We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely spacious clean room. Huge bed and lovely bathroom. Included continental breakfast was very good. It's a dream hotel: precious, amazing rooms, caring staff, client-oriented service. We booked small double room, but when we arrived to hotel girl upgraded our booking to classic double room without additional payment. It was very nice.

The Island of Lido is in itself is nice and has all the basic features, and in the summer it's close to a beatiful beach. To visit central Venice one would need to take the Vaporetto, which is quite frequent and fun, but it is necessary to take account the additional daily travel costs, so remember to buy one of the different 24-,48- or 72 hour waterbus tickets at the Connect Venice ticket machines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    354
    111
    30
    23
See reviews for
174
475
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A beautiful art deco exterior, as one reviewer said get off the Alilaguna water bus at Lido and walk down the main street, S M Elisabetta, and you can't miss it. Extremely helpful staff, good breakfasts. Plenty cafes nearby and a supermarket across the road,look for Billa, for in-room treats. We had a very enjoyable stay, but take lots of money as Venice will cost more than you think.

Room Tip: Take the vaporetti, either no.1 or 2, from St Marco-St Marco for a fantastic trip round the Grand Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 403jimK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was nice, but if you want to be "where the action is", it is not for you. It required a boat taxi or the ACTV (public transportation) to get from Venice to Lido. They had a nice breakfast buffet and we did have dinner at the restaurant at the hotel, but it was not great. The room was rather small, as are most hotel rooms in Italy. They did have a really nice outside bar with a great patio. Lido is a very quiet island, so it you want solitude, this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked this trip as a treat for ourselves and we weren't disappointed! The hotel is in Lido, which isn't mainland Venice, but about 15-20 mins on a river bus and about a 50 min journey from Marco Polo airport.

On arrival at the Lido ferry port, we walked about 5-10 mins up the main high street and found the hotel. The exterior is impressive with a Gaudi inspired design, however our room was a little disappointing, as the decor and furniture was simple, but dated. The room, though, was clean and the shower was the best power shower I've ever experienced!!! The room has Sky tv and you can purchase WiFi for €5 for your stay (they do give youb20mins free) not a massive expense, but it should be free! Check in was simple and the staff are friendly, accommodating and speak perfect English. Breakfast was included in our trip and the breakfast room was lovely, light, airy and sunny. Breakfast was typically Italian, with fresh rolls, homemade cakes and pastries, but also a hot and cold buffet-perfect for a long day of walking! I can't comment on the spa and restaurant as did not use either.

Lido itself, at that time of year, was quiet, picturesque, with an older crowd. It's good if you want to retire from the hustle and bustle of Venice, with some nice little cafe's and shops.

Navigating the river buses was straightforward and the ticket staff are very helpful. We bought a 48hr pass at €30, good value considering a one trip journey to San Marco is €7! You can't, however, use this pass to get to the airport (a return journey from the airport is €27).

We experienced all the typical sites of Venice, saw a classical concert - Vivaldi Four Seasons for only €25! I would highlight that there is not much nightlife beyond operas/restaurants etc, however this didnt dampen our experience. I would highly recommend going at the end of Feb, as the summer crowds havnt yet arrived and the canals don't smell-perfect!!

Overall the ideal, romantic getaway and I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We travelled to Venice for our Anniversary as it is somewhere we had always wanted to visit. We were a little worried on the location of the hotel as it was outside of Venice, however we really need not have been. After travelling from the airport by private taxi to our hotel we were taken the scenic route down the Grande Canal. We were a little apprehensive when seeing the hotels on route as you would never be able to tell from the outside whether they were 2 ,or 5 star rated. We arrived at Lido and were told to walk straight up the main road and we wouldn't be able to miss our hotel and they were certainly not exaggerating! The hotel was absolutely beautiful, the architecture was wonderful in every detail, on entering reception we were not disappointed the decor was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were explained where everything was and then led to our room, all I can say is Wow! The room was beautifully decorated and cleanliness second to none. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis and found the food to be fine, there was plenty of choice but mainly on a continental basis but we had no trouble with the choice. Like other reviews the restaurant was quite busy as certain times during the morning and the staff did seem to struggle a little to keep up with emptying the table for other guests but worked really hard to do so and were very pleasant and helpful.

Surrounding the hotel were a few bars and restaurants where you could eat and also a supermarket which we used to get some snacks and drink (much cheaper than the mini bar). The best way to travel around in Venice is on the water taxi's which are every 10 minutes up until 11.00pm and then every half hour. Buy a pass for how many days you are there which allows you to hop on and off whenever and wherever you wish and will save you a fortune rather than paying for tickets seperately. Venice itself is as lovely as you imagine it to be, however probably one of the most expensive places I have ever visited. Especially for food and drink so take plently of Euro's with you as we did get quite a shock and ended up spending as much on credit cards as we took in Euro's. A Gondola ride is a must, you really can't visit Venice and not do it, however that will cost you a minimum of 80 Euro's but as I said is a must!
If we were to visit again we probably wouldn't have gone to the expense of arranging a private water taxi for our transfers as this was quite pricey. We would just jump on a water taxi from the airport and obtain our pass at that time, also we would go a little later than March as it was quite chilly getting around. One thing is for sure we would definitely stay at the same hotel again as we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosyapple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed there this March,chose it because of the historic beautiful building and the Lido location. It was a wonderful experience,to live both in the present and the past, as it is interestingly described in the book about the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpfull-also in planning trips,printing maps etc, and it was always nice to return to the hotel after a long day. Other visitors just wrote about the good breakfast and other services, I just would like to add: that this was a great experience and is highly recommended !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the original art-nouveu furnitures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daphnaHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I walked many times in front of this wonderful hotel while going to the beach walking in Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta, the big and nice boulevard going from the boat stop of Lido till the beach!
So last February I choosed to spend a night there with Rosalia, an attractive young female friend born in Palermo, but now living in North Italy.
The facade is beautiful and also the interior is very romantic.
The girls and the boys of the reception have been very kind with us, so our stay there was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikaello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing