We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank werner555
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
There are newer reviews for Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 904 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

The facade looks amazing, but the rooms are more average. Wifi is not up to the standard you can expect from a hotel in this pricing range. They also want to charge you 5Euros if you need more time than 20min online. Helpful staff, ok+ breakfast buffet.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank StianHovda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel has ideal location for exploring Venice. You can get to San Marko by vaporetto much faster than from central Venice itself (due to direct route and a few stops only). Also Lido Island is perfect choice when you travel by car. We were happy to park our car in hotel, and had no problems with carrying our luggage. I saw lots of people with heavy suite-cases walking around narrow streets and multiple bridges in central Venice. Plus hotel is located on central street with multiple restaurants and shops. I loved Lido with its relaxing atmosphere and easy connection to San Marko.
The hotel itself is very beautiful in public areas nevertheless rooms are extremely outdated. It is high time for renovation.
The breakfast is fine and staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123_Olena_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Grande for 3 nights in June and couldn't have picked a more perfect location for our city break. The hotel itself is dated and 'quirky', but has all the facilities you need for a short break. The breakfast is very traditional, but ample and the gentleman who sings at the terrace bar is fab and the drinks are reasonable too! The Grande is ideally placed on the main strip of the Lido, a 5 minute walk one way to the water taxi's and a 5 minute walk in the other direction to the beach. There are lots of restaurants and bars along the stip, a supermarket and bike hire. The main sights of Venice are only a 10 minute vaperatto ride away and I'd recommend you get a pass (children under 6 are free), as we used this all the time to see Venice, tour the grand canal and go to the lovely islands en route. Venice is expensive, but choose where you eat / drink and sit carefully and you'll not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

the hotel look lively and autentique out side but inside some 70s bathroom and few fake furniture change my rating.
convenient zone close to vaporetto main road with restaurant and shop with better price incompare with venice.
i will not pay for junior suites because are not difference

Room Tip: 3floor better furniture
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toniopride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent one night here as a part of our family holiday and were very happy with the hotel. Ideally situated halfway between the beach and the water bus stop. The public beach is quite acceptable, so if you're going to spend just a few hours on the beach or go for a quick swim, there's no need to pay for access to the private beaches.
Our rooms were quiet (as requested), and the staff was extremely helpful and service minded and suggested good restaurants in Venice and on the Lido. The beds are quite firm, but this is common in Southern Europe.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Aila_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was booked as part of a package deal for 12 people celebrating my cousin's birthday. We go excellent value and service!
First off, the facade and decor is impressive! The interior decor is not as great, though the spaciousness goes some way to compensate.

Check in was smooth - particular mention to Federica at the reception - a gem throughout, even taking pictures when we wanted some. They were a font of information - booking and leaving messages and generally keeping track of our requests. All we had to do was ask - the information was usually there.

The rooms were good size - I did not touch the mini bar (I don't in hotels - the prices are outrageous) My only hesitation about the room were the bed - too hard for my tastes, and the shower - leaky all over the floor, and the shower head not well placed, so I had to use it by hand - awkward.
They had a good system in place for the lights - a key to insert to turn it on, so a great energy-saver. The airconditioning was pretty good, which was very welcome in the summer heat and humidity of Venice.
I didn't use the spa, but several people did and absolutely loved it. Wish I had been able to.

Breakfast was pretty good, as these buffets go - 3 coffee machine (!!!) a juice machine, choice of cereals and fruits (could do without all that syrup in the canned fruits though) scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, salami and ham. There was also yoghurt and fresh fruit as well as pastries and bread - something for everyone. It would have been a lot better to have a real cappuccino or espresso in Italy!

Since we were out practically all the time, the only other meal I had at the hotel was the birthday celebration dinner. It was the same night as this years Redentore festival firework display. The Redentore celebration itself is a religious festival held every year to give thanks at the end of the bubonic plague in 1576.
We were served the traditional meal, which was delicious and tasty. They even accommodated the dietary sensitivities of one of us on the fly! That is awesome service and great attention to detail. The substitute was almost looking better than the regular meals (it was sardines, which I love!)
Special mention to the always cheerful and smiling Evangeline in the dining room - there for all our breakfasts, as well as for the dinner. We felt very at home and welcome.

One thing to keep in mind - this hotel is in Lido - a completely different island from Venice, and can only be reached by water (choices are by private or public vaporetto). The shortest trip between Lido and Venice is about 15 mins - enjoying the sea breeze if you get a seat. We bought passes that allowed us to go around for a flat rate (35 Euros for 3 days) but this does not apply to the airport trip. The beach in Lido is famous, and you'll find Venetians headed there over the weekend. There are a few interesting shops and lots of restaurants nearby the hotel. In Venice (including Lido) the ice-cream is a must!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $111 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing