We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Drumbeg Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$246
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundonnell Hotel(Little Loch Broom)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rhiconich Hotel(Rhiconich)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Ullapool)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Harbour House(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
34
35
14
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
35
14
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle track roadsmall hotelwould stay againstayed for two nightscomfy bedone night staygood sizelochfionahighlandshostsweefurnitureheatingensuite
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 93 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In June, we returned for our annual trip to the Highlands and spent 3 mights at this splendid hostelry. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed quality cuisine and comfortable accommodation.
After 8 hours on the hill, walking and fishing each day, we built up hearty apetites for our evening meal.
Some other guests staying at the same time as us, were overheard to describe the sausages as 'phenomenal'!
Our host and hostess made our stay very memorable and we wont hesitate to include the Drumbeg in our next trip North.

Room Tip: Speak with management! They'll be pleased to help.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fellfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stopped in Lochinver to inquire about accomodation for the night, and the Drumbeg was suggested. Phoned and booked two rooms at £35/night each B&B. Pretty good value. When we arrived we almost had second thoughts! Beautifully located and overlooking a loch, it has very poor "kerb appeal"! However, once inside Robin and his wife (also the cook) made us very welcome. Rooms were clean, bright and well equipped. Shower is a little tricky to adjust, but eventually was adequate.
Good dinner and breakfast, and excellent conversation in the bar!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calafort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Drumbeg is a tiny village on the NW coast of Scotland, and there are not many alternatives for accomodation. On the plus side - the location is fantastic, with terrific views from the dining room over the loch. The hosts were friendly, the food was fine and there is a nice little bar that sells a decent ale - very welcome when it is a fair few miles to the alternative. But the place does feel a bit run down, there is a smell of fried food that is all-pervasive and we had a lot of trouble trying to get the showers to work - 2 of our party just gave up on that. It feels like it lacks the competition to stimulate that bit of investment that would turn it from just OK overall into somethinmg great - which is what he location deserves

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view of the loch, rooms at the back have no view at all
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay, the food was excellent and the owners very friendly. We enjoyed having a quiet drink in the lounge and found the hotel very relaxing. Also very good value for monry, our daughter travelling with us had a twin room but was not charged a supplement.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and and I stayed in this Hotel at the beginning of September for one night. It was in a picturesque village and had lovely views over the loch. The room was not worth the money that was being charged. The whole place was tired and run down, the lighting was poor and I could not see to do my makeup. The proprietor was not that friendly towards us but we did enjoy the breakfast which was delicious, but I would not recommend anyone that I know to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cjm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews