We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic small hotel - and the best breakfast”
Review of Villa Stella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Stella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 31, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt incredibly welcome, all the staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the family rooms - which was really two rooms with a dividing door, which meant it wasn't "lights out" for everyone when the children went to bed. The bathroom is accessable off one of the rooms. Everything was clean, fresh and comfortable. Don't be put off by thinking the Lido is out on a limb or inconvenient to get to - its serviced well by the water taxis and included on the various discount passes as is the regular bus service from the water taxi arrival point along the Lido (3 or 4 stops to Villa Stella). There is no restaurant in the hotel, but plenty on offer near-by, and we were quickly pointed in the right direction, once eaten you can return to their small bar and have drinks in the garden. But the real foodie treat is breakfast - homemade breads, cakes, pancakes, yoghurts and jams, locally sourced cold meats and cheeses - it was a feast that shames most hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Villa Stella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 462 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was my second time at Villa Stella and I returned because my last trip here was so perfect I didn’t need to look elsewhere or pay the inflated prices for staying in the city centre.

The hotel is easy to get to by taking one boat from the central train station (it took about 30 minutes to get to Lido). Then it is just up the road from the main vaporetto stop – or a few stops on the buses that run regularly throughout the day and night. The Lido stop is only a 10 minute boat journey to the main square, which for me is as close to the city as you need to be! It was nice to go back to Lido to relax after a busy day in the hustle and bustle of the city, so it felt like we were still having a relaxing break!

The hotel itself was perfect – the rooms were a brilliant size, clean, comfortable and smelt nice (our room was the one in the main picture). Our bed was so comfortable we didn’t want to get out of it!

The service at the hotel is also great, very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We were pleased with the service at breakfast too and though there was a great range of food. Obviously the price is fantastic – you really couldn’t ask for more!

However, watch out for their English website as it has not been updated recently. I requested a quote for the ‘Romance Escape’ detailed on the website and the quote they gave me did not include the dinner at their restaurant as they had taken off for the new season. They did not explain this to me until after I had arrived which was a little annoying. I thought this was probably a simple translation error and pointed out to them that this was out of date but they have not updated it since... Anyway we went to the family restaurant regardless and this was the best meal we had on the whole break so all in all I was still satisfied and definitely will return again some day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Staying in Lido is the way to go when visiting Venice. It is so much quieter, cleaner, less noisy and more reasonable. And the Villa Stella surpassed all expectations. We had a patio outside our door to enjoy evening cocktails, but if you do not have a patio there are nice comfy spots outside to cuddle up with a book or enjoy a glass of Proseco. The location was rather easy once you figured out the bus system. When you get off the Water Taxi you need to take a bus. Our mistake was thinking the firsrt stop at S. Gallo was our stop so we walked with luggage in tow for many more blocks than necessary. My advice is call the Stella first and ask which bus stop.

Room Tip: I wish I could remember the bus stop name and number that is closest to the Hotel, but all I can tel...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snakerivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We chose Lido for quiet and for budgetary reasons. We were beyond satisfied with our stay at Stella! Everyone there was so friendly and cheerful, and extremely helpful about getting around Venice. Our room was large, very clean and very nicely decorated. The bathroom and shower were quite nice. The breakfasts were delicious and we drank more than our share of cappuccinos! There is also a fantastic Trattoria just down two blocks that they recommended that was beyond delicious! Thank you Stella for a wonderful introduction to Venice!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This B&B is located on the beautiful Lido island, which is an attraction not to be missed in and of itself. The villa is set in a nice courtyard, and has a very cosy outside seating area. The regular double rooms are not particularly large, but very well appointed and clean. The linens are clean and fresh. Our only issue was with the plumbing: when we checked into our room, we realized that the shower head was rather clogged, and that the water did not drain from the shower. Once we have brought up this concern to the concierge, we were immediately transferred to a much larger room (usually reserved for families of 4 people) at no extra charge. All the staff were very helpful and polite. The breakfast was good, and you could have fresh crepes prepared for you. Also, free bicycle rental is available, and we took full advantage of it by cruising the whole island on bikes (highly recommended activity!) The location has a slight downside in that you have to take a bus from the Lido vaporetto terminal to get to the villa; however, it's only four stops once you're on the bus. On a positive side, this is a very quiet and beautiful area, with two very good restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kutya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel. So much nicer than staying in a large impersonal hotel an example being the offer of drinks (free of charge) as soon as we arrived. Rooms are comfortable (although ours was quite small), beautifully decorated and spotless. Highlight of our stay were the delicious breakfasts (especially if, like me, you have a sweet tooth), with homemade jams, crepes cooked to order, a variety of cakes, croissants etc and the standard continental ham/cheese/yoghurt.
Only slight downside was the 15 minute walk to town, although a bus is available. Although it is a waterbus ride away from Venice we didn't see this as a negative, it was nice to get away from all the crowds, we took a drive right round the lido and it's a lovely little place - with great beaches if you have time to sunbathe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoreenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I would like to thank to the Villa Stella owners through this message for the great and relaxing stay they offered us which exceeded our expectations We loved everything about the villa, all the attention to details: from the indications on how to go about visiting Venice, to the cappucinno offered upon our arrival, to the beautyful way in which each room and the court yard are decoreted, the cleanness and freshness as well as the very nice breakfast which contained all elements that one would need to start their morning, not to mention the very tasty crepes and cappuccinos.
For us there is no doubt that when we will come back to visit Venice or to spend some relaxing time in Lido we will choose this villa.

Thank you again!
All the best,
Cosmin & Virginia
(Romania)

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cosmin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
900 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Stella

Address: Via Sandro Gallo 111 | Malamocco, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: $117 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Stella 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in 1940 was the private groundmother's House, now we managed with love and care , great attention to our breakfasts, with many homemade products , genuine and local . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Stella Hotel Venice
Villa Stella Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing