We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star all the Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013 and were impressed from the beginning. The Excelsior is not in Venice but on the island of Lido just off the shore of Venice. The hotel ran a complimentary water taxi service to St Marks Square every half hour for those who wanted to visit. Arriving at the hotel, your luggage is whisked away later to be found in your room. The entrance is a red carpet stairway to the reception area where the registration clerks were very professional friendly and helpful. We ate a very good lunch on the terrace and were waited on by a great wait staff. Our interaction with the entire staff made you feel like a special guest. They have a beautiful beach were we rented a cabana. The beach was not crowded and the few private venders that came by added some charm and were polite and respectful. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and by typical hotel room standards it was almost a suite. The only negative thing about the room is that the air conditioner never seemed to cool the room enough for us, but then we were looking for 60 degrees F (15.5 C). We asked for a fan and found a large floor fan in our room when we returned. That made the difference. We ordered ice from room service and it was only 2 minutes before it arrived. My wife wanted a pedicure but their salon was closed, so the concierge called in someone to do it. They were preparing for the Film Festival while we were there and had a lot of construction on the beach, but it never interfered with our stay. I could say a lot more but you get the idea, "We like it!"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 971 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked our stay in August 2013 and accepted that a 5 star hotel rate of 527 euro for a classic sea facing room is the best rate as offered, only to find out that our friends booked standard rooms at 272 euro facing Venice, on arrival we got our room on the 5th floor sea facing with no balcony, our friends got an upgrade at no extra cost - good for them -to a classic room on the 3rd floor with a balcony, when we requested a room with a bolcony we were told sorry all booked, my question then was, should you not allocated sea facing rooms with balconys to clients paying full price.
Very unhappy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed twice - most recently on 9th Sept 2013. We had a reasonably priced stay in this 5 star hotel and it gives value for money. The staff are great. It's a superb location, away from the bustle and noise of Venice but with a convenient and free motor launch shuttle into and from St Marks Square making you feel like a star (the hotel has hosted celebrities and film stars from the 20's through to the current times). The rooms are big and comfortable in a 'Moorish' style. Dinner on the terrace is a luxury, directly overlooking the Adriatic and with a piano played in the background. This is our favourite hotel in Venice and we will repeat book it for future trips!

Room Tip: Search the net to get the best price and a higher floor will afford an even better view. The lifts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We received a warm welcome from the lovely Sara (Customer Relations) who took us for a quick tour around the hotel and then on to our spacious and comfortable room. We are having a wonderful time here at the Excelsior. We usually stay at the Bauer (San Marco) but this makes a refreshing change with the beach on your doorstep. We can simply pop over to Venice (San Marco) on the courtesy boats which are free of charge and run every 30 mins......perfect!!,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Excelsior is a first class hotel both in terms of its accomodation and a marvelous beach - possibily the best I ever been to in Europe - fantastic space, clean beautifully clear water. Somewhat strange is the existence of Cabanas stretching the entire length of the beach instead of normal chairs and umbrellas. Be warned that these are expensive to rent each day and so must be factored into the daily cost of the room. However the highlight of our stay was the quality of the staff. Sara in Guest Services was an outstanding professional who dealt with any issues swiftly, courteously and with a fabulous smile. Given the disruption of the Venice Film Festival she ensured that any inconvenience was countered with an alternative. The concierges too were outstanding, nothing too much trouble and full of helpful advice. The design of the hotel both in terms of public spaces, corridors and rooms are stylish without being garish. Will I go back - absolutely! My only criticism is a somewhat chaotic breakfast service when the hotel was full. However the staff there were quick to respond when this was pointed out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you decide to stay at the Lido (thus experiencing a totally different Venice experience), this is the place to choose.

I loved being right on the (very well kept) beach.

Please be aware that the trip to the Venice centre is quite long, and public transportation is not easily accessible (there is a free hotel shuttle, however) -- this hotel is ideal if you just want to relax, but it is not convenient if you plan to visit Venice's attractions!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Mostly ordinary people stay here and it is an impressive if delapidated building, but the service is bad and everything is overpriced. This was the sixth 5 star hotel we stayed at after a two week tour and was easily the worst. As we checked in to our suite, a charming old American was saying that he had been coming there for 20 years but now it had gone down with basic facilitIes missing and gross overcharging, he was sadly too polite to complain while he was there so we did it for him. No shampoo no toilet rolls, bathrobes walking off, charged for drinks not had, rude waiters, no iron and no kettle, the excuse being that it was against fire regulations, I told one of several fawning managers that this was a lie and they admitted it - all complaints were addressed but too little too late. The beach cabana at 170 euros was actually okay with a sea view, but God only knows why they charge 120 euros for cabins with no view - yes I do know - idiots will actually pay for them - Emperor's new clothes syndrome. Having to tell people how to run a hotel is embarrasing and spoilt our holiday, we ate out after being fraudulently ripped off at lunch in spite of promises to wine and dine us at their expense etc I pointed out that it was not the cash but the basic lack of profesionalism. most people are to frightened to complain. We slated them and walked never to return. The authorities will be contacting them about certian illegal infringmenets of EU law regarding weights and measures, pricing, lack of publicly obligatorily displayed information and basic lies about fire regulations etc.

Room Tip: front view rooms are great but the lack of service spoils the day, you do not want to complain when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quattro Fontane Hotel
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
568 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $303 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing