We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Horse Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incredible Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is the best! They have the best staff of any resort we've stayed at. Wonderfully nice and engaging people. The food is outstanding. One evening they serve the adults a five course meal with wine pairings and on the last night, they put on a BBQ that is amazing. The ranch has a wide variety of activities for every age and interest. We went mainly for the horseback riding, but also really enjoyed the zip line into the pond. They will also do your laundry while you are there for the week. Be sure to catch the running of the herd on Monday morning. That was really neat to watch.

We stayed in the Old Post cabin which is great for two people. Amenities are very clean and comfortable. There's an order sheet in the room if you would like to have cold beverages awaiting your return from your daily activities. The room also had a fridge and coffee maker in it.

No matter how much we enjoy somewhere, we never go back because there are so many wonderful places to visit in this world. However, this may be the one exception as we're already talking about going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
136
37
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We decided for a totally different kind of vacation by picking a dude ranch. What a great choice! We were a little concerned about being an adult group at a "family" type of setting but it was a non-issue. If it is of concern, please know that the kid and adult activities could be done separate or together - with the guest making the choice. There were daily adult rides and adult activities.
The wranglers were super friendly and helpful - especially for beginning riders like us. They made us very comfortable with the horses, and lessons were available - a big help for us. Opt for the all day ride - the view from the top of the mountain was spectacular - you could see Coeur D Alene! Our wrangler, Bucky, could even point out his mother's ranch!
Be warned that you will gain weight - three FULL meals per day plus snacks! Excellent food! The chef and kitchen staff work very hard and clearly aim to please. They did an amazing job with all of the meals, especially the 5 course wine dinner and the barbecue.
The cabins were very appropriate. We were in Star Garnet - great location - a duplex and we occupied both sides. Very comfy king sized beds with super soft comforters which were great for the cool nights.
Overall it was a great vacation - EXACTLY what we were hoping for. I was looking for a vacation where I didn't have to make any major decisions once we arrived - like Boys Scout camp! The biggest decisions were what fun activities to pick and what to drink for happy hour!
It was great - I would definitely recommend it - you won't find a nicer staff anywhere.

Room Tip: Star Garnet is great for two couples or a family - it's a duplex with a king bed on each side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audiodude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Red Horse Mountain Ranch is truly a gem! I wish it were possible to give it more than 5 stars! It has beautiful scenery, a genuinely friendly and caring staff, wonderfully delicious meals, and varied and fun activities for the entire family- from little kids to teenagers, and adults. Everyone at the ranch is focused on creating a memorable experience for each guest. Accommodations are charmingly rustic, yet very comfortable, well furnished and spotlessly clean. (If there had been any way to pack the bed into my suitcase to bring home, I would have done so! It was so comfortable!) Daily maid service and twice weekly laundry service is included (a very nice feature). By far, the Ranch has been our best ever vacation experience - we can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Eagles Nest and Cutthroat cabins - very comfortable, private and quiet, with great backside views t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had an absolutely incredible time at the Red Horse Mountain Ranch! We are not the type of people to return to a place for vacation - but we may have to make an exception here....and we travel a lot.

There were only 38 guests during our week at the ranch (full capacity) and the staff did an outstanding job making you all feel like family. The food was wonderful. Our cabin (Star Garnet) was comfortable and clean. They even did our laundry twice while we were there! I will say that the cabin had an option to be divided into two seperate rooms for two different guest groups (we were traveling a family of four and used both rooms) and in that case I feel you would lack some privacy noise-wise (the ranch did have earplugs in both rooms for this).

The kids' program was wonderful - our children (5 and 4 years old) had a BLAST and I definitely trusted the folks working the program. Our daughter cried the whole way home...it was harder for her to leave the ranch than Disney World!

We LOVED Red Horse Mountain. Thanks again to all the people working at the ranch - our trip was one to remember!

Room Tip: Ask if you are in a cabin alone or if you will be sharing it, as some cabins have a door that can di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kptravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Amazing!!! Great place for a family vacation! The parents and kids enjoyed the wide variety of activities and events! The campfires, karaoke, amazing race and cookout were all great ideas! The employees were wonderful and know how to do their jobs! The kids' horses were very friendly and the scenic rides were great! The ride into the mountains had a beautiful view and ahhhhs and oohhhhs were all that could be heard. The kids almost died when they heard that they got one free ice cream a day from the gift shop. The vacation was a great way for everyone to get to know each other and by the end of the week we were all one big family. It was a great family vacation and you can bet you'll see me there next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAS4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Have NEVER been to a Dude ranch before and I must say this was the most rewarding and wonderful experience I've had! Took our family so our group was 9. 7 adults and 2 children. I really had no idea what to expect, but was SO totally excited and happy with the results. The staff was outstanding, as well as the accommodations, food, entertainment, and the horses and the trails. I can not speak highly enough for the ranch. I would, in a heart beat, recommend this ranch as a vacation spot to all my friends! So many activities to choose from that catered to all the age groups of the families that were there with us! We had OUTSTANDING weather(I know, I know. Something we CAN NOT control) but still we really lucked out! We would most definitely go back to the ranch!

Room Tip: We had the HILL TOP house and it was wonderful!!! Very spacious, clean, accommodating, and had a GRE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow, wow, wow. This place checks every box and is a must go. Food, check. An amazing chef, after day one you will come to realize you need to have a strategy for what to eat, or else you may explode from over-indulgence.

Location, check. This place is stunning and is truly a slice of heaven.

Activities, check. They literally have everything, but the horse back riding steals the show. I took a lesson, which took me from a basic rider who can follow along on a trail, to a rider that was galloping as fast as the horse could go with control, where else would do that for you, and what a rush. Not to mention all the other fun stuff like a challenge course, mountain biking excellent and trustworthy kids program.

Staff- the staff are truly what make this place special. It is clear that every single person there is there to make sure you have fun. They have a rule that they do everything they can to not say no, and I found that was the case. They do so many things that must require an amazing amount of work in order to give you a cool experience. For example, ride your horse to dinner night and then hang out and eat another phenomenal meal in a meadow.

Also, this is the place to go to reconnect with your family/kids. Especially thinking those teenagers who don't want to be seen with their parents. Everyone will have fun and enjoy this place.

We don't like to "repeat" vacations, however, this was our second time here and we plan to return many, many more times.

Make your reservation now, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Syringa cabin and Garnet. Syringa has the best view as you can see the horse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 871Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
14.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
6.1 mi away
Lakeview Lodge
Lakeview Lodge
#2 of 6 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Arrow Point Condo
Arrow Point Condo
#3 of 6 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
12.3 mi away
Blackwell Hotel
Blackwell Hotel
#1 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Roosevelt Inn
The Roosevelt Inn
#2 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Mountain Ranch

Property: Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Address: 11077 E Blue Lake Rd, Harrison, ID 83833-7674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Horse Mountain Ranch is a family dude ranch, vacation getaway, and retreat on nearly 300,000 acres tucked away in Rocky Mountains near Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Since 1947, the ranch has had a rich history of dude ranching in Idaho and the same traditions of the Western experience live today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch Hotel Harrison
Red Horse Mountain Ranch Harrison, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing