We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe Bet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We have just returned from a four night trip to Venice, where we stayed at the Grande Albergo on the Lido Island. We arrived on an Easy Jet flight into Marco Polo airport. We then took the blue-line river boat to the Lido. It cost 25 Euro each for a return ticket which we brought from the machine in the airport (selecting English as our preferred choice). The journey took about 40 mins before we stopped at the Lido. On disembarking we walked up Elizabeta Avenue and found the hotel easily. It was about 200metres on the right hand side and is very grande looking.

The staff in reception were very friendly and helpful as were all the staff at the hotel. The room was an economy room and it was clean and comfortable, and by European standards - a decent size. The only downside for me was that we ordered a double room and found that we had two single beds pushed together - also, there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

Breakfast was ok. There was plenty of choice, including a fresh fruit selection, which I particularly like. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as we wanted to experience as much as we could in Venice, but I did have a massage in the Wellness Centre in the basement, which was excellent and cost around 75 Euro. One thing to point out, is that you have to pay 20 Euro each, each time you use the Spa. The Spa has a Sauna, Steamroom and Jacuzzi. It is probably in the small print that they charge 20 Euro each, but I wasn't aware. I kind of assumed that it would be free for hotel guests...

Venice itself is amazing! The wine, the water and the weather. It's very pretty and was worth every penny (except for the 'coverto' - cover charge - and 'servico' - service charge, that you have to look out for). However, if you look carefully, you can find some lovely places where this is not applicable. You can buy a 72hr water bus ticket for 33 Euro at the Lido stop. But make sure you ask for your change.

To sum it up, this hotel is a safe bet if you're going to Venice. It's clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and helpful. The location on the Lido is good and the water bus into St Marks and other places, runs frequently and is a good price. It's probably being a bit ambitious calling itself a 4 star, but If I went back to Venice and was looking for somewhere to stay, at the price I paid, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 737wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 903 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and on the first night we were lucky enough to meet the lovely Jelena who was running the bar. We were soon up to speed on where to go and where not to go, while enjoying one to many drinks. After 2 nights I had requested that we were upgraded from our economy room to one of the most beautiful superior rooms in the hotel (207), I didnt expect that Jelena would have spoken to the lovely owner Roberta and together arranged that our last 2 nights would be in this amazing room.

The location of the hotel was great as you were a 7 minute boat ride from the main attractions, which meant that not only was it cheaper but you felt you could escape the hustle and bustle from the main tourist area.

The hotel itself was imposing as it was equal to some of the most amazing buildings we saw in Venice. The breakfast buffet was simple but perfectly nice, catering for all tastes and all the staff were always on hand.

We ate at the hotel on the opening night of the carnival and the menu did not dissapoint, so much so we ate again there on the last night.

To top off our last night we were joined by the deputy manager (Jonny), Jelena and her husband and staff member Mirko - These 3 people made our stay one of the most memorable breaks we have ever had!

We can't wait to return - this time time booking room 207 for the duration!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Don't let the 4 star rating or photos of the facade fool you - this is just a pretty run of the mill hotel. The hallways and rooms aren't as nice as the entryway or lobby. But, if you're looking for something decent that's removed from the hustle and bustle of the mainland, then this hotel on Lido is something to consider. It's located about a 5 minute walk from the Lido water bus stop and about a 15-20 minute ride from San Marco.

Pros:
-120 minutes of free internet use (must ask front desk for password)
-Free breakfast
-Modestly priced
-Good location on Lido, a bit far from the rest of Venice

Cons:
-Breakfast was just OK
-Staff not all that friendly or helpful
-Small rooms
-Water changed temperate and pressure constantly, leaked from shower
-Housekeeping comes very early in the morning

Nothing was TERRIBLE but nothing wowed us either.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lkardatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

It is very disappointing that some hotels do that: pictures of the rooms represented at their web-sites do not at all reflect what they are in reality. It is absolutely so about this hotel. Having booked a room at that 4-star hotel we were expecting something corresponding to that category. It is not at all: the staff is awful starting from the receptionist who hardly speaks English and would really not bother much to say hello or give you any sort of a welcome smile when you enter the hotel. The rooms look nothing at all as on the web-site. They are very old and shabby, and do require renovation right away. A bathroom is something one does not want to see at all. They are awful. The interior of the hotel is also very old and there is some smell which reminds you of a canteen where the food may only be disgusting. The only thing which is truly beautiful about the place is the exterior of the hotel. From the outside the building does look nice, but I would recommend everyone not to be mistaken because of it. There is absolutely nothing else in that hotel but the exterior look. Having arrived and seen the ugly reception area and the dedicated for us room, I have asked the receptionist to show us any other rooms of higher categories which if we liked and decided to stay, we would have obviously paid the required extra. But fact of the matter is even they turned out to be disgusting. And those most awful bathrooms, if they can be called like that at all, were still the same. The floors design and condition leave much to be desired too, to put it mildly. So, what we did having seen all that nightmare being called a 4-star hotel is left. There is really nothing else to do. Later on we stayed in a great place that day, though 5-star and in Venice itself, but really marvelous. A few days later I contacted that Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Wellness & Spa hotel telling them what the situation was and asking if they would consider that situation and give us any refund (we were supposed to stay in that ugly hotel from Jan 7 through Jan 9, 2011, but had booked a non-refundable tariff) because it was obviously not our fault that the pictures on their web-site had misled us that much. But I got a "no" from the hotel, which only proves in a nasty place everything corresponds to its level. Please, be aware the pictures on the web-site of that hotel are absolutely not what this particular hotel is in reality. You will get very disappointed. And it is not good especially when you come to Venice where there are quite a few great hotels. We stayed in 2 of them during our 2 stays in Venice.
Best regards,
Elena, citizenship - Russian

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElenaP1139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We had a fantastic trip to venice, and paid a total of £275 per couple for 4 days in Venice,flying with Ryanair, and staying at this hotel B&B. We have never had such good value! The hotel was grand, beautiful, clean, well-placed, good breakfast, great coffee...
We had paid for the cheapest room, thinking we wouldn't be there much, but were actually given one of the original, grand highceilinged rooms on the first floor. It was newly-decorated and beautifully furnished with old. original furniture. We actually changed from the first room to one on the 2nd floor - bigger and grander with a 4-poster bed because we wanted a bath. The only miniscule complaint was that this room didn't have a bath either! The breakfast was lovely - plenty of choice, served in the original conservatory with beautiful stained glass windows overlooking a picturesque Venetian garden.
We arrived at Plaza del Roma from the airport and activated our bus passes (bought on Venice connected at a discounted rate) and got a No1 waterbus which took us right down the grand canal and across to the Lido - a fantastic overview of Venice, and a great way of getting your bearings, and lots of photo-opportunities.
We chose this longer route across to Venice each morning and evening because it was so relaxing, and such lovely views. We loved staying on the Lido, which was a different vibe altogether from Venice, relaxed, quite upmarket, with a real community spirit. We ate each night in 'Glacial' a little wine bar just up from the hotel, very good value, lovely fresh cooked pasta and pizza, but go a notch up from the house red!
I cannot recommend Venice or this hotel highly enough.
Oh, and 70 euros for 40 minutes in a gondola - do it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This hotel is on the Lido, a short Vaporetto ride to St Mark's Square. (Note: you can buy a three day Vaporetto ticket for €33. This will get you unlimited access on the water buses. Don't be put off by the bus ride, unlike other cities, the Venice water buses are a sheer pleasure. Sit out on the back at night and watch the city fade into the distance. You will get to St. Mark's square in 15 minutes and the buses run every few minutes)

The hotel is very beautiful from the outside with old shcool 40's glamour. Staff are very firendly and offer a 10% discount to guests in the restaurant for dinner. Room was comfortable and on the 4th floor with a nice enough view. Very clean with a good supply of toiletries.

The only short coming of the hotel as I could see was the breakfast - they are very disorganised and slow in restocking the breakfast bar. It's the only poor coffee I had in Italy.

Across the road from the hotel there is also a very lovely little Wine/ice-cream bar where you can get a delicious 1/2 bottle of wine for €7.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libbyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

On booking the hotel online, me and my partner were very excited at the prospect of staying at this particular venue as the pictures and reviews seemed to offer much. Unfortunately the only real charm of this place lies in it's exterior as the room was very small and facilities minimal. Though we did not make use of the spa, we did have a peek and it looked ok ,and for £15 seemed quite reasonable. When researching this hotel, we understood that it had a private beach just outside of the hotel. Actually it is a 10 minute walk to the beach but it was pleasant enough in all fairness but that is all I can say about it.
The breakfast was much like I expected with a wide range of cold meats, pastries and cereals, be wary of the scrambled eggs though!
We ate in two different resaturants while on Lido Island, and all I can say is don't!
Venice is a 15 minute boat ride away and much more likely to provide a culinary pleasure than Lido island ever will. Venice itself is magical and best experienced at night when the little tapas bars come to life. We spent our final night in Venice wandering the historic streets eating and drinking in several of the quaint little bars. Take my advice and head for the market area near the Rialto bridge for the best of these, where apparently you can eat cheaply with the locals during the day and drink with the same at night.
All in all, I would recommend Venice to everyone but make sure you choose hotel and restaurant carefully. Hotel 5/10, Lido island, 6/10 Venice 9/10.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northstarxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#18 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $111 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing