We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melancholia - the nice way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I chose to travel to Venice in October and stay at the Excelsior with friend who also likes to splurge every now and than. It was just as quiet and wonderful like expected: after the deck chairs are removed and the noisy bars closed down along the beaches ot the Lido, the walk along the empty beaches in the soft autumn sun was just wonderful.

The hotel interior has seen better days in terms of interior styling: a somewhat carelessly furnished lobby and hall is not the grand welcome one expects at such a place. But the sweeping view of the sea is there to make up for the disappointment. The rooms are really spacious and well equipped. Mine had a terrace with a marvellous view of the sea; my friend was disappointed with her "Venice view" which was almost not visible (it's too far away). Breakfast both from the buffet in the hall and served in the room (to be enjoyed on the terrace) was excellent.

Venice itself was accessible quite easily. But one has to mind that the boat service provided by the Excelsior leaves only once per hour and the boat ride will take approx. 20 minutes. A nice thing to do while waiting for the missed boat in Venice... is to hang out in the Danieli lobby and bar - it's just accross the private jetty of the Excelsior and a perfectly nice place to enjoy a drink and snack.

WLAN (at extra cost) was difficult to master for the iPhone 4. As for the airport transportation: we wouldn't book it via the hotel anymore. A person with a name tag will wait for you at the exit of the airport and accompany you to an ordinary water taxi at the extra charge of EUR 70,00.

Room Tip: If your budget allows: get a room on the higher floors with view to the sea and a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solid_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 971 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

Past its prime, but definitely worth it if you are able to book a deal on your room. Having access to the beach and the pool was worth the shuttle ride into Venice. We stayed here for our honeymoon and were not disappointed by the staff and their exceptional service.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank BlueSkies311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is located in Venice Lido, on the plus side it has a nice beach access, but on another hand it is a 15 minute boat ride away from the city (there are hotel boats every 30 minutes that will take you to the city center). There are a couple of restaurants near the hotel, but in general not much to do.

Hotel looks impressive and beautiful from both the outside and the inside. Rooms are reasonable size and clean, but could use updating.

Service was sufficient for our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atomic1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Poor view for expense of room. On honeymoon and ask for a view only to be offered a room with twin beds.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biggonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel is a quick boat ride away from Venice city. The hotel provides free boats every half hour to St Marks square. I think the last one is at midnight.

The rooms are big and clean. The bed linen did feel slightly damp; not sure if it was just the air con. The food was ok and very expensive..but we did find it difficult in general finding decent places to eat in Venice.

You can hire a cabana on the beach which gets raked and cleaned daily. The lido is a good place to stay if you want a beach holiday only 15 minutes boat ride away from Venice. Remember to take mosquito spray!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gf0rce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

It's not my first stay at the hotel and I'm planing to come again. The
hotel is nice, but requires rennovation. All the staff (at the
reception, beach, bars) is friendly, except for the senior and oldest
conсierge, who is very arrogant and unfirendly. He is behaving like
"The King of the Hotel". He is very formal, never smiling and always
speeking through clenched teeth. First of all the guests expect
hospitality from the consierge service.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anjual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in two deluxe rooms with my wife and two chlidren July 9 to 14. For the money you pay it is a complete rip off. The staff REFUSED to make pancakes/crepes for my daugther in the morning.
The swimming pool area was like a communal bath. So full with people that we could not even get a sun bed there. Apparently the hotel sells tickets to guests in Venice who are then taken by boat to Exelsior hotel and given sunbeds there. This means an incredible amount of people. The dinner experience was also poor. Quality of food actually bad. There is also no beach with sunbeds unless you pay a fortune to rent a sun cabine on the beach. All in all, for the money one pays, absolutely not worth it. Management did not managed to organise things in a good way. Lazy and nonchalant staff. This place needs a new set of managers who are prepared to deliver the service you require when staying in a five star hotel. We had to complain several times every day and this ruined our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank dagGothenburg_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quattro Fontane Hotel
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
568 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Venice

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $298 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Venice Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing