We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I booked this trip as a treat for ourselves and we weren't disappointed! The hotel is in Lido, which isn't mainland Venice, but about 15-20 mins on a river bus and about a 50 min journey from Marco Polo airport.

On arrival at the Lido ferry port, we walked about 5-10 mins up the main high street and found the hotel. The exterior is impressive with a Gaudi inspired design, however our room was a little disappointing, as the decor and furniture was simple, but dated. The room, though, was clean and the shower was the best power shower I've ever experienced!!! The room has Sky tv and you can purchase WiFi for €5 for your stay (they do give youb20mins free) not a massive expense, but it should be free! Check in was simple and the staff are friendly, accommodating and speak perfect English. Breakfast was included in our trip and the breakfast room was lovely, light, airy and sunny. Breakfast was typically Italian, with fresh rolls, homemade cakes and pastries, but also a hot and cold buffet-perfect for a long day of walking! I can't comment on the spa and restaurant as did not use either.

Lido itself, at that time of year, was quiet, picturesque, with an older crowd. It's good if you want to retire from the hustle and bustle of Venice, with some nice little cafe's and shops.

Navigating the river buses was straightforward and the ticket staff are very helpful. We bought a 48hr pass at €30, good value considering a one trip journey to San Marco is €7! You can't, however, use this pass to get to the airport (a return journey from the airport is €27).

We experienced all the typical sites of Venice, saw a classical concert - Vivaldi Four Seasons for only €25! I would highlight that there is not much nightlife beyond operas/restaurants etc, however this didnt dampen our experience. I would highly recommend going at the end of Feb, as the summer crowds havnt yet arrived and the canals don't smell-perfect!!

Overall the ideal, romantic getaway and I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Queen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
There are newer reviews for Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 900 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We travelled to Venice for our Anniversary as it is somewhere we had always wanted to visit. We were a little worried on the location of the hotel as it was outside of Venice, however we really need not have been. After travelling from the airport by private taxi to our hotel we were taken the scenic route down the Grande Canal. We were a little apprehensive when seeing the hotels on route as you would never be able to tell from the outside whether they were 2 ,or 5 star rated. We arrived at Lido and were told to walk straight up the main road and we wouldn't be able to miss our hotel and they were certainly not exaggerating! The hotel was absolutely beautiful, the architecture was wonderful in every detail, on entering reception we were not disappointed the decor was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were explained where everything was and then led to our room, all I can say is Wow! The room was beautifully decorated and cleanliness second to none. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis and found the food to be fine, there was plenty of choice but mainly on a continental basis but we had no trouble with the choice. Like other reviews the restaurant was quite busy as certain times during the morning and the staff did seem to struggle a little to keep up with emptying the table for other guests but worked really hard to do so and were very pleasant and helpful.

Surrounding the hotel were a few bars and restaurants where you could eat and also a supermarket which we used to get some snacks and drink (much cheaper than the mini bar). The best way to travel around in Venice is on the water taxi's which are every 10 minutes up until 11.00pm and then every half hour. Buy a pass for how many days you are there which allows you to hop on and off whenever and wherever you wish and will save you a fortune rather than paying for tickets seperately. Venice itself is as lovely as you imagine it to be, however probably one of the most expensive places I have ever visited. Especially for food and drink so take plently of Euro's with you as we did get quite a shock and ended up spending as much on credit cards as we took in Euro's. A Gondola ride is a must, you really can't visit Venice and not do it, however that will cost you a minimum of 80 Euro's but as I said is a must!
If we were to visit again we probably wouldn't have gone to the expense of arranging a private water taxi for our transfers as this was quite pricey. We would just jump on a water taxi from the airport and obtain our pass at that time, also we would go a little later than March as it was quite chilly getting around. One thing is for sure we would definitely stay at the same hotel again as we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosyapple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed there this March,chose it because of the historic beautiful building and the Lido location. It was a wonderful experience,to live both in the present and the past, as it is interestingly described in the book about the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpfull-also in planning trips,printing maps etc, and it was always nice to return to the hotel after a long day. Other visitors just wrote about the good breakfast and other services, I just would like to add: that this was a great experience and is highly recommended !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the original art-nouveu furnitures.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daphnaHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I walked many times in front of this wonderful hotel while going to the beach walking in Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta, the big and nice boulevard going from the boat stop of Lido till the beach!
So last February I choosed to spend a night there with Rosalia, an attractive young female friend born in Palermo, but now living in North Italy.
The facade is beautiful and also the interior is very romantic.
The girls and the boys of the reception have been very kind with us, so our stay there was perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikaello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for four nights recently and were very impressed with the hotel. It is located a short walk from the vaporetto stop on the Lido and on a road with some good shops and restaurants.

The food in the restaurant is amazing - especially the T bone steak which is served sliced and raw and you cook it on two stones that are provided, the meat was amazing and the free shots were welcome too!

The spa is relatively small (a jacuzzi but no pool) but was quiet enough that we could use all the facilities when we liked. However, there is a charge of 20 euros to use the spa.

However, the main selling point of the hotel is how friendly all of the staff were - always happy to provide advice and the bar/restaurant staff were extremely welcoming. The only minor criticisms are the extra charge for the spa and that you have to pay to use the wifi for more than 20 minutes a day but this is perhaps to be expected as the prices of the rooms are very competitive. I think you will struggle to find a better hotel actually in Venice (as opposed to on the mainland and having to travel in by train) for the money and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor seem to catch the heat more than rooms on other floors.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel was super!
And we got engaged in Venice!
Best hotel ever!
Great staff and awsome expierience!
We stayed there for 4 days and visited alot of places!
We would recommend this hotel!!!!

Thx all!


  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I thought I write some useful information as well as a review of the hotel, which I would have found useful before arriving in Venice. The hotel is based in Lido, which is not on mainland Venice, it's a town on a island which is situated to the east of Venice. When you arrive at Marco Polo airport which is north of Venice, you have to get a transfer via a water boat taxi or water boat bus. The water boat bus costs €15 euros each way, the water taxi is a lot more. It takes 50 mins to arrive at Lido, when you arrive it's a 10 min walk along the main high street.

The hotel is easily recognisable with art nouveau theme on the walls, and looks nice. the check in process was a breeze and the staff are helpful and speak good English. The rooms are traditionally old fashioned rooms with sky TV, 2 single beds put together, bathroom is a decent size with power shower. The wifi is NOT free, you get 20 mins complimentary free access, but it cost €5 euros for your entire stay which is good value, but should be free. The breakfast is of good quality which includes continental breakfast and scrambled eggs and bacon, the restaurant area is nice place to be, the breakfast is served between 7-10am.

Lido is a lovely town which is surprisingly quiet, it's more a residential area for people who work in Venice, if you stay here in the summer it has nice beaches to visit.

To get to venice, you need to get the water bus boat from Lido with takes approx 20 mins, I recommend you get a 48 hour pass which costs €30 euros, single trip alone costs €7 euros each way. So you need to budget at least €60 pp for your transfers and travel around Venice during your stay.

Venice is very expensive like most european cities although its very cheap to get there and stay in hotels, the price of food and drink can quickly add up. The average price of a coke is €4 euros, and a meal per person is €30 each. Alcohol costs average €4 euros for a beer and wine, although you don't go to Venice for a bargain do you?

It's a beautiful city and very picturesque, places to visit are Grand Canal,
St Marks Square, Rialto, Skyline Bar at the Hilton Hotel, Opera or Orchestra is good value at € 25-35 euros. If your going Venice for the weekend I'd recommend taking at least €400/ €200 pp

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sexualchocolate1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $116 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing