We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chile relleno autentico!”
Review of La Costa Family Mexican - CLOSED

La Costa Family Mexican
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: 208-788-3066
Restaurant details
Description: 208-788-3066
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chile relleno autentico!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We pass through once a year to fish, hike and take photos. It is a small town but Hailey offers a mix of low, medium and high budget eats, often very good.

La Costa appears to be the new inhabitant of the Chapala space on Main Street in Hailey. Same warm welcome and overwhelming menu. Same great bean dip!

I am a big fan of the first impression. Chips salsa and bean dip arrive almost as soon as you sit, and your drinks soon after.

Tonight I wanted to choose lightly - and our waitress recommended the freshly made chile relleno - batter fried poblano stuffed w monterey jack plated on tomato sauce with a chopped lettuce and tomato salad. Crispy, melting, roasted pepperiness. My companion chose a combo plate of taco, tamale, and enchilada with rice and beans - also simple good food and we took home the extra bean dip.

We will come back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MakaiWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hailey, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yums”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

great food, customer service was great as well. Priced a little high but that's what happens when you live in a resort town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
1 review
“In search of a place for a rehearsal dinner”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

One day after my arrival in Hailey, I searched on line for a place our future daughter-in-law could take me to preview for a rehearsal dinner to be held in less than a week away. We drove by places that turned out to be closed on Sundays, and marked them as a possible choice. Then, as we passed by La Costa with an empty lot yet an OPEN sign, I remembered reading a raving review, but had not considered Mexican. We decided to check it out.
The floors couldn't have been cleaner, and the lovingly decorated walls mirrored the upbeat music. The service was as excellent as in its previous review, and we each ordered different salads; one with beef and one with stirred vegetable, and both were delicious. As a house treat, two light chips were served with a sweetened meringue with coconut flakes. Incredible !!
The ambiance, the service, and the food sealed the search. We'll let you know the results in a week :-). It is located at 502 N. Main St, in Hailey, Idaho :-)...They are open from 4 to 9:30 PM.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoletaIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“A great Accidental Find”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I were starved for mexican food, and turned around when we saw this nice looking place. We were glad we did. The margarita's were perfect the service excellent, and the carnitas the best I've ever had.
The menu is huge and every thing is made fresh. give this place a try. You will be glad you didn't drive by.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Costa Family Mexican also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing