We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, but not a great one.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Hotel has a few good points;
The Excelsior is in a superb location, enabling you to get away from the constant hustle and bustle of the main island of Venice. Having stayed in Venice before, i wanted a quieter option, and the Excelsior gives you that.
We had a city view on the 6th floor, and not a sea view. You must remember how far you are away from the city however...
Using the free hotel shuttle boat from the pier near St Marks square is very handy, and gives you a romantic view of the city every time you leave or approach it. It's quite fun too.
Restaurant food in the evenings was of the highest quality.


Some of the staff are a little cold, inattentive even to guests that might want something. You should never see staff arguing in public areas of a hotel, that is just unprofessional, and causes an atmosphere of stress which was exactly the kind of thing i was trying to get away from. This happened twice during our stay.

The room was fine, charming even, but a new flat screen TV does not make a room 'modernised'.
Bed was comfy, shower was ok but you got the occasional freeze/burn when it felt like it.

The use of the cabins on the beach is not included in the lofty price per night, which is a harsh to say the least for a hotel with a private beach. Especially when you find out the price.

Other things to note; Well as i said before, i do not feel that i got good value for money overall. It is expensive for what you get, and the lack of detail denies it from being a real 5 star hotel.

Attitude and helpfulness of the staff varies greatly. (for the record, bar, restaurant, concierge and shuttle captains were superb, housekeeping and other front of house staff not so good).
Wifi was poor, almost unusable in the room and anywhere outside the main lounge.
TV channels on offer seem to be news, news or news in various languages.
Minibar was expensive, limited and not all that cold.
There is only one restaurant, excellent food but expensive. The only other alternative were limited and pricey bar snacks ( €21 for a club sandwich €10 for a small bottle of beer ). Eateries on the island are plentiful though.
Housekeeping was a bit random- some days we would get two bath towels, other days just one? After asking for a late checkout, housekeeping staff kept on hurrying us along. Maybe reception had not informed them of the change, but the attitude was not friendly.
Breakfast was tasty, but the hot buffet items were warm, not hot. The breakfast restaurant room, at beach level, also seemed a bit out of keeping for a 5 star hotel.

I think it speaks volumes that the hotel was not anywhere close to being full.

So in summary, it was an average experience, not a great one, and and such, disappointing. I didn't want a modern hotel, but the charm, decor and location cannot make up for the fact that it is lacking in many areas. I didnt want to complain at checkout because i didnt want the stress, but on reflection i probably should have asked for some of my money back.

It did not however, spoil our holiday. Venice is quite magical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrkfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 973 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lovely hotel. Great location on the Lido. Boat service to St Marco in Venice excellent. Shame that the hotel seems to have contacted out maintenance and operation of its beach cabins. To be asked, as a guest of the hotel, to pay Euros 240 for a beach cabin in the rank nearest the sea creates a bad taste.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Mr Boughton,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback; we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our property and especially our complimentary private boat experience. We are sorry to read that you did not have the chance to reserve our cabanas, as they are usually part of the Excelsior experience.

At the same time, please kindly note that - reserving through our web-site - it is possible to enjoy very special rates for renting one of our cabanas, instead of paying the official rates; our Internet-only advance purchase rate for a cabana is starting from 90.00 Euro.
In addition to this, we have double-checked with our Beach Office and - as per our standard - different cabana categories have been proposed to your kind attention, so that it could be possible for you to choose your preferred one, available also at a lower rate than the one you kindly indicated in your feedback.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to Venice Lido and in the meantime remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here from 1-6 June 2013. Disappointing for sure. The Hotel could offer so much more. We had a reasonably sized room which was dated as was much of the furniture in the Hotel. Part of our holiday deal was that we could have a free upgrade if there was room. However, despite the Hotel only being one third full, this was not an option apparently. The swimming pool area is dated with cracked tiles. The breakfast was cold and the staff were very unfriendly. The day we were leaving, we asked if we could keep the room on for a couple of hours or have another room to shower in before out flight. We were told that there were no rooms available and our only option was to use the showers and changing rooms by the pool. These are communal public showers! All in all, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 311ruth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed 28/5/13 - 1/6/13,couple with 5 year old. Thoroughly enjoyed our choice to stay on the Lido, peace and quiet and sea views and a paddle and sandcastles. Boat service to St. Marks excellent and very enjoyable, lovely approaching Venice by sea and nice to retreat from the hurly burly across the waves at the end of the day. First visit but can see has been extensively refurbished and whole place looks very fresh and clean. Some of the revamp looks to have taken a cheaper option but on the whole a very comfortable place.
The only carp i have is with the lack of real service one might expect from a 5 star establishment. I had booked last october as soon as booking opened and wanted a Venice facing balcony room on 6/7 floor, advised was our anniversary .... ok was reply but cant guarentee ( why not ? ). When we arrived no balcony room, after lot of umming and ahhing took a "terrace" sea view room instead ( apparently Venice facing balconies are little more than decorative ) when we returned at 2o/c the room was not ready, when we returned at 5pm after visitng Venice the room was still not available, we were parked in the reception for 15 mins and then given the key . If it was my 5 star hotel i would have been profoundly sorry and offered my guests a drink whilst they waited (at the very least !! ). our apology felt perfunctory and not 5 star. There were a few other niggly little things that irritated us, small matters of detail that were not attended to with any sort of gusto ( ie 2 wardrobes with 3 clothes hangers between them - 2 hours to supply 4 more !! had to go and get sufficient in the end !! ). A shame.
I would on the whole recommend the Hotel and suggest that a sea view terrace would be the best choice. Our terrace had a table and chairs and was ideal for us to relax on when our little boy went to bed. It was very quiet and peaceful and the sandy beach was very pleasant and enjoyable at the end of the day. The mini bar is appallingly expensive so ensure you take supplies for your cravings, the bar is also pricey although you get decent nibbles and some live music.Breakfst is taken in a rather spartan enviroment, acceptable but a little "cold", feels as if the refurb budget was curtailed a bit for this area. The boat service worked well and the vessels are lovely, our little boy enjoyed it immensely. We thoroughlly enjoyed the location choice and our room, just disappointed that it isnt five star service. Have stayed in other comparably rated hotels and little touches like a bottle of cava or fruit/chocolates in room on arrival were the norm. And there is that approach you respect when a query or request is given genuine urgency and attention, didn't get that here.

Room Tip: venice view rooms 6th floor have a balcony to view from, not sit on. view not that impressive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Since we were here last autumn the hotel has undergone a considerable refurbishment. Reception has moved from the left of the entrance to the right so that It is continuous with the concierge, a considerable improvement. Gone are the massive photographs in the main salon of film and stage celebrities of the past. One can now see the interesting architecture much better, but some miss the nostalgia. There is lots of new carpeting and many rooms have been spruced up. The two lifts have been completely renovated.
The bathroom in our room was super, with a powerful over-bath shower. Getting into the bath with half of the side covered with a fixed glass shower screen and nothing to hold onto is tricky for the athletically challenged. British 'elf & safety would have a fit.
The restaurants are still good. The food in the main restaurant looks fine but is not always as good as it looks, and expensive. Service is splendid, although a well trained waiter should not have to ask who ordered which. Years ago a waiter explained to us that traditionally they wrote an insulting note on their pad, like 'for nasty short fat woman', as a form of revenge.
The Tavernetta restaurant almost opposite the hotel entrance is still going strong, and is now at the top of some reviews of Lido eating places. If, like us you are a prosecco buff, this is the place. Ottavio, head waiter, sommelier, member of the family etc, this year won a national sommelier of the year award, so really knows his wines. They are also well known for their Tuscan beef.
A few points: despite hotel claims to the opposite, wifi is usually completely absent or too weak to work. When it does connect, it often drops you altogether. There is a wired Internet socket in the rooms. Apparently the hotel is trying to improve things, but until then, bring your laptop rather than your ipad. There is a public PC on the ground floor, which can only be used while standing (at least that limits the time people can hog it).
Another minus point that affects many larger hotels, is that it can be a bit taken over by conferences in May and again in September, and the delegates are different from the other hotel guests. But they must be necessary to keep hotels in business.
We sometimes wonder if your more critical reviewers are writing about the same hotel. We have always found the staff very polite, helpful and cheerful, which is all one needs from staff; we don’t expect them as friends. Many remember us from past visits and really welcome us. The rooms have always been scrupulously clean, and this time we told the concierge that our hand-basins were not draining properly, and a plumber arrived within the hour.
A minor annoyance is that the ATM just opposite the hotel has gone for good, and the nearest one is quite a long walk away.
Another is that at very high tide, the hotel shuttle boat cannot get under the nearby bridge, and one has to walk to the Casino water bus pier to catch it, quite a long way. Shame there isn't a minibus from the hotel.
Weather in Europe seems totally unpredictable these days, and a weird Venetian law forbids heating in hotels after 15 April, so bring a jumper, up until at least June and don’t blame the hotel. Presumably, like everything these days, small expenditures are cut. Instead of the welcoming bowl of fruit, there are now a few biscuits. There is still turn-down, but no sweeties. O tempora
In summary, still the best hotel on the Lido with a lovely beach, ideal for the nostalgia minded. Not quite the standard of the really posh ones in Venice, but less expensive. You gets what you pays for.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms with sea view and terrace on 6th floor ideal for sunbathing, thus saving renting an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Mr Joe Bill,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback and we are pleased that you in general enjoyed your recent stay at our Resort.

Please, should you wish to keep in touch with us, do not hesitate to join our Facebook fan-page or periodically check our web-site, where we publish our relevant news.

Hoping to welcome you back soon to Venice Lido, we thank you again and remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

So disappointed. This hotel has so much history and from the front looks so grand. But in reality it's old fashioned, cold, with no atmosphere and a boat ride away from Venice!! Our room was large but old fashioned, and if you crammed your neck you could see the beach. Breakfast was very basic. Customer service was non existent and the free boat over to Venice was often packed and you sometimes had to walk 10 mins away to get it due to the tides. The pool hadn't been used for years, it was full of mould and leaves the whole place looked like it was about to close.

This was an expensive hotel, and I wouldn't rate it more than a 2 star. Would definitely not stay here again. Oh and there is really nothing to see or do on the Lido, so go stay in Venice!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank MrandMrsM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback; we are sorry to read your comments concerning your stay in September 2012, as we don't feel that "old fashioned, cold" and "no atmosphere" are terms which correctly suit our Resort.
The Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900, an exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, considered for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around our Guests.

We are pleased to inform you that during Winter 2012-2013 our Resort undertook strong renovation works, promising the best in terms of comfort, in a refreshed and charming ambiance. New carpets with warm and welcoming colors, restoration of unique Excelsior’s style tapestries, replacement of bathtubs with large showers, most of them also suitable for two people, updated furniture: everything has been realized caring and paying maximum respect to the unique Moorish style of the Resort.

In addition to this, maximum attention has been paid to hotel’s technical features, caring of travelers’ needs who wish to keep in touch with the rest of the world: all accommodations feature new plasma TVs with IPTV system, carrying many web applications; a new broadband WIFI connection has been installed – free of charge to Hotel’s guests – and extended to the Excelsior Beach, providing service coverage while enjoying outdoor relaxing time.

Please also note that our swimming pool is regularly used by our Guests every day, and it is subject to attentive hygienical controls by our Staff.

We hope, therefore, to have the chance to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Excelsior, and demonstrate you our new redesigned style, surrounded by our attentive service.
Thanking for your kind attention, we remain at complete disposal for any further assistance and send our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Ideally located. Old Luxury Hotel tastefully refurbished. Big rooms (Grand deluxe). Big bathroom but small uncomfortable shower in the bathtub, although there is plenty of floor space to install a luxurious shower. Excellent breakfast. Nice pool and private beach areas.

There is a 15 min. boat shuttle service offered by the Hotel; every hour to and from Piazza San Marco until 23:30. Private Taxi boats cost € 145 from the Passenger Pier Terminal (Cruise ships) to the Hotel and € 90 from the Hotel to the Railroad Station; taxi boats take at least 4 passengers and probably more.

The Hotel is ideal for a combining visiting Venice and recreation at the pool or beach. The weak point is the Service in all areas including the Front desk, housekeeping and the Restaurant. For 24 hours we had no light in the bathroom. Of two main elevators one did not work for 48 hours!! Despite complaining twice, the floor in the room was not clean. Service at breakfast is slow and disorganized. At the pool the attendants refused to bring umbrellas, “maybe tomorrow” (there were none either), and this despite the fact that they spent more time talking to each other than caring for their guests. Nobody smiles, one feels being an intruder.

Because of the beautiful Hotel, comfortable rooms and ideal location we will return. By visiting Venice you must accept the fact that is overrun by tourists, very expensive but absolutely gorgeous and unique.

Room Tip: Grand deluxe rooms with balcony facing the sea, I believe the floor level is of no importance, no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manon423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior Venice, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for have shared your thoughts with us, and we are sorry to read that your stay was partially disturbed by an unlucky combination of negative points. We deeply apologize if you feel that our service – usually appreciated for the attention and care given to our Guests – did not completely satisfy you during your recent stay.

As you correctly highlighted, one of the main elevators was not available for some hours because of maintenance controls – we apologize for this, but works were due to guarantee, as always, the top in terms of safety to our Guests. Safety is one of our top priority.

Your observations have been shared with our Managers and Staff and have been discussed, as observations allow us to better improve our service and the attention to our Guests.
Please kindly consider what you pointed out as an unusual situation, and not our routine; we are happy to know that you will choose our property again and that we will have the chance to welcome you back again, and demonstrate the effective level of our legendary Hotel Excelsior.
Thanking in advance for your kind attention, we remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Hotel Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
852 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $313 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing