We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kids & family holiday: definitely coming back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong
1 review
“Best kids & family holiday: definitely coming back!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are an expat family in Asia and wanted to give our 4 young kids (2-6) the real outdoor American experience that is so lacking where live. We wanted a place with a kids program for very young kids, and one that had experience with children with special needs for our mildly autistic son. Red Horse Mountain exceeded our expectations on every level and we will absolutely be back. The staff really make this place: Lynette (who runs the kids program) has plenty of SN experience and a real gift; the variety of activities for kids (and adults) means even non-riders have plenty to do. There were plenty of options for the kids to go it alone as well as for us to share activities as a family.. a nice mix of adult and family time.

The food is amazing, the free daily laundry was a huge help, the place is beautiful, and the cabins, while simple, are cozy with every basic amenity we could have asked for. The kids love having their "own" horse for the week (and we loved that boots were supplied!). The adults wine dinner was off the charts and we trail running/hiking spectacualr. The only drawbacks for me were that with so many activities on offer, I never just took the time to relax and read a book! We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back

Room Tip: the 4 bedroom cabin is just 4 bedrooms: no shared living space. the 3 bedrooms have a LR
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB_HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
38
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Valley Center, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were just at the ranch for a multi-generational family vacation and everyone had a great time! The ranch is located in a really spectacular location making you feel like you were miles and miles from civilization when you were actually an easy drive from the airport.

The staff was wonderful and very welcoming, making everyone feel at home. They all seemed to really enjoy working there which makes a huge difference. Our son had a really good time thanks to Lynnette, she is really great!

There were so many activities to choose from that everyone got to do something they really wanted to do, shooting clays, challenge course, kayaking, biking the CDA trail and of course, riding. There was so much to do that choosing was sometimes the hardest part as we all wanted to try everything.

The food was really great with tons of selection at breakfast, lunch and dinner. They did have one night that was a wine dinner for the adults and it was really five star, you never would of thought you were on a ranch. The kids dinner that night was also so much fun that I am sure our son thought he got the better end of the deal.

Red Horse Mountain Ranch is really a superb ranch. I am sure our family will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinayarnforewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The most relaxing and fun-filled family vacation we've ever had. They provided a huge variety of interesting activities for all ages, incredible food and impeccable service. The location is absolutely beautiful. Cabins were clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katewgila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

From the minute I arrived, I knew I was going to be pampered beyond my expectations. Cory and his workers know exactly what makes a great vacation - horse rides on a pre-chosen well-matched riding buddy, GREAT food, as much as you can handle, lots of activities and enough gorgeous scenery to fill a NatGeo Book! The wranglers are exceptionally trained and patient with all riders, the chef and his helpers pay attention to every detail, and the cabins are comfortable, cozy and well cared for, including laundry anytime you need it! I can't even express what a wonderful time I had for the week! Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: All cabins are within an easy walk to the Lodge for meals. Talk to Jody or Cory and ask for whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattiB7990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We recently visited the Red Horse Mountain Ranch for our family vacation. It was truly spectacular! The ranch itself is beautiful, and the staff offers friendly hospitality. They couldn't be more accommodating. The overall program is so well thought out and executed perfectly. Our children had the time of their lives and even preferred it to Disney World. We all hope to visit the ranch again someday. Every family should spend at least one week of their lives at the Red Horse Mountain Ranch!

Room Tip: I believe there is an early booking discount worth taking advantage of when booking. The individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisahadlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was the best family vacation ever! The staff was wonderful, nice, welcoming, and very patient. They truly did everything they could to make our vacation special. Although a lot of activities are offered, the atmosphere is very relaxed and there is never any time pressure. Our ten-year-old son had a wonderful time. Kids are so safe that they can roam freely and come and go as they please (not having to deal with a room key helps!) and there is also plenty to do together as a family. My husband and son played many games of pool in the saloon. During our stay the weather was not very good, it was cold and rainy and we could not take advantage of the swimming pool or the hot tubs, but still loved it there. The food was great and the evening entertaining wonderful. And get a massage - their massage therapist is awesome! Can only recommend this place. Internet is very slow and it is not worth bringing your computer. I left mine at home and was glad I did. It was a true "getaway" and it was hard to leave. We returned home happy and refreshed.

Room Tip: the rooms in the lodge can be a bit loud in th
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesotamom2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Amazing doesn't begin to describe the Red Horse Mountain Ranch. From the staff to the accommodations, the food to the activities - they have it down to an art and a science. Everyone my family and I encountered was genuinely friendly and helpful. I felt at home and welcome from the minute I arrived. I would take my family back to Red Horse Mountain in a heart beat! Eternal thanks to Corey, Alison, Nick, Kevin, Andrea and all the rest for giving us the best vacation ever!

Room Tip: Enjoy scenic route around Lake Coeur d'Alene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulK923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
14.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
849 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
12.4 mi away
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
#5 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Mountain Ranch

Property: Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Address: 11077 E Blue Lake Rd, Harrison, ID 83833-7674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Horse Mountain Ranch is a family dude ranch, vacation getaway, and retreat on nearly 300,000 acres tucked away in Rocky Mountains near Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Since 1947, the ranch has had a rich history of dude ranching in Idaho and the same traditions of the Western experience live today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch Hotel Harrison
Red Horse Mountain Ranch Harrison, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing