We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and Arrogant Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very recently we stayed in this Lido hotel. We were with an Insight tour group---please note the use of the word “group” as opposed to a couple.
To say we were annoyed at the arrogance, actually closer to downright rudeness, as displayed by the staff we interacted with is an understatement.
Our room was adequate though we had a chair that was so worn and tatty it had holes in the upholstery and for our first night we had no towels and we were too tired to request them to be brought up.
The staff who were among the worst “offenders” were 3, I repeat 3 different Concierges. There were no smiles or any sort of welcoming body language and indeed when we cheerily bade a “Buon giorno!” albeit with an Australian accent we both thought the concierge concerned was deaf. He ignored us!! Consequently we spoke in much louder voices than normal. The first 2 concierges that we dealt with did what was asked of them with efficiency but their arrogant attitude instantly made our hackles rise. But the top prize is equally shared by the last Concierge we had the misfortune to ask a question of and the breakfast Maître D'.The last morning we were in the hotel these 2 men made very sure we would write this negative review.
Man 1----As stated earlier we were travelling as a group and as such we had become friends.We came down to breakfast and 8 of us put 2 tables together so we could enjoy a last minute chat and meal.The Maître D' was outraged for some unknown reason and when we left the breakfast room was pacing up and down in the corridor outside. So we called out a greeting not once but 3 times and finally on the third time he begrudgingly answered. It was not as if there was a full house and we were taking up room in any way or causing inconvenience to the other 4 diners.
Man 2----As this hotel is very easy to “get lost” in we weren’t sure that we were on the right path to catch our private water taxi to Venice. We ventured up to the Concierges’ desk and again we bade a cheery greeting and queried whether we were in the right spot. A tall grey-haired,blue eyed man frostily answered with one word “yes”, no smile, no greeting,no farewell just “yes”. His attitude was “ How could you possibly not know where the “rank” was--- stupid people".
The lady at the main desk on the day we arrived was great, the porter at the taxi landing was great and the maid who serviced our room was also but the wait-staff mirrored their supervisor’s attitude in that they appeared to hate their tasks.They looked downright miserable.
If we had encountered this level of rudeness in Venice elsewhere we would have assumed this is the Venetian way but no------this establishment was the exception.
Here in Australia staff who work in the hospitality/tourism industry do so because they enjoy working with people. If you don’t then work elsewhere!!
We will NOT be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank cheryld16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 971 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Loved the decor and size of the room. Boat shuttle nice extra. Wonderfull breakfast. Wouldnt expect more! Quality and price combination is perfect..Area is quite quiet around so dont expect any action. Very few places to dine. We would stay central before last shuttle leaves..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarunasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We needed a hotel for 2 nights after our drive from the uk to venice before a greek cruise. Venice prices seemed out of this world for what we wanted in terms of quality etc. having not been before we wanted to make the most of our stopover and be close to the centre whereas my parents who were with us and had been before were not bothered. Found a great deal and had 2 deluxe rooms venice view - ours with cot in was the biggest - huge _ yes the rooms are abit dated ie old hairdryer etc but clean and fabric all over walls etc looked classic! Food prices are just as high as venice so only room rate seems better value by staying on lido but the boat service etc was great as to was dinner in the restaurant and breakfast!

Would go again and made our holiday start even earlier :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

the hotel is situated on the lido, about 15min by boat from the sightseeing centre. the hotel offers a boat to the city every hour. nice transfer! until late in the evening (23.30). the staff is mostly friendly, but as usual in Venice, do not expect more. our room way very big! you have a safe and a old hairdryer (looks like one from 1852), big cuboards, TV and enough chairs. the bathroom is a little small compared to the other space you have, but still enough ;-)
not that clean I have to say. the bathrobe had still some hairs of the predecessor guest! and the furniture (pillows, cover) had spots. not really what we would expect from a 5*!
overall a nice stay, good transfer, buffet is nice and enough in the morning. I can recommend the hotel for a short stay. (we stayed three nights)

Room Tip: if you don't have a tranfser, take the boat to "lido". there you have to take a bus (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexico1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Firstly, if you are after a cheap Venice break well maybe try Prague instead! This place (Venice) is not cheap.

This hotel is very nice. It has a stately atmosphere, and was obviously the place to stay some time ago. It is a little tired now but that adds to the charm, and the prices are not 5* so the odd thing here and there can be forgiven. We found the service good, no complaints. The water taxi from the Hotel is very good, In summer runs every 30 mins, in Winter every hour. The trip takes between 10 and 25 minutes depending on how fast the boat driver wants to go!

The beach is nice (we went in Oct) so a little cold. We had a lovely lunch in the hotel. On the menu it seemed expensive but 2 sandwiches turned up the size of a main meal. It is good value.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What an experience. As part of a Coach tour we spent to nights in this hotel before getting to the hotel there was some disappoinment we were not in the proximity of St. Marks Square but in fact on a fairly long boat trip to this locality but in the end it didn't matter. In fact it may have been a bonus. The hotel is to die for. Our room was heaven. Delicate lattice pattern doors, hughe room with sumptuious bed, fabulous view out to beach and the never ending rows the of beach tents which provide chaning and security for the beach goers. Everything about this hotel is excellent. The facilities, food, service, location, staff, the lot. I am glad I wasn't paying, although I was indirectly in the tour cost but clearly the coach tours get a very good rate.We boated by speed boat to St. Marks Sq. later and enjoyed all it has to offer yet could get away from the crowds in our own luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The Brady Bunch set would be modern art in this shrine to mint green and rattan furniture....The setting right on the beach with incredible service provided by the best staff of any hotel in Venice, is only exceeded by the lofty prices for food and beverage....
I stayed for free, but would have been willing to pay just to live the dream of a 1920's hotel with the original style still looking new...but the Molino Stucky Hilton, or the Bauer Palladio, or a Jr Suite at the Metropole(Vivaldis music school).....also makes sense... To stay here, hit the beach all day, explore Venice at night with all the tourists back on their cruise ships eating their frozen food, taking the free hotel boat to the incredibly overated Danielli for an astronomocally expensive dinner in the astronomically beautiful terrace restaurant...makes for a truly epic Venetian Expierence!
Long live bad taste in ugly interiors in what is a true mock Arabian nights castle....all that was missing was Patrick Swaze dancing on the huge terraces with beach sand underfoot creating the ultimate shuffleboard slick dance surface.
You just cannot imagine how great this hotel would be with a facelift....

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourmanager61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quattro Fontane Hotel
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
568 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $303 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing