We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like a Palace and a work of Art”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Looks like a Palace and a work of Art”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here in October 2011 and had a most enjoyable time. Our room was old fashioned but beautiful. The dining room was fantastic and so was our meals. I loved the fact that it was on the Island of Lido away from the crowds in St Marks Square. There were plenty of eateries on the Island too which was convenient. I would definitely recommend a visit and I hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryll M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    365
    115
    30
    23
See reviews for
179
488
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I work at a hotel myself and there is nothing worse than demanding guests who complain about everything and expect 5 stars while paying for 2. I also like to travel but cant really afford luxury and usually stay at really cheap hotels. I am far from a demanding guest but I have to say that this hotel was a huge disappointment. My boyfriend cracked his piggybank in the occasion of our anniversary, and spent a lot of money on this hotel. I was in Venice last year and know the prices here are generally steep, but I did great research and got a much better hotel, better located for less than he paid for this awful hotel.

We missed our first night there but were guaranteed free cancellation until a certain date, which we did not get even though we called within the date. They suddenly told us it was 48 hours in advance and I did not want to argue, although working in a hotel I know how easily they could be lenient about these things when you have a fully booked hotel in the middle of tourist season.

The rooms are very small. With our carry ons it was okey but if you bring a suitcase you will barely be able to fit it in the room. The pictures are a complete lie, and only portrait their superior rooms which cost a great deal more. The insides of the hotel was all white and looked very much like a depressing hospital of some sorts. We asked for a double bed but got two single beds pushed together, very unromantic. The shower cabinet was leaking from every side, which completely flooded our floor every morning. The hairdryer was in two pieces and didn't work. The air-conditioner (which was necessary in the heat) was really noisy and kept coming on every 2 minutes. You could hear everything from the room upstairs, so luckily we had a corner room where it was a bit more quiet than the rest of the hotel. The TV didnt work either and the WIFI was not included of course. You could use their computer in the lobby for 20 minutes free of charge, but the internet didn't work properly so we spent an hour just checking in at our flight. In the morning when we came down to ask for breakfast the staff was too busy chatting and giggling to say good morning or even acknowledge our presence.

The spa was lovely, but not free of course. The treatments were quite expensive and mandatory if you wanted to use any of their facilities like the sauna. At the end what was the most disappointing to us is the beach. It is a private beach that costs 25 euros per day per person. We were not informed of any public beach. The private access they so proudly put in their advertising is a total of 6 spots. For a hotel this size that might as well be 0 since they we always booked. We chose this hotel due to the beach and the spa. Its is far from the main island, at least 30 minutes from Piazza san Marco. And you would want to see more than this small area on the island, so you can expect to spend hours and hours on the vaparetto wich are extremely crowded. If you exclude the spa and the beach there is absolutely NO reason to stay this far away from the main island when you can get something better for the same price, but a lot better located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Hotel is very far fom the center, so you are spending a lot of time caming back and forth.

I didnt feel welcome at all in the hotel. The receptionists are impolite.

Furthermore, there is no double bed, there is just two single beds side by side, its very uncomfortable.The internet connection is very slow.

For the same price you can have better in San Marco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in june what can i say it was perfect location friendly staff clean lovely breakfast can not fault it you can pay 20 euros for the day and have a lovely spot on the beach sun beds and brolly or you can use public beach for free venice is wonderful you can hop on and off the water taxis anytime any stop and all this is 5 minute walk from hotel going back next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipsey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

+ Our room was spacious and clean

+/- The hotel is located on the island of Lido, which is situated somewhat outside of central Venice. For some this could be seen as a disadvantage, for others (us) it could be a plus since things are a bit more "quiet" here. Also close to the beach.
+/- We only stayed one night, but this night there was a party going on downstairs in the bar - where the music played until midnight. No problem for us, but may not be ideal if you have small kids - and this is something which happens every night!
+/- The price for our room was a bit steep, but then again everything in Venice seems expensive - so compared to other hotels the prices may not be that bad

- The rooms (at least the bathroom) could use an overhaul - it looked and felt quite dated (even though this for some would mean it has more charm)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are well travelled and like hotels with a bit of soul but that do not stint on service or comfort.We loved this hotel! At first we did not appreciate the first room we were put in as there was only a view of the back garden. The receptionist showed us another, with very good grace and we took that. Although we have had more stylish rooms in other places it was quite passable though the bathroom was small with no room to put your toilet bags. We loved the view of the lagoon in the distance. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
The Spa prices were expensive even on the deals they offered from time to time. The spa is very small so I didn't think 20€ was cheap for the use of jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. However it was very beautiful as it was Thai style and my Thai masseuse was fantastic!( I lived in Bangkok so I can tell who is good at this !) My choice of dinner in the restaurant was tasty and attractively served. The hotel retains a kind of low key grandeur. It has a good terrace bar where Tango couples danced on one occasion and on another there was a pianist in the restaurant which opens onto the terrace. It was my birthday when we were in Venice and the staff saw my cards in the room and in the evening we arrived back in the room to find a bottle of Prossecco in an ice bucket with two fluted glasses and napkins. So sweet so Italian ! The hotel is handy for both the Vaporetto' s into Venice (5 minutes to Giardino and a lovely 10mins walk from there along the quayside to San Marco; ) and the beach north of the hotel. If you tell reception you are going to the beach you can buy a ticket that gives you a discount. It is worth it as all the facilities on the beach are pristine. You can hire towels, sun beds and parasols at the beach. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back to this almost family run hotel with heart. Do not come if you expect state of the art designer stuff. Do if you like a bit of quirkiness.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

we visited this hotel last year.
We enjoyed the spa facilities very much.

Stayed for 5 days. nice island. (but seen it all in half a day... )
thats the only minus : always take the boat to venice city

The pizzeria in front of the hotel was excellent !

If we would go back again, we would do it in summer time, cause Lido beach seems nice, but is only 'active' during summer months.

Room Tip: good value spa in the hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timvanhoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Property: Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing