We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best guest ranch bed and breakfast in Idaho by far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Ranked #1 of 2 Grangeville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
arizona
1 review
“The best guest ranch bed and breakfast in Idaho by far”
Reviewed December 10, 2008

We booked our first trip to Idaho in hopes for some family adventrue. What an experience we recieved. The lodge atmosphere is perfect with all the extra amenities with feather beds, down comforters, heated towel racks, private patios, fireplaces, and much more. The guest ranch has lots of ranch animals with horses, goats, chickens, cats and their dogs Shadow, Dexster and Morracco. Breakfast each day was perfect and with more food served than any one can eat. You dont need to plan on lunch with one of Terri's breakfasts.
We went horse back riding out of the lodge and viewed the Salmon River basin, Hells Canyon, White Bird Battlefield, and the Camas prairie. Frank enjoys giving all of us a little bit of history from the area. We took a day and went on a jet boat tour on the Snake River and another day and took a whitewater rafting trip on the Salmon River. All of our activities were planned with Terri and she made sure every adventure we wanted to pursue was taking care of.
This area is one of the most beautiful areas we have ever vacationed in.

  • Liked — Setting at the guest ranch with close activites
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank takeatripid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

My family first visited Frank & Terri in 2001 and have since been back twice! They will do as little or as much as you want.

The lodge is a beautiful wooden structure with floor to ceiling windows in the main sitting room and beautifully tiled stone floors. The owners are avid-hunters (and offer special hunting packages through their site) and the entire place is full of taxidermy-d creatures, from the normal such as elk and deer to the exotic - elephants, zebras, a mountain lion, etc. If you are not the type to find this comfortable, this is NOT the place for you.

Frank & Terri offer wonderful meals and even offer guided excursions, such as horse-back trail riding, white water rafting - or special weekends. Just before we arrived, she had the lodge filled with scrapbookers!

Each bedroom is individually themed from top to bottom and includes a personal bathroom, complete with shower.

  • Liked — From the time you walk in, until you leave, every moment is spent with friends!
  • Disliked — On our first visit, it was hard to find, but it has gotten easier as the years go by and more people live in the area.
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiesSassenach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2003

The best of everything? You bet! We thoroughly enjoyed our seven days on the top of the summit. Wonderful accommodations, great food, fabulous views, and outgoing hosts. Frank and Terri are truely the best. They make you feel welcomed and at ease. They catered to our family like we were part of theirs. Our activities included horseback rides on winding trails that started right from the Lodge; whitewater rafting on the Salmon River; feeding goats, chickens, horses, and hummingbirds right out of our hands; and eating deliciously prepared meals. The rooms each have a unique theme and are very comfortable. Our stay at White Bird Summit was best vacation our family has ever had.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 13, 2003

The Whitebird Summit Lodge was an excellent experience. The lodge is gorgeous and the owners are the nicest people. There was so much to do from taking hikes, having picnics and going horse back riding. I would suggest this location for anyone to visit. You could have a family reunion there or a special get away for you and your loved ones. It was awesome.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2003

Our trip to Idaho was a memorable experience. The scenery was exquisite. When Terri and Frank advertise that they are "On top of the world" Thats excatly how you feel. WhiteBird Bed and Breakfast has a uniqueness all its own. Each room tells a story. Terri and Frank have put their heart and soul into making everyone feel as though they are family. The activities available though WhiteBird Bed and Breakfast, Or Lockey U Outfitters are so extensive, there is always something for everyone. We cant wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2003

Our family has stayed at the Whitebird Summit Lodge many times and it has always been extremely pleasurable. When our family of four stayed, we were able to stay in one of their family rooms with an adjoining bath and steam room. If just my husband and I were to stay, I would have picked their romantic room with whirlpool. There are so many theme rooms to choose from. We were able to enjoy the outdoor hot tub and look out at the stars in the peaceful surroundings. The Lodge has a great room encased in windows which allowed us to look out at the mountains, wildlife and ponds while relaxing. It is absolutely beautiful. When were weren't relaxing, we went horseback riding and hiking on their beautiful property. We were also offered opportunities to go fishing and whitewater rafting. Frank and Terri, the owners, are exceptional hosts and are very accommodating. The home cooked meals were great! The atmosphere and accommodations are a must to experience. We enjoyed it and know you will too!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grangeville
7.3 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
7.6 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
20.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Super 8 Grangeville
Super 8 Grangeville
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Whitebird Summit Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitebird Summit Ranch

Property: Whitebird Summit Ranch
Address: 2141 Old White Bird Hill Rd, Grangeville, ID 83530-5169
Location: United States > Idaho > Grangeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grangeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whitebird Summit Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast located on 70 acres overlooking White Bird Canyon in north central Idaho. Large display of taxidermy displays from all over the world in the lodge. Ranch animals with Horses on premise for trail rides. Minutes from the Salmon River and Snake river with the best white water rafting in the north west, jet boat tours on the Snake river close by. Frank and Terri live on property to assure all needs are taken care of. Full breakfast included each morning. Nightly bonfires that include some great story telling. Star gazing with dark skies away from the big city. This is your Idaho Vacation Destination for any outdoor activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Whitebird Summit Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit White Bird
White Bird Summit
Whitebird Summit Ranch Grangeville, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing