We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
251
7
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
251
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family vacation horseback riding kids program laundry service wonderful week the entire staff a great vacation off the charts every evening dream come true trap shooting riding skills the barn girls week cookies horses archery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 260 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2018

This venue is beautiful, clean, and fun. The food is out of this world (had to go on diet when I returned home) - the staff is polite and gracious - the horses are strong and ready to go. The wranglers are always there to help which makes for a pleasant ride. Many different rides are offered - some for advanced - some for leisure - but all very nice. Surrounded by beautiful trees, mountains, etc. The barn cat is the absolute "cats meow" - nothing bothers him and when he sees a lap to lay on - he says howdy. One night they served a five-course meal with linens and the works - WOW. First time at archery and shooting a gun - really went out on limb for those - tried it any way. Took a stretching yoga class each morning which got the day off to a great start. This is a place that you will enjoy and love.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

This was our third dude ranch vacation with our two boys (ages 7 and 9). RHMR attracted our attention because of the kids program, the activities, the beautiful location, and of course the horses. It did not disappoint. The amount of activities they offer is off the charts. In a week we did lots of horseback riding, bike riding, kayaking, yoga, camp fires, karaoke, zip lining, rock wall climbing, tree course, hiking, pottery, archery, trap shooting, .22 rifle target plinking, swimming, roping, dancing, fishing, horseshoes, corn hole, basketball, and more. The musical entertainment and cowboy poetry were exceptionally good.

The horseback rides were easy and provided some nice views and photo opportunities. The longer loping rides were fun, but we were always on trails riding single file. The horses were happy and healthy. The wranglers were very friendly and helpful. They all seemed to be in their 20s or early 30s and really loved their jobs.

The kids program was great! Rachel and her team gave the kids a lot of freedom to be crazy and have fun while maintaining safety and good behavior. The kids had fun every day and were exhausted at bed time.

The food was excellent and the kitchen staff was happy to accommodate our son’s food allergy. It was not traditional cowboy food like steaks and chili and cornbread. The kitchen staff puts a lot of effort into making really delicious, creative meals with plenty of options to please everyone.

The bar is open every evening and provides a venue to get to know some of the staff. The bar has a good variety and the bartender makes some creative cocktails.

Accommodations were clean and comfortable. It was really nice that they offered complementary laundry service.

The entire staff seemed to be a really good team and worked hard to make sure the guests had as much fun as possible.

We loved the ranch and had a great vacation. It was well worth the money, and we will be back again in the near future.

My recommendations to RHMR are as follows:
- Staff should greet guests with cowboy hats & boots on. We are looking for a traditional western experience.
- Get everyone together the first night and introduce the entire staff, and give some info about the history and philosophy of the ranch.
- Offer guests an opportunity to learn about the tack and basic horse care. This should also be part of the kids program.
- Host an outdoor cookout at least once during the week. Could be a family breakfast ride to a chuckwagon breakfast, or grilled steaks down by the fire pit.
- Hold a kids rodeo and an adult rodeo on Friday with some fun activities to demonstrate the horsemanship skills that people have been working on all week.
- Contract a photographer to come out to the ranch and take portraits during a family ride early in the week, and return on Friday to display and sell the photos.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
6  Thank Stay297274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

We loved being able to celebrate with our son, his wife and 2 children (4&7). The kids program has lots to offer and they loved having their “own” horse for the week. We can’t say enough about the staff, who were friendly and caring. The food was excellent, the activities varied and the accommodations very comfortable. Even the 4 yr. old went on the kids’ rides with someone leading her up hilly trails and down. Gorgeous views and cool trails through the trees. Our son is a mountain biker and went on a couple of great trails with the guide. It was just what we wanted-rustic, low key and so much fun.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank DinahWestChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

Absolutely outstanding vacation! Every meal is amazing, everything is homemade, gluten-free choices always available. Maple scones, BBQ ribs to die for, butterscotch cookies...The rooms are clean and comfortable. Never knew Idaho was so beautiful! The wranglers were all fantastic and accommodated different levels of riding skills in our group. Riding was great, up and down hills, beautiful views, lunch rides, walk, trot and lope. They even do your laundry for you!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L, Owner at Red Horse Mountain Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Wow Denice! Thank you for your review! We are so happy RHMR helped make a dream come true for you. We hope to see you again next year...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Fantastic place. Fantastic people. Fantastic stuff to do. We had 5 guys from Pennsylvania, including two first-time dude ranch visitors. Everything exceeded expectations. For our first-timers, they couldn't believe how much fun it was. For the other three guys, this was our fourth ranch trip, and the best of the four, and we didn't think we could get any better than last year's ranch trip to Montana. Red Horse was the best. Great accommodations and food. The activities were great fun and our hosts were a big part of our great experience. I'm going to forget some names, but: Andi, Cory, Rob, Ashley, Matt, Sarah D. and Sarah B., the talented brother-sister duo of Joseph and Hillary, Kyle, bartender/singer/dancer Kay, Liza, Jimmy (may have been 2 of those), the whole cooking staff, and last but not least, our great friend Crystal. All of them and others who are not mentioned here were awesome.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wtafuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews