We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just come back from Venice & stayed in Riviera Hotel, its in a perfect location near the water bus stops & hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly, our room was big enough & bathroom very spacious, we also had a lovely balcony with table & chairs, only downside was could have done with coffee making facilities in room. roadworks are taking place outside but not too noisy, would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank review092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    194
    69
    22
    6
See reviews for
69
200
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Some aspects of the hotel may be nearing a bit of refurbishing, but overall, the lobby, elaborate gift shop and rooms with a view are so lovely OLD WORLD VENICE, just dreamy and romantic, for a very nice value in Venice. My group of ten loved this hotel! The location can be a bit noisy with convenient vaporetta/bus stop across street on front and some bars and shops across Main Lido street on other side, church bells ring on third side but just till 9 pm. Walls are a bit thin, so ask for a change if you get the rare moaning and head banging neighbors, lol! We would accept a bit of noise for view of the Lagoon and lovely decor with Venice sunsets in a heartbeat! We brought a group of ten for two nights, and management graciously gave us a Prosecco party and nice service. Internet is 5 euros. Buffet breakfast is lovely, way better than most in Europe. Thank you, Hotel Riviera for another lovely stay!

Staying on Lido feels like you are a native, away from touristy crowds and more reasonable. Beach is 20 min walk down main drag from this hotel, ask them for their cabana info. Billa grocery store only a couple of blocks away, great for inexpensive wine and snacks. Fancy night out at nearby Villa Laguna restaurant is recommended, reserve a patio table if weather permits.

TIP: Get a 24, 36, or 48 hour vaporetta pass to take you to Burano Torcello, etc included, and enjoy the scenic 20-30 min boat ride from Lido to Venice tourist stops on the vaporetta. We paid 5 euro extra for airport to Plaza Roma and used vaporetta pass from there to Lido on ACTV. ACTV Service at airport booth is awful, rude, unhelpful, so pray the machine by front entrance works for you. Take printout with code for machine to read. Most of my party used machine, but I had to beg a free ride on bus and go to office at villa Roma to get my pass to work. Maybe Aliguna line may be better service, not as many boats though. We were on a cruise and just used our vaporetta pass to take us and luggage to Piazza Roma day of cruise, and drug luggage about a block to the ship people mover, which you enter on bottom floor of a parking garage off the circle. Another 2 blocks of luggage dragging at end of people mover, to arrive at ship checkin, so taxi may be worth it from Piazza Roma if you have a lot of luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back if you are real sensitive to noise. They only run ACC in the summer, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTripperTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was a conveniently located hotel right next to the water taxi stop on the Lido.
Check in experience was fine, although the rooms are somewhat poky.
We had a decent night's sleep and the breakfast buffet was fine.
The automated sensor-lights in the passageways also didn't stay on anywhere near long enough, so you are often left fumbling around in the dark!
It's hard to go mad over this hotel either way. I'd recommend it as a place to stay as it's convenient, albeit slightly overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Probably best to get one away from the main street as there's a bar/club across the road and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msprichj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights a few weeks ago - it was a great location for us as we wanted to be away from the main Venice island and we loved the boat trips in - I think this made our holiday. the hotel itself was a little dated. we were upgraded to a room with a private terrace on arrival which was lovely - there was building work taking place out front which is noisy in the morning however the view cancels that out at night. it is in a great place for the boats as it was right outside as we were a bit nervous about getting around. the room is a reasonable size. tv had 2 English channels - sky and bbc news. it isn't an amazing room but had that old Italian feel and we didn't mind as you're not in you room that much. the only problem we did have was ants. they were everywhere. there were 2 holes in the room which they came out off which we had to block up with tissue and kill the rest we a show as the staff weren't bothered - they were all over the bedding, walls and floor - NOT NICE!. The staff were very rude to us, even mocked us when we spoke Italian - don't think there keen on Americans and English on the lido as we found this rudeness when we went out on the lido island. the breakfast was ok, could have been better but it was ok if you like cake for breakfast.

if we were to come back to Venice we probably would come back here just for the view and because we like the boat trips across from here - the hotel is good if you know what your getting before you arrive and don't have high expectations. Venice is a beautiful place, not a great deal too do but beautiful to wonder around. I would highly recommend anyone considering going to find a cheap deal and enjoy it.

Room Tip: email the hotel ahead of time to request a sea view - ohh and there's a map in the room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piixiieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My son, daughter and I stayed at The Hotel Riviera on The Lido for a short city break in Venice and I have to say, I was very pleasantly surprised by how accessible the hotel was for travel to and from Venice city itself both day and night- the ferry terminal was right outside the hotel. The room we stayed in was immaculate and cleaned thoroughly everyday and unlike some triple rooms, we had a separate attached single room to allow my son some privacy. The breakfast was a feast, fresh fruit, pastries and the coffee was sublime. The hotel staff were polite and helpful and the only downside was the roadworks taking place just outside - however, as our room was nearer the back of the hotel, we didn't have any problems with noise either from the roadworks or the ferries. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers to Venice.

Room Tip: While the roadworks are going on I suggest a room towards the back of the hotel- you still get some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Not only the hotel is very nice, staff very professional and helpful. This hotel is situated in the middle of everything. the ferry bus station is just across the road, there is nice rest around and the breakfast of the hotel is one off. For people who want to visit Venezia and enjoy some time off the tourist crowd this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeinaA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here 31st march - 3 April 2014, there are road works outside the hotel & no air-con in the rooms for another month, it was very hot in the night but we couldn't have the windows open as it was noisy in the mornings from 6am, the breakfast is very basic with no hot food. The rooms are very old fashioned & small. The location was great to get everywhere, when checking out we had a additional cost of city tax which we were not expecting only €15 but this wasn't explained to us. To sum it up, you pay for what u get but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keltrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 5, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing