We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, OK service, OK prices”

Ristorante Gran Viale
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“good food, OK service, OK prices”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had prosciutto with melon and pasta e fagioli first, then gnocchi and a mixed salad. The food was good, but not exciting. It appeared that most or all of the other customers were, like us, tourists -- not necessarily bad but generally we prefer places with some local appeal. If I were to want or need to find a place to eat in Lido again, I would not choose this one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    289
    116
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Decent Prices, Average Service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant was across from our hotel, Le Boulevard. The pasta Bolognese was delicious, as was the caprese. My children enjoyed their pizza and mixed salads as well. We were seated promptly and received our food quite quickly. However; as with most European restaurants, once we received our food, we were ignored, so it took a long time to get the check. We could have used a refill on water also.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiinchester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We ate here twice during our 3 night stay on the Lido - and very successfully. The staff were smartly kitted out and friendly and knew what they were about, The whole place had a good buzz about it with the majority of the eaters being Italian and it was full on both occasions. Good choices on the menu and all cooked to a high standard. Pricewise similar to UK. We tried another place in the same street on night 2 (awful) and were so pleased to hurry back here for the last night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jezza8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Beautiful food but watch for hidden charges”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay, food was lovely both times just be aware that they charge 2euro cover charge per person ( this is stated on the menu) however the first night they out bread down (without butter or dipping oils) we didn't touch it but they still charged us 4euros so get them to remove the bread straight away otherwise you will be charged.

Pizzas are nice but they are hidden away right at the back of the menu!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claireser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Tourist only restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate at this restaurant on our first night in Venice Lido due arriving off the ferry after 9 and my wife panicking about finding somewhere to eat...this place was round the corner to our hotel.
It looked fine and was busy and clean, we soon realised on being served that you paid for each smile and breadstick!
This place exists to rip off tourists and being seasoned travellers we were annoyed at letting ourselves fall into this Venetian fly trap...there are some really good places in the Lido, this is not one of them!
Overpriced, substandard food and rude staff who did not even try to put a veneer on trying to take your last penny for a disappointing dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roughguidereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Gran Viale also viewed

Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Gran Viale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing