We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home base for a family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Ranked #1 of 2 Grangeville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My daughter's family (including grand kids) and I stayed at the lodge while doing activities provide by the Lockey U Outfitters. I've written a separate review for the Outfitters. Our stay at the lodge was exceptional. The service from Terri, Frank (owners) and the rest of the staff was outstanding. They all exuded great customer service. Everyone was super friendly.The rooms were very nice, not luxurious, but appropriate for the outdoor environment, and the atmosphere was very homey.. Terri's meals were very good. There were animals all over the place. My grand kids loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trails44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrischmitz, Owner at Whitebird Summit Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We are a great location to base your adventure trips out of. Close to the Salmon River for Rafting , Horse back riding right out of the lodge. Hiking trails and great fishing trips all close by. It was great having you back with us again and it was wonderful for you to share the adventure with your grand kids. You make some great memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been to Whitebird Summit Lodge twice now and have loved both visits. Frank and Terri are very welcoming. My husband and daughter love horseback riding - it is not the typical nose to tail slow walk through the dust on broken down nags that you find at most places. The wildlife in the area is great. Take a walk and find deer almost every time. On this visit we had a tame deer walking right up to the door! They also have goats, pigs, chickens, rabbits, cats, dogs and they are very dog friendly - something we loved since we like to take our dog with us. Frank tells great stories and Terri is a terrific cook. They love their guests and let us feed some of the animals when we asked. It is a perfect place if you want to relax and be with nature and feel at home at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrischmitz, Owner at Whitebird Summit Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Ann Thankyou - we also had allot of laughs this past week with you guys. Glad you were able to get out and enjoy all the activities in the area to do - even though the zip line was a little bit of a drive it is all about an adventure and family time. Buddy was a sweet heart while he was here and his manners came out glowing - a sign of good owners. I am sure we wil see each other again. By the way we have added to the collection of animals once again. Frank went to Troy yesterday and got some pheasants I will be positng them on our website so watch for them. They are beautiful. Thanks again Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is not a lodge in any sense of the word. We arrived after six hours of driving, to check in at 3:15 pm, and rang and rang. (Mind, we reserved the Wisconsin room in February, 2013.)

Waited for someone to answer. Just as we were ready to leave, someone ( not the proprietor) answered, and mentioned our patio room had been changed due to the goats outside the room in the yard. The substitute room was in a back corner. No windows. A substitute A/C, bunkbeds, and dingy brown carpet. Yuck.

Finally, a phone call notifying us of a room change ahead of time would have been appreciated.
Now, I have a bad impression of any Idaho B&B. Any comments from the owner are not valid in defending a dated rathole.

Room Tip: Stay away. Switch arroyo for no obvious reason. If you like dated 70s decor, great. Photos do not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foodire4367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrischmitz, Owner at Whitebird Summit Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

I apologize for the change in rooms. We only wished you would have stated your concerns when you were at the lodge. Your review is some what misleading as you did not stay with us , you would have no idea what kind of service you would have recieved. If I would have known you would have been so concerned with the change in rooms we would have been able to put you in a differant room. With the unusal warm tempertures this past week we had to make a few changes with our guests. The room you are speaking of held one queen bed and three twin beds, one of our larger rooms with a private room air conditioner. With a pet in the room I needed to make sure I had you in a room with airconditioning as not all of our rooms have air and the Wisconsin room was one of the rooms that did not have air.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This accommodation did not suit my standards. The room was okay just had a few spiders but most unappealing were the many animals displayed on the walls. This accommodation was part of a tour. Owners were nice. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nich_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrischmitz, Owner at Whitebird Summit Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Our bed and breakfast is filled with many taxidermy displays from all over the world. We have been very fotrunate to have traveled to many rare and exotic places. Our website shows many of these displays and we welcome our guests to ask questions and learn about the many animals and what their habitat is like and what land they come from. We all strive to do our best with our accomadations and our disappointed that you were not completely satisfied. With the room on the lower level with an outside private patio it is hard for us to control what pesky bug might find it way through the patio screen door. I hope your ride through Idaho was perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Frank and Terri Schmitz really have B&Bs down pat. During our entire stay, they made us feel like their house was our house. The food was outstanding, the rooms were spacious and clean, the views from the private balcony (or the group balcony) were wonderful, and Frank is a great storyteller. Frank, who doubles (triples? quadruples?) as a hunting guide, author, and taxidermist, has a great display of numerous mounts from all over the world. My wife and I took a memorable trail ride into the Gilmore Ranch, where more than three dozen elk appeared on the prairie outside the front door at night and in the morning. The lodge is a perfect spot in and of itself, but also for trail rides into the Gilmore, for trips in to Grangeville, or for trips in to Riggins for whitewater rafting (we highly recommend Mountain River Outfitters at http://www.idahoriver.com/).

Room Tip: Wisconsin or Packer fans should request the Wisconsin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My friends and I recently spent a night at the Whitebird Summit Lodge, having visited previously in 2005. We had another very enjoyable experience at this relaxing, laid back mountain retreat. The proprietors, Terri and Frank, are extremely hospitable, the home style meals (dinner and breakfast) were great, the views and atmosphere were terrific, the overnight rooms are very comfortable and the family's numerous animals (ducks, turkey, rabbit, horses, chickens, roosters, to name some) add a real outdoors, country touch to the place. Highly recommend a stay there. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank DJB990099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This B&B was an incredible find! It is a great get-away for couples and/or families. Terri and Frank are wonderful hosts and treat everyone like family. The breakfasts are delicious and you can also use their BBQ to fix your own dinners.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Warrior room and it was perfect for two adults, one teen and one dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodlesseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitebird Summit Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitebird Summit Ranch

Address: 2141 Old White Bird Hill Rd, Grangeville, ID 83530-5169
Location: United States > Idaho > Grangeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grangeville
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whitebird Summit Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast located on 70 acres overlooking White Bird Canyon in north central Idaho. Large display of taxidermy displays from all over the world in the lodge. Ranch animals with Horses on premise for trail rides. Minutes from the Salmon River and Snake river with the best white water rafting in the north west, jet boat tours on the Snake river close by. Frank and Terri live on property to assure all needs are taken care of. Full breakfast included each morning. Nightly bonfires that include some great story telling. Star gazing with dark skies away from the big city. This is your Idaho Vacation Destination for any outdoor activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitebird Summit Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit White Bird
White Bird Summit
Whitebird Summit Ranch Grangeville, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing