We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was magnificent. It appears we were upgraded. Room with a great view. In terms of rooms it was a perfect ten. A couple of things were disappointing. The staff were extremely unfriendly, they just never smiled, the cost of food was extremely pricy and the fact that they charge to take the water taxi to Venice over the dinner hour is insane. But it was nice to be in such a quiet location only 15 minutes away from Venice. They are VERY accommodating at the front desk but everything had a very high price attached to it. One thing that was worth paying for was having the hotel arrange our transportation from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 975 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very lovely, but it seams that it is needing a little bit of renovation. At least compare to a prices that are high.
Hotel rooms are nice size, but as I can see, they were trying to charge us with drinks that we did not order/drink. So, be carefull before paying.

Great thing is every 30 min hotel boat that goes to Venece.

Thank MaksimirDuda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Excelsior for many years and in a strange way one of the nicest things about it is that very little changes. It's like stepping back in time. However, improvements ARE being made such as some rooms having bathrooms updated with modern showers (baths having been removed) and a brand new gym with up to date equipment. If I have any complaints it is the outrageous price of food and drink, the former being of very average quality.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGENT-DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days from 8th Sept, we booked via Great Escapes. Before going we found out that the swimming pool would not be open due to the structures built around it for the film festival, because of this the hotel upgraded us to a seaview with balcony, they also let us have a Cabana on the 2nd row F.O.C. when needed, which we thought very fair. Having read some pretty poor reports on Tripadvisor we arrived with some trepidation, but we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful at all times, the room was immaculate and the breakfast was good.We dined twice in the restaurant and one of the meals was superb, the other was good.
Yes this place was expensive but just think of their expenses, running 3 beautiful boats as courtesy shuttle, some 10 people running the beach operation, which incidentally is kept pristine. Plus all their other sky high overheads. Its location is superb, its so nice to get away from the madness of Venice and have a couple of days on the beach. I certainly wouldn't recommend staying on the Lido just before or after the Film Festival. We found that some restaurants weren't even open just after, And there is an awful lot of work going on taking all the structures down. All in all I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: seaview with balcony, but don't go just after or just before the Film Festival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013 and were impressed from the beginning. The Excelsior is not in Venice but on the island of Lido just off the shore of Venice. The hotel ran a complimentary water taxi service to St Marks Square every half hour for those who wanted to visit. Arriving at the hotel, your luggage is whisked away later to be found in your room. The entrance is a red carpet stairway to the reception area where the registration clerks were very professional friendly and helpful. We ate a very good lunch on the terrace and were waited on by a great wait staff. Our interaction with the entire staff made you feel like a special guest. They have a beautiful beach were we rented a cabana. The beach was not crowded and the few private venders that came by added some charm and were polite and respectful. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and by typical hotel room standards it was almost a suite. The only negative thing about the room is that the air conditioner never seemed to cool the room enough for us, but then we were looking for 60 degrees F (15.5 C). We asked for a fan and found a large floor fan in our room when we returned. That made the difference. We ordered ice from room service and it was only 2 minutes before it arrived. My wife wanted a pedicure but their salon was closed, so the concierge called in someone to do it. They were preparing for the Film Festival while we were there and had a lot of construction on the beach, but it never interfered with our stay. I could say a lot more but you get the idea, "We like it!"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked our stay in August 2013 and accepted that a 5 star hotel rate of 527 euro for a classic sea facing room is the best rate as offered, only to find out that our friends booked standard rooms at 272 euro facing Venice, on arrival we got our room on the 5th floor sea facing with no balcony, our friends got an upgrade at no extra cost - good for them -to a classic room on the 3rd floor with a balcony, when we requested a room with a bolcony we were told sorry all booked, my question then was, should you not allocated sea facing rooms with balconys to clients paying full price.
Very unhappy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed twice - most recently on 9th Sept 2013. We had a reasonably priced stay in this 5 star hotel and it gives value for money. The staff are great. It's a superb location, away from the bustle and noise of Venice but with a convenient and free motor launch shuttle into and from St Marks Square making you feel like a star (the hotel has hosted celebrities and film stars from the 20's through to the current times). The rooms are big and comfortable in a 'Moorish' style. Dinner on the terrace is a luxury, directly overlooking the Adriatic and with a piano played in the background. This is our favourite hotel in Venice and we will repeat book it for future trips!

Room Tip: Search the net to get the best price and a higher floor will afford an even better view. The lifts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Venezia
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
939 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
861 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Clemente Palace Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $319 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing