water bus , that takes you right in to the centre of venice on the grand canal. the walk to and from the hotel to the water bus was very pleasant , passing by some lovely streets and canals. there are nice restaurants and cafes near by, if you want to eat locally. the hotel more than lived up to my expectations, and i would certainly recommend it to family and friends, or to any one that wants a peaceful stay in what is a very nice part of venice. ps.. if you have not been to venice yet, GO' , its an amazing place to visit, i am longing to go back soon.

Room Tip: room over looking front garden is stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petit Palais
Hotel Petit Palais
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Lepanto 45, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Meridiana is situated in the worldly centre of the Venice Lido . You can reach St. Mark's square, Venice centre, in 20 minutes by boat.Also Hotel La Meridiana is 100 mt from the beach and only 500 mt from Venice congress palace and Film Festival Palace. Many sports are available on Lido island.You can book your holiday in this cheap Venice Hotel ; the Hotel La Meridiana is open all year long.Also you can rent bicycles to go around Venice Lido and visit the famous Golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo La Meridiana Venice
Albergo La Meridiana Hotel Venice
Hotel La Meridiana Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing