We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem, our 4th stay and we'll be back”
Review of The Drumbeg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Drumbeg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumbeg
Carlisle UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a gem, our 4th stay and we'll be back”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The Drumbeg Hotel is a fantastic place to stay. The hosts, Dawn and Robin, are very welcoming and helpful. The bedrooms are a good size, immaculately clean with comfy beds. The lovely lounge area has large comfy sofas and plenty of reading material. The bar is a real locals bar with great ales and beers and a good choice of wines. There is a pool table and the craic is good. Which brings me to the food! An essential for us, Dawn comes very high on our scale with the best bacon, sausage and eggs ever, lovely home made tasty meals which reflect their care in choosing their sources carefully and amazing home made puddings. All in all one of the very best stay experiences we have had in the Hghlands, hence our return each year. It is worth the at times switchback drive to get there and the walking and fishing opportunities are the best in amazing scenery. A real hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fellfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Comfortable bedroom with working radiator and piping hot water. Friendly bar with extensive collection of beers and whiskies. A dining room with one of the finest views in the British Isles looking out over Loch Drumbeg. A good menu including imported Cumberland sausage all cooked to a very high standard. The quality of the hotel matches the stunning scenery and a visit is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david-s-low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I was touring in the west of scotland last year with my husband and son. On leaving Applecross we headed to the drumbeg hotel for one night and then had other hotels booked after that. In a remote area, our brakes failed on the car and after a two hour wait we were recovered by a local garage who advised that the repairs were major. I instantly phoned every hotel we had booked to inform them. Every hotelier was sympathetic to our trauma.....we were after all stranded in a small town with a child, no accomodation, no car hire available.....every hotel that is apart from the drumbeg which was our next destination. The owner immediately informed me curtly that the room would still have to be paid for as it was such short notice. She did not at any time ask if she could help or show any sympathy or concern. I fully understand that running a small business is difficult and due to no fault of my own I was cancelling at very short notice, and my cheque was sent to the proprietor on my early return home. However the uncaring attitude of this proprietor came as a shock after the kind hospitality and offers of help that I received from every other person on the west coast. First time i have reviewed any thing on trip adviser but booking this years holiday has brought back memories of a situation which left a stranded family with a very bitter taste in its mouth.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank annieroseprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

we were visiting a friend in the village and we enjoyed a drink in the bar before we checked in. The room was spacious and had a view over the loch. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening. The food was home cooked and it was super, we can recommend the Italian vegetable gateau. We had a few more drinks in the bar with the locals. We had a great nights sleep and the bed was comfy. We had a great breakfast in the moring in the restaurant which overlooked the loch. Check out was quick and easy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-happy-gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Forget worrying about TV signals,in a locaton like this enjoy the stunning scenery and good conversation with the locals in the bar. Food was home made,simple and really tasty.Want to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonkaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I visited the Drumbeg Hotel with a group of friends for a fishing, clay pigeon shooting and relaxation trip in early October. We were blessed with the best weekend weather of the year, with the thermometer shooting up to 20 degrees C; was this northwest Scotland in October?? On arrival, we were greeted warmly by the owners and shown to our rooms efficiently.

Now, this hotel isn't The Chesterfield in London, but you've got to remember that you're paying a very keen price for access to spotlessly clean rooms, good, fresh home cooked food and a friendly bar in a most amazing remote location. I laughed at one reviewer who complained of no mobile phone signal....this is the remote north west highland, the mobile phone companies might never come to Drumbeg and I think it's better for it.

We ate hotel breakfasts and evening meals and the choice was excellent for a small hotel, and clearly all cooked fresh to order. It's not haute cuisine, but it's not come out of a Brakes or 3663 van either and you won't leave the table hungry.

There is well stocked bar with a good mix of locals and guests, and after the evening meal service was complete, Dawn (one of the owners) came round and sat chatting with us about our plans. Having their own boat, the owners were able to offer hints and tips for our fishing activities and some good locations for my interest in wildlife photography.

Overall, a very clean, friendly and keenly priced wee hotel, which I think offers an ideal package for the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scobesfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We had the “superior” room- which meant a really King-size bed. But it also meant that there was no bath; the shower was small and weak. The room was clean and comfortable, though maybe that smell was of damp….. As written in previous reviews, TV signal was intermittent. Freeview was available but either the signal was poor or the equipment not up to the job (or both). Not a huge problem but annoying when an up to date weather forecast is required to plan the day.
Overall the hotel was rather shabby. We didn’t think the food was “excellent” as others on this site have recorded. We thought it was OK- but the evening meal menu is limited and on our first night there the item one of us wanted was unavailable, thus reducing the choice even more. Breakfast was fine- usual full cooked, cereals, toast, fruit; and they use good ingredients- eg decent quality back bacon, not streaky. However, the sugar spoon was encrusted with sugar - every morning, at different tables. Off putting.
Drumbeg is very small and many of the properties are either 2nd homes or holiday lets. Dawn and Robin are building their own house there for when they give up on the hotel- in 5 years. He told us they were half way through their “10 year plan.” Maybe that explains things- when they first took over the place they improved it, but perhaps the word “jaded” describes both them and the place. In contrast to what others have written here, we did not feel particularly welcomed; we took the initiative with conversations, we were never asked about ourselves and our experience of staying. Maybe we should have been expecting this- in emails we sent prior to our arrival the replies were monosyllabic and terse. Overall a lack of style or warmth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGWElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumbeg
0.0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drumbeg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drumbeg Hotel

Property: The Drumbeg Hotel
Address: Drumbeg IV27 4NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Drumbeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumbeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Drumbeg Hotel Lochinver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing