We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the closet hotel to see the sites.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were very small. Beds not comfortable. Not very close to the highlights of Venice so would need to ride water bus back and forth. Breakfast was better than other we had while in Italy. Building is beautiful on the outside but rooms average.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angiem1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
There are newer reviews for Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 900 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Celebrating our 40th wedding anniverdary, thought Venice would be good. Arrival at hotel approx 12 midnight. Upgrade room to front cost 40 euros per night extra and well worth it. Room typical Old Italian, NO tea/coffee facilities but this is typical of Venice hotels. 4* should really make an effort. do like a cuppa in the mornings. bathroom big wish there had been a hook for the shower and had to squat, kneel for shower in bath. very clean and spotless. breakfast was ok nothing special, the Italians do like their bread!!!!reception staff very helpful. The lido was beautiful place to stay this time of year, the cafe culture is great. not much choice of food, unless you wish to pay on for it. pizza, (better in Italian restuarant in Thailand lol) pasta etc.
The transport system is fantastic, just get your head around which way you want to go and check boards for Nos. just like uk buses but on water.
flew to Treviso and transfer no problem return coach with ATVO was 13 euros and a Vaporatta 72 hour pass was 30 Euros excellent. All in all an enjoyable few days.

Room Tip: front room is best overlooking bar and street, but not noisey.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived past 1am here, so just for a sleep. Booked a Jr Suite, which was quite spacious. They have sky tv and breakfast, although we were told it was over by 1030am, but really was over at 10am. So cant comment on that. The location is great for Lido, esp from the water taxi landing.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whip383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After first arriving at 10.00 p.m. on the nail when the restaurant closed, they kept it open for us which was a nice touch, offering to take our bags to our room too (doesnt happen often when you are fit and able looking!) Found the food very nice, dining room elegant, piano being played in the corner, quite romantic really. Outside bar area very pleasant, think its open from 5 p.m. til midnight for both drinks and coffees.

Thai massage in the basement was very good, you can use the spa on its own though for 20 euros if you want (jacuzzi, sauna and turkish bath). Our room was nice and spacious, we requested a double bed when booking, faced with a huge bed in the room, then realised it was two big singles pushed together! which didn't really matter too much. I have given it 4 stars only because the breakfast let it down a bit, they kept running out of bacon and eggs (not very good quality, rubbery egg and greasy bacon having said that!) and a 20 minute wait for them to be refilled. They ran out of juice one morning. Okay if you like a light breakfast though - cereals, yoghurts, cheese, bread, jams etc. We breakfasted at 9.40 a.m. one day and decided to go earlier the second day, around 8.30 - no different though - when I asked if they had run out of bacon, they said no, they'd had a big coach tour party in for breakfast earlier! So I wouldn't rush down early expecting better! Nice olde worlde hotel, paint coming off our bathroom window a bit which some people would perhaps not be happy about but I can live with the odd imperfection esp as we had gone for basic room at a very good price when booking, deciding to gamble not paying more for 'junior suites' etc. other than this the bathroom was fine, bath with shower, bidet, and quite modern. In all we were pleasantly surprised with the rooms spaciousness.

I would recommend it because its a short walk to the Lido ferry stop (3-4 mins) and then only 10-15 mins on the ferry to St Marks Piazza stop so very convenient and its the same distance going the other direction up the street to the beach, there are also a few pizzeria's near the hotel for eating out on Lido, prices from around 7 euros for a basic Marguerita pizza.

Didnt realise the hotel hired bikes but theres also a place near the ferry port which had a whole load of bikes, tandems, kiddy seats etc and the prices were reasonable, tandem hire 11 euros for two hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs/lifts and with a double bed at booking stage.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Durham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, inside and outside. Overall the staf is friendly. Little bit odd that the amazing looking restaurant is a steakhouse. The bike rental was dissapointing. Little bikes, mainly pink bikes and after a few kilometers we had a flat nike. Nice outside bar with great Mojito's. Breakfast could be better for 4 stars. We would like fresh juice and coffee. Egg didn't look good. The room is nice with a great bed.

1  Thank Dylan v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

2 minutes walk from vaparetto station. Less than 10 minutes by vaparetto to St Marks Square and the vaparetto runs 24 hours a day (10 minute intervals during the day, 30 minute intervals after 1.30am to about 5am). Central Venice is noisy and chaotic and this was a pleasant bit of respite from the hustle. Location wise I cannot recommend it enough.
Rooms are moderately sized, clean and comfortable. Sky TV in the rooms. Breakfast was good and there was always enough (have read on other reviews that it ran out) - bacon, eggs, cold meats and cheese, fruit, yogurts, cereals etc. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Great terrace bar for early evening drinks before dinner.
Handy hints: buy a time limited vaparetto ticket as single journeys are €7 regardless of whether you travel one stop or the whole route. We bought a 72 hr one for €35 (Sep 2012) and definitely got our money's worth by early on day 2. Also, don't pay for the water bus tour of the grand canal. Route number 1 travels the entire length of the Grand Canal and is slower so you get a good view of all the sights. If you can grab a seat at the back in the open, you get the best views from there. If you want to buy Murano glass get it on Murano Island. It's significantly cheaper and there's more choice than in Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MunchieArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the hotel on the beautiful Lido island just outside cityt center of Venice.
We had a romantic stay. The hotel was very nice and historical. The atmosphere was wonderful. Classy large rooms, and excellent service.
The wonderful beach a few hundred meters from the hotel was excellent. The hotel in combination with the beach, the small Lido community and the lack of the noise of Venice center was just perfect for a romantic and relaxing stay.
Its only a short walking distance to the waterbuses that goes into the center 24/7

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $113 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing