We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Up to the mark of an an international 5 star hotel in every aspect of accommodation.
Buffet breakfast was excellent
Resort island yet serviced by private shuttle service every half hour to st marks square
Hotel decorated in the moorish style - colorful and pleasant and very comfortable
Rooms were large with a small corner for reading
Bathroom well equipped with all the toiletries.
Every night bed was turned down with a piece of chocolate and information on the following day's weather.
We were there for a conference - highly recommended for business and pleasure and honeymoon,
Overall - excellent!

Room Tip: If Anyone sourcing for a 5 star hotel in venice - I highly recommend this one.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 936 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

What started as a lovely water taxi into the secluded landing dock, being met at reception, and given a great sea view room - was unfortunately spoilt by real ineptitude in the team running it.

The food was appalling and vastly overpriced. The evening meal in the restaurant cost over €200 (included €40 wine) for what essentially was bland, textureless courses that you'd expect from a fast food joint. The staff didn't even know what half of it was. It was so bad, that we cut the meal short, got the bill and left. (and we weren't the only ones).

Service generally was also terrible. Waiters who got the wrong orders at lunch and muttered under their breath. No one even offering to give us cutlery or tea / coffee at the breakfast buffet (which was always cold or luke warm). I had to ask them to fix the wi-fi in my room 4 times before someone bothered to look at it. Mostly calling "guest services" or "reception" from the room ended up in the phone ringing with no one bothering to answer, even at different times of day.

A real shambles. As I said - a great location and room but this hotel is badly run, over-priced, and unfortunately one to avoid.

Room Tip: Sea View deluxe rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A special birthday surprise for the wifes 60th,arriving by private motor launch from airport,a wonderful welcome by the Concierge,prompt service and delivery of cases to a beautiful luxury room.
Everything about the hotel oozed comfort and luxury and was not disappointed,
Complimentary launch to St Marks Square and return daily every half hour and so convenient,great to just relax in the evening away from the hubbub of the main land Venice...only downer was that a coffee each for 4 people was Euro 48.00 we thought even for Venice and not in main square this was expensive.
But all in all the whole experience was wonderful...the hotel most definately the ideal place on the Lido for us

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Excelsior

The Excelsior is an old fashioned 5 star hotel on Venice Lido, with old fashioned values & old fashioned ideas of service. The only problem is the old fashioned attitude to the 21st century. During our 5 day stay & as a business man enjoying a late summer break, it was virtually impossible during the first 3 days to log into the so called 'free wi-fi' in the room. How a 5 star hotel in 2013 anywhere in the world can't get consistent internet access is beyond my understanding & was a constant annoyance.The English speaking TV stations for Brits were BBC World only & then loads of Middle eastern channels. The rooms are very spacious, but lack sufficient plugs & the bathroom in a 5 star should have better lighting & a heated shaving mirror.

We returned to our room after yet another wonderful day in Venice City with no towels in our bathroom & after requesting some, we had to call an hour later & request them again.

On the plus side, the staff were great, the breakfast buffet excellent & the free half hour motor launch service to & from Venice brilliant. The hotel's access right onto the beach was wonderful, however charging €100 a day for a cabana with sun beds (there are no other sun beds on the beach) is a liberty considering the hotel cost.

Another downside are the in-hotel prices especially in the bar - 4 coffees & a small glass of port for €48 is outrageous!



Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank jeffnorthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Building very palatial, nice beach, room large comfortable and clean, staff helpful, but hotel facilities poor. No clock/alarm in room, no ironing board in room, no iron in room, Wi-Fi internet very slow & kept dropping out, computers in business centre either not working or v. slow, no hair dryer in room, average breakfast just serve-yourself buffet style (cold scrambled eggs, orange juice not freshly squeezed) not worth 30 euros, no coffee/tea making facilities in room, only allowed one room key. Area around hotel dead.

We found Santa Maria Elisabetta, a lively bustling pleasant area 15 minutes walk away where all the shops hotels & restaurants are, and also a waterbus station for convenient public transport. Next time we will stay in one of the hotels in that area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Assoity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was magnificent. It appears we were upgraded. Room with a great view. In terms of rooms it was a perfect ten. A couple of things were disappointing. The staff were extremely unfriendly, they just never smiled, the cost of food was extremely pricy and the fact that they charge to take the water taxi to Venice over the dinner hour is insane. But it was nice to be in such a quiet location only 15 minutes away from Venice. They are VERY accommodating at the front desk but everything had a very high price attached to it. One thing that was worth paying for was having the hotel arrange our transportation from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very lovely, but it seams that it is needing a little bit of renovation. At least compare to a prices that are high.
Hotel rooms are nice size, but as I can see, they were trying to charge us with drinks that we did not order/drink. So, be carefull before paying.

Great thing is every 30 min hotel boat that goes to Venece.

Thank MaksimirDuda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
370 reviews
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $295 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing