We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway in the hills...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Ranked #1 of 2 Grangeville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Though I was surprised by the lodge, my stay was a pleasant one. Frank and Terri are wonderful hosts and the lodge is clean and homey, but a bit too homey for me. I prefer being more isolated from other guests and having more privacy. This lodge is more like a B&B within someone's home. There are many shared spaces and all are quite nice, so don't get me wrong, it's all a personal preference for the experience desired. The served breakfast was awesome, and they made a delicious cup o' joe!

I must also add that I was also not prepared for all the taxidermied animals. I understand this is a hunting lodge but was a bit put off by all the non-threatening animals stuffed and displayed. Once again this is strictly personal preference.

I commend Frank and Terri for living their dream and I'm certain many hunters and horsemen will find this the prefect solution for a hideaway in Idaho. The surrounding area is absolutely breathtaking offering a plethora of outdoor activities and Frank and Terri will host many different adventures.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

This B & B Lodge provides the best in an Idaho Experience. The location is rural but the hospitality and warmth are as good as you will find anywhere. The lodge provides many options for activity, i.e. horseback riding, hiking, but it also provides the option to just enjoy life in a gorgeous mountain setting. Terri's breakfasts and dinners were really something special - absolutely delicious and very homemade. You can't go wrong with a stay at Whitebird Summit Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We were looking for a relaxing, yet fun family experience. We found it at Whitebird Summit Lodge! Terri and Frank are fantastic hosts. Friendly, outgoing, and ready to help us enjoy our stay. There was swimming for the kids, and horseback riding for all of us. Frank was a lot of fun on the ride. Terri lined up a great rafting trip on the Salmon River. Exciting! The themed bedrooms were very comfortable. Our whole family stayed in one "bunkhouse" room, a value for us, though they have many choices. And, we had free reign of the spacious living rooms, sun room, and deck. Watching the hummingbirds feed inches away from us was a unexpected extra. The breakfasts...to die for! Terri puts on a wonderful spead! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan60283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This is a hunting lodge. Sounds like from other reviews families and hunters love it. Not for me. The kitchen was dirty, the carpet in our room looked dirty and stained. We killed 8 spiders in our room in just one day. The bathroom was clean. Things to do are great and the hosts are very nice. I just am more comfortable with clean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelingnonni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrischmitz, Owner at Whitebird Summit Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

We always strive to have the best atmosphere and accomadations at our lodge. In the past year we have upgraded many amenities in the lodge. This particular room has been totally remodeled with new carpeting, bedding and added futon to the room. Since the remodeling this room is one of our most requested rooms as it is one of our larger rooms, bright and with the private patio. Other rooms have also been upgraded with new carpeting and bedding. The Kitchen floor has new tile and we have added an indoor pool with deck with a fantastic view. You can see that our guests love what we have to offer here at the lodge. Thank you for your honesty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

The lodge is absolutely beautiful! We enjoyed our stay. There was so much to do ~ horseback riding, fishing and area attractions. The boys especially enjoyed the indoor pool and animals. The location of the lodge allows beautiful scenery to be enjoyed from every room and the central location allows for daily trips to view other area attractions. It is definitely a destination. I would recommend planning a vacation and including them as part of your vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fourschmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We stayed at the White Bird Summit Lodge in June and enjoyed every minute of it. The lodge was rustic and very comfortable; making us feel at home. Frank & Terri put on a hearty breakfast (loved the fresh monkey bread). We went on a full-day trail ride; seeing beautiful views and learning historial facts regarding the Nez Perce War. It truly was a wonderful and unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KCgirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

I would like to share my several experiences at Whitebird Summit Lodge. Owners Frank and Terri Schmidts have a wonderful facility that is great for families or adventurers wanting to get off the beaten path. They offer a huge variety of wilderness adventures from horseback riding to whitewater rafting on the Salmon, Snake and Clearwater Rivers. They have great hunting camps and are rated as one of the top places to get a huge elk in the lower 48. I have take several trips with them and stayed at thier lodge only to find the experience 5 star for a wilderness and lodge type of adventure. The food is great, the accommodations are from a nicely appointed lodge to drop camp hunts. If you are looking for the true experience in the wild consider this as your choice. I have referred other hunters, fishermen and horseback riders and all have stated the stay was delightful. All in all you will come as a client and leave as a friend.

Thank Pinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitebird Summit Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitebird Summit Ranch

Address: 2141 Old White Bird Hill Rd, Grangeville, ID 83530-5169
Location: United States > Idaho > Grangeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grangeville
Price Range: $96 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whitebird Summit Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast located on 70 acres overlooking White Bird Canyon in north central Idaho. Large display of taxidermy displays from all over the world in the lodge. Ranch animals with Horses on premise for trail rides. Minutes from the Salmon River and Snake river with the best white water rafting in the north west, jet boat tours on the Snake river close by. Frank and Terri live on property to assure all needs are taken care of. Full breakfast included each morning. Nightly bonfires that include some great story telling. Star gazing with dark skies away from the big city. This is your Idaho Vacation Destination for any outdoor activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitebird Summit Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit White Bird
White Bird Summit
Whitebird Summit Ranch Grangeville, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing