We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful façade, interior very pleasing but the staff was very disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have booked a ‘large suite’ and was looking forward to unwinding in luxury whilst the rest of Venice was soaked with rain, but I was given (by bell boy’s admission) a family room, consisted of two small-interconnected rooms. Having already settled in the rooms with my three children I decided to enjoy the holiday and not to discuss the matter with hotel staff. Annoyingly, the day before checking out I was put in a situation when I had to refute the suggestion that I have consumed more than I have from the mini-bar. The matter was not raised the next day but I had to prepare mentally to argue over it and that ruined my impression of the hotel.
On a positive side, the beds were amazingly confortable.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Almir5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 921 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

For anyone who loves Art Nouveau design, this is a hotel with details that will give you much to look at and enjoy. The most impressive element of this hotel is the recently restored tile and plaster exterior. The glass awning, think Paris Metro entrances, completes the Belle Epoch feel for the large, enclosed garden with gazebo and outdoor seating. Our children were entranced with the canopy over the bed, and the antique furniture. That said, the bathroom was modern and comfortable

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 222Antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I took my girlfriend to a surprise weekend in Venice and chose the Grande Albergo because it looked great on the photos and had the spa and the place looks great just like the photos.

The room was standard with decent space/minibar, etc, nothing too special about it, but the spa was fantastic, they offer some treatments but we only had acess to the steam room, jacuzzi, etc and it was great. They give you bath robes and shoes for the spa and a hot towel +tea combination at the beginning really sets the mood. We both really enjoyed it

Getting to the hotel from venice was also not an issue, we took the public vessels which are like a normal bus service and quite cheap, they take a little while but the whole thing is an experience so if you're ok to just enjoy the ride in the blue water its not a problem.

overall great experience and reasonable price, so will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

You cannot take it away, it is a majestic building, but with retaining that and its features, comes a price. I value sleep on a holiday, without a good nights rest you start grumpy and tire quickly during the day. The noise from the above room was horrendous every footstep heard. The neighbouring rooms turned on their bathroom light and their fan kicked in and the toilet and shower could quite clearly be heard when used.

The final dripping tap moment was the wonderful crescendo of repeated banging of the external window shutters against the walls, which felt like we had a subwoofer repeatedly playing the same bass beat every 20-30 seconds.

So aside from the noise, the staff were awesome, the rooms clean and buffett breakfast food was good, they need to cook the scrambled eggs longer though... not sure they should be swimming.

Location wise it was all we could ask for, close to ferry, shops, cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank putneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very pleasant and work hard at being welcoming and polite.

The hotel is on the Lido (quiet in april) and is very easy to find as when you get off the water taxi its a short 200m walk up the road.

When you arrive at the hotel you are met with an unusual but impressive design frontage which is Gaudi like.

Unfortunately what lets this hotel down is that it seems the rooms haven't been refurbished for quite some time and are 'tired'.

Even the carpet at the main door of the hotel entrance is lifting and thread bare - that tells part of the story in itself.

The phone in our room (203) didn't work nor did the heating/ac unit.

The bathroom sink had cracks as did the bathroom mirror but there was certainly nothing wrong with the water pressure.

We had an issue with the shower head which was promptly changed.

The most odd thing about our room was that the room safe was part of the mini bar BUT the mini bar itself was a small cupboard with wheels on it and could have so easily been wheeled out of our room - hardly 'safe' or secure !

When I spoke to reception about this, they simply smiled and shrugged their shoulders !

Upon arrive the hotel provide a bottle of prosecco as a welcome drink - very nice touch.

The breakfast is typical continental style although they do serve scrambled eggs if you could eat them as they looked very unappetising.

Wifi is charged at €5 euros for your whole stay. 20 mins is offered free per day. In my view this is petty and should be included with hotels that charge at this rate.

We paid €141 euros per night for a superior room which is probably about right for Venice as its NOT cheap there.

In my personal opinion, if you are only in Venice for a few days or less then I think it's better to not stay on the Lido. Also you will save yourself about €12 euro per person per day on water taxis as you will be in the heart of things and not a 20 minute boat trip away.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank turnleftisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very nice hotel, especially from the outside. Inside is a little old but clean and comfortable.
The staff was kind and we could choose which room we want.
Extra charge spa, but nice and relaxing. Includes two steam baths, sauna and Jacuzzi (which was a bit cold and burning eyes).
also the breakfast was diverce.
Relative to 4-star hotel and only 1 night stay we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely spacious clean room. Huge bed and lovely bathroom. Included continental breakfast was very good. It's a dream hotel: precious, amazing rooms, caring staff, client-oriented service. We booked small double room, but when we arrived to hotel girl upgraded our booking to classic double room without additional payment. It was very nice.

The Island of Lido is in itself is nice and has all the basic features, and in the summer it's close to a beatiful beach. To visit central Venice one would need to take the Vaporetto, which is quite frequent and fun, but it is necessary to take account the additional daily travel costs, so remember to buy one of the different 24-,48- or 72 hour waterbus tickets at the Connect Venice ticket machines.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $69 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing